Little peek #1 : January 2016

Hello guys !

How is it already the end of January ? Overall, it was quite a good reading month. I got in eight books and I liked most of them.  By the way, the titles are direct links to the Goodreads pages.

LITTLE PEEK (4)

So here are the books in the order I have read them:

THE STORYTELLER – ANTONIA MICHAELIS

13741785

Oh man this book ! I don’t even know where to begin or how to describe it. It is about a boy named Abel who narrates a fairytale to his little sister and they are broke. Anna hears him, is intrigued by the story and starts hanging out with them. Little did she know that the fairytale was inspired by the reality they were living in. I can’t tell you more than that or I’ll start spoiling it for you and you definitely don’t want that to happen.

I loved this book and it was set on being a favorite until something triggered me and I couldn’t deal with how it was handled.

2 stars

“If we lose each other, we’ll meet where it’s spring.”

THE HEIR – KIERA CASS

The heir.jpgThis was an okay read. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, it was an easy read, no complicated plot, no multi-layered characters: What you read is what you get. It was exactly what I needed after the emotional rollercoaster that was the previous one. Eadlyn (the main character) was just one selfish, spoiled baby throughout the whole book and I hated her, I started liking her a little bit the last few pages when she started to take her job as a princess seriously. On the other hand I really liked her twin brother.

I would recommend this if you’re looking for an easy read that won’t put a strain on your heart.

3 stars.jpg

“You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. Most importantly, you can be queen and still be a bride.”

LOOKING FOR ALASKA – JOHN GREEN

Looking for ALaskaThis book was such a disappointment. I have been wanting to read it for so long and when I did I didn’t like it. The plot was slow and boring and the characters were so stereotypical and they had no depth.

Then again, I know some people really like this book so I just think that it’s not for me. Even though I usually enjoy John Green’s book, I couldn’t get into this one. The only thing that saved it for me was the kind of philosophical aspect of it.

2 stars.jpg

 

“At some point, you just pull off the Band-Aid, and it hurts, but then it’s over and you’re relieved.”

CITY OF BONES – CASSANDRA CLARE

City of bones.jpgFirst thought that came into my mind when I finished : WHAT TOOK ME SO LONG ? I wanted to slap myself for not reading it as soon as I heard about it which was maybe two or 3 years ago.

The world the author introduces us to is unlike anything I’ve ever read before. The nephilim, the warlocks, a new take on vampires, werewolves and the fair folk. The world was so well built that it didn’t feel overwhelming at all even though everything in it was new to me. She also gets extra points for making me laugh.

4 stars.jpg

“It’s the mortal cup Jace, not the mortal toilet bowl.”

CITY OF ASHES – CASSANDRA CLARE

City of ashesIt gets better and better with each book. Each time I started to understand what was happening, it slipped from my reach and this book took a whole other turn.

Jace broke my heart. This book contains some really, really rough patches for him and Clary though, SHE ANNOYED THE HELL OUT OF ME. Why you do this girl? Get out of you own head and be there for him.

And that battle ? It had me sitting on the edge of my seat the whole time, my heart was racing and my feelings got crazy.

4.5 stars

“I’ve heard the word ‘fear’. I simply choose to believe it doesn’t apply to me.”

CITY OF GLASS – CASSANDRA CLARE

City of glass.jpg

This book is my favorite so far. I absolutely loved it. It BLEW MY MIND but at the same time everything made sense, some things I felt were coming some others I was like “How didn’t I think of that ?”.

I stayed up ’til 3am reading because I couldn’t put it down. My mind was all “I MUST KNOW RIGH NOW” and I couldn’t argue with at, I had to finish before going to sleep.

My all time favorite ship officially came together: MALEC, they’re so perfectly dysfunctional and it’s so funny.

5 stars

“There is no pretending,” Jace said with absolute clarity. “I love you, and I will love you until I die, and if there is life after that, I’ll love you then.”

THE MARTIAN – ANDY WEIR

42662881._UX40_CR0,0,40,40_

This was a pleasant surprise. Even with the hype surrounding this book, I dived in expecting not to like it very much and it was the case the first few chapters but then I got used to the science and it stopped being confusing. Plus the protagonist -Mark Watney- is so freaking funny, I was laughing half the time I was reading.

I reviewed this book a couple of days ago, you can find here.

By the end, I was 100% invested in Mark’s fate and I found myself worrying about each move he made.

4 stars

“But really, they did it because every human being has a basic instinct to help each other out. It might not seem that way sometimes, but it’s true.”

LES DUNES VIVES – MOURAD KHIREDDINE

Les dunes vives.gifThis book is written by a Moroccan author.

The story is centered around Youssef and Natalie, a moroccan boy and a french girl from the day she was born and throughout their lives, as his family works for hers during the French Colonization. Their differences, their struggles, their relationship, their families etc…

This was a good read at first but then It got too depressing and the ending really wasn’t one. I don’t think this has been translated in any other langage other than the french it was written in.

 

1 star


That’s it until next time.

What books did you read in January?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l
11 thoughts on “Little peek #1 : January 2016

  1. I felt the same about Looking for Alaska. I was so excited to read, especially because of the hype around it and John Green’s books in general. I didn’t really like it for the same reasons as you. I also thought the characters were annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read The Martian this month too. I was also surprised I liked it. 🙂 and I’m slowly working my way through The Selection series. I’ve heard those same things about The a Heir though so I’m reconsidering my plan to read that one haha. Looks like you had a good month 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah it was a pretty good month, since I haven’t read that much in 2016 starting the year on 8books feels good !
      The selection overall isn’t a fantastic read but I have to admit it is ADDICTING ! But I have to admit the heir is my least favorite and you could stop at The one if you want to

      Like

  3. You’ve read a lot of books this january, that’s so great! Wish I could read as much as you. I’m so sad to hear you didn’t like Looking for Alaska, but I understand, many people said this book wasn’t for them, either. Did you like any other John GReen book? 🙂 AND THE HEIR, yes. I LOVED her twin brother so much, haha! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

