16 books I want to read in 2016

Hello guys !

I was thinking the other day how I don’t read standalones that much, so I went through my “To-read” shelf on goodreads and came up with 16 books that I want to tackle this year, which was hard to do. Not to my surprise, that shelf was FILLED with series (you can see the top 16 I want to read this year here), sequels and such. With this list, I know that I’ll at least read 16 standalones, most of which I already have patiently sitting on my shelves.

BOOKS I WANT TO (4)

These are in no particular order.

1-I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN – JANDY NELSON ✔

Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You the SunI heard a lot of good things about this one. I actually think that I haven’t read or seen one bad review about it.

Funny story is I love contemporary but I don’t read it that much, I always find myself picking up fantasy and I’m trying to change that and this book among others seems to be the perfect way to do it.

Goodreads

 

2- UGLY LOVE – COLLEEN HOOVER ✔

Colleen Hoover - Ugly loveAm I the only one who still hasn’t read any of Colleen Hoover’s book ?

From what I’ve seen, she seems to be the ultimate Contemporary writer and I for some reason still haven’t hopped on that train. This book here is to symbolize more Colleen Hoover books, YAY !

Goodreads

 

3- I AM THE MESSENGER – MARKUS SUZAK ✔

Markus Suzak - I Am the MessengerAbout two years ago, I read The Book Thief by the same author and it became one of my favorite books of all times (If you haven’t read it yet, what are waiting for? Go do it NOW!). Since then, I’ve been meaning to read this one, plus the synopsis is so intriguing and unique, I can’t wait to get more of Markus’ writing.

Goodreads

 

 

4- CARRY ON – RAINBOW ROWELL

Rainbow Rowell - Carry onThis book just sounds so funny and cute.

I also think that I am one of the last people on the planet who haven’t read it yet and I want to fix that and see what all the fuss is about.

Goodreads

 

 

5- MORE HAPPY THAN NOT – ADAM SILVERA ✔

Adam Silvera - More happy than notA lot of realism with a little bit of Sci-fi, you don’t need to beg me: I’m buying.

Plus, I’ve heard that this book is heartbreaking, and let’s be honest, who doesn’t like to get their heart broken by a book?

Goodreads

 

 

6- THE NIGHTINGALE – KRISTIN HANNAH

Kristin Hannah - The nightingaleHistorical fiction ? Check. WWII ? Check. Love ? Check. Betrayal ? Check.

This books just sounds like something I would read. And really enjoy. I’ll get back t you on how that goes.

Goodreads

 

 

7- SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE – MORGAN MATSON ✔

Morgan Matson - Since you've been goneI have been looking for a book with a beautiful strong friendship for so long, as those don’t seem to be running the streets these days. So, when I found this one I didn’t even think twice, I snatched it from the shelves and took it home with me.

I don’t know much more than that, and I’m happy that way.

Goodreads

 

8- THE SIREN – KIERA CASS

Kiera Cass - The Siren

I’ve never ever ever read a book about sirens and this one’s blurb seems fairly intriguing and I’m familiar with Kiera’s writing so why not try this one out and maybe tell you what I think about it ?

And the cover is so pretty.

Goodreads

 

9- WHAT WE SAW – AARON HARTZLER

Aaron Hartzler - What we sawTrigger warning : Rape

I think that this is a subject that a lot of people look over until they experience it or know someone who does, which is sad because it should be discussed more. That is mainly why I’m reading this book, this could be on the more “challenging” side of reading.

Goodreads.

 

10- SALT TO THE SEA – RUTA SEPETYS

Ruta Sepetys - Salt to the sea.jpgAgain. Historical fiction, WWII (ish?). Everything I want. Everything I need.

And the blurb is very mysterious so I’m pretty much going in blind, and I’m so excited about that.

Goodreads

 

 

11- THE NIGHT CIRCUS -ERIN MORGENSTERN

Erin Morgenstern - The night circusThis book and I have an on and off relationship. I first wanted to read it, then not anymore. Now again, I want to read it, so I don’t know if by the time I get to it I’ll still want to or not.

So this one is kind of a question mark.

Goodreads

 

 

12- THE FORBIDDEN WISH – JESSICA KHOURY

ForbiddenWish_BOM.inddThis girl right here is a sucker for fairytale retellings. And ALADDIN? Heck yes. I grew up reading it, watching it, breathing it, sleeping it. Okay I got a little carried away for a moment, but you see the picture, I just can’t wait to pick this up.

Plus, just look at how pretty that cover is, I’m melting.

Goodreads

 

13- ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE – ANTHONY DOERR

Anthony Doeer - All the light we cannot seeI’m kind of starting to see a pattern here. Can someone guess what time period I’m obsessing over at the time?

Yes, you guessed right, it is WWII. It is just so fascinating to me and I remember loving it even when I studied it in High school.

Goodreads

 

14- SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA – BECKY ALBERTALLI

Becky Albertalli - Simon vs The homo sapiens AgendaTo be honest, I don’t know much about this book, it’s just that I’ve heard everyone raving about it and I am curious to see what the hype is all about.

Goodreads

 

 

 

15-ATTACHMENT – RAINBOW ROWELL ✔

Rainbow Rowell - Attachement“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you …” Rainbow Rowell had me from that sentence. It just sounds like it would be an easy, funny, fluffy read and I love that. I’m really looking forward to devouring this one.

Goodreads

 

 

16- EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU – NINA LACOUR

Nina Lacour - Everything leads to you

I’ll admit that I picked this book up because of the cover. JUST LOOK AT HOW PRETTY IT IS. And don’t judge me, we’ve all been guilty of choosing some books because of their covers, sometimes regreting it but never learning from it. So yeah, we’ll see where this leads and if it was a wise choice to give away to the beauty that meets the eye.

Goodreads

 


That’s it until next time.

Are there any other standalones you think I should read? And what are some books you hoping to read this year?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “16 books I want to read in 2016

  1. I haven’t read any of those books so you are not alone. I own a few of them like Carry On, Attachments and I do own a Colleen Hoover book (Maybe Someday), but I haven’t read anything by her yet. I am surprised I haven’t because I also really love contemporary.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read 5 of those (Carry On, Everything Leads to You, Messenger, Since You’ve Been Gone & Attachments) and really enjoyed ALL of them. I think I even gave a 4-5 star rating for all of those. And I have heard great things only about most of the other books. Great list!

    Like

  3. Pingback: My 2016 Challenges | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: Tag #15 : Mid-year Book Freak out Tag | Word Wonders
  5. Pingback: 2016 Challenges Mid-year Update | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

