The girl in 6E – When I questioned my sanity

The girl in 6ETitle : The Girl in 6E

Author : A. R. Torre

Publication date : January 21st 2014 (First in 2013)

Publisher : Redhook

Genre : Erotic Thriller

Synopsis : I haven’t touched a human in three years. That seems like it would be a difficult task, but it’s not. Not anymore, thanks to the internet.
I am, quite possibly, the most popular recluse ever. Not many shut-ins have a 200-member fan club, a bank account in the seven-figure range, and hundreds of men lining up to pay for undivided attention.
They get satisfaction, I get a distraction. Their secret desires are nothing compared to why I hide… my lust for blood, my love of death.
Taking their money is easy. Keeping all these secrets… one is bound to escape.
What if you hid yourself away because all you could think of was killing? And what if one girl’s life depending on you venturing into society? (From Goodreads)

!Warning : Contains highly graphic images (Mostly in your imagination, still counts right?)

Raiting : 4.5 stars

Copy of Word Wonders (5)

“She made me feel that in all of the rotten of my soul, there still existed goodness, light. Hope.”

(No spoilers)

I’ll start off by saying that the first half is erotic with no sugar-coating and all the strong langage, leading up to the second half that is straight mind-boggling thriller.

I won’t lie, I went in very sceptic. Expecting something and coming out with something 180° different, WHICH IS FOR THE BEST. I Loved it so so so so much.

The book is written from 3 POVs with flashbacks from Deanna’s teenage years, leading up to her becoming who she is in present day, the death of her family, the beginnings of her blood thirst etc… The 3 point of views are from Deanna, Jeremy Bryant -the delivery guy who brings everything to her door so that she doesn’t have to get out- and Annie, a 7 year old little girl whose involvement in the story was pretty odd at first but as the storyline unfolds everything clicks. As for the flashbacks, they’re not confusing as a lot of flashbacks can be when they’re poorly written, in The girl in 6E, the distinction between them and the present is very clear.

The chapters are very short and varied which makes even the first 100% erotic chapters fast paced and easy to get through, and once I got to the second half OH MAN! This had me seating at the edge of my seat, my heart throbbing, my mind racing wanting to know more and fast. I expected the writing not to be very good (blame the erotic clichés not me) but I was pleasantly surprised when I found myself reading a simple yet beautifully written book, with some really good quotes (That I took note of, obviously!)

Deanna is a very fascinating character to read about. This is the first time I read about a person obsessed with killing while knowing that it is a bad thing, she has depth and a very complex personality, I remember thinking throughout the whole book “How is her brain wired?” because going into this, I was expecting to read about a vicious, blood-thirsty killer but all I had is a tortured young woman – who by the way believes in God – torn out between Cruromania and her desire to get rid of it and be normal again.

THOSE PLOT TWISTS THOUGH! Oh my god, this book left me speechless, staring into a blank wall for quite sometime after finishing it.

(Spoilers ahead)

Okay, let me collect my thoughts for one second. We know from the beginning that her family is dead, killed by her mother who killed herself afterwards, but then as the flashbacks go on she revels that the night of the massacre she went home and SHE’s the one who killed her, I’m like WHAT ? HOW? Wait a second I wasn’t prepared for that.

Plus going in, I expect anything but sweetness, but then the few brief moments she had with Annie were so cute and so motherly-like that it made me forget for a while that she left a man dying on the ground few minutes before. And the ending was so peaceful it made my heart so warm and fuzzy, I kind of wanna continue with the trilogy but at the same time I don’t want to ruin this beautiful ending. But I’ll obviously end up reading it.

P.s : I never expected to describe the ending of an erotic thriller as beautiful haha!

Book depositoryAmazon


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Girl in 6E ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

6 thoughts on “The girl in 6E – When I questioned my sanity

  1. Pingback: Top 5 wednesday #3 : Suggestions | Word Wonders
  2. Pingback: Little peek #2 : February 2016 | Word Wonders
  3. Pingback: TAG #9 : Harry Potter Tag | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday : No Taboos ! | Word Wonders
  5. Pingback: My 2016 Challenges | Word Wonders
  6. Pingback: 2016 Challenges Mid-year Update | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

