Fangirl – Nerd meets Love and the Outside World

Rainbow Rowell - Fangirl.jpgTitle : Fangirl

Author : Rainbow Rowell

Publication date : January 30th 2014

Publisher : Pan MacMillan

Genre : YA Contemporary

Synopsis : Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She’s horribly shy and has always buried herself in the fan fiction she writes, where she always knows exactly what to say and can write a romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life.
Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible …
A tale of fanfiction, family, and first love. (From Goodreads)

Rating: 4.5 stars

Copy of Word Wonders (3)

She didn’t have words for what Levi was. He was a cave painting. He was the red ballon. “You’re magic” she said.

(No spoilers)

I debated for a moment whether to do this review or not, because I’m basically the last person is the world to read this book but then I decided to do it because I wanted to pour my feelings out.

Let me gather my thoughts and feelings for a second because otherwise I swear I’ll just be screaming and fangirling and swooning until the end of times. I don’t even know where to start.

So, here we go. Cath is a college freshman. Socially awkward and introvert, she has humongous trouble fitting in especially since her twin sister Wren basically abandoned her (I am going to rant more about that later).  But as the days go, she forms an unlikely bond with her roommate Reagan, who is a strong, independent, out-going, big-mouthed girl. Basically, everything that Cath isn’t. I love Reagan so much, she’s so funny and their friendship is amazing, she was kind of a mentor to Cath, being older and more experienced.

a84e128b5e0a39729d805a2a25a09b3c.jpgThen comes Levi. Oh Levi! He puts a big smile on my face with each one of his lines, he’s just so genuine and caring. I love how Rainbow Rowell made him flawed with his receding hairline, his too dark eyebrows, he’s just even more endearing that way. I loved how he wasn’t a jerk, and I think YA novels really lack that “nice guy since the beginning” factor, and I loved even more how he was truly interested in who Cath is and what she does. The evolution of their relationship was heart-warming, how they went from being friends bonding over books, fanfiction and other nerdy goods (Every one of us’ dream, Am I right or am I right?) , to being cutely awkwardly together (the awkwardness mostly came from her), into a strong relationship where everything came naturally.

 

Let’s talk about Wren for a second. What the hell is wrong with that girl ? For most of the book, I wanted to slap her across the face and back again everytime she opened her mouth. She was so self-absorbed and she embodied the typical college freshman going wrong. She put herself back together by the end of the book but still, I couldn’t get over how bratty she was.

I liked how this book dealt with family issues, they made the whole thing feel even more realistic. The twins dad has some mental health issues and their mom abandoned them when they were eight just to show up ten years later not even trying to be their mother but their friend, Agh! My hate for that woman is deeper than the ocean.

The only thing that bugged me a little was the Simon and Baz excerpts that came up abruptly when she was reading the fanfiction to Levi because I would be so invested in the moment and suddenly it would be cut off and replaced by some Simon and Baz action and I’m like “BRING BACK CATH AND LEVI NOW!”, if I wanted to read about them I would’ve picked up Carry on (which I’ll most certainly do soon), on the other hand I didn’t mind the excerpts at the end of the chapters, those just made me more excited to read Carry on.

This was an amazing read. Simply but beautifully written, I even got some new favorite quotes out of it and the dialogue felt so natural, none of it was forced and everything was something that I actually saw people saying in their daily lives. And the thing that was so reliable to me is how she couldn’t wrap her head around the fact that Levi wanted her, she just made a mental list of everything that was wrong with it, and that’s so me. Even though I am a pretty outgoing person, I am exactly like her in that sense.

Side note: I watched Grease about 2 weeks ago, if I read Fangirl before that, I wouldn’t have got the reference.

Book depositoryAmazon


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Fangirl ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Fangirl – Nerd meets Love and the Outside World

  1. You’re not the only one who didn’t read this book way back when because I still haven’t XD every single time I see a review I say that I will soon but it still hasn’t happened! I can already see so many similarities between me and Cath, for instance a part of me is already in love with Levi after what I’ve heard ❤ dare I say that soon I want to read it for myself ahah
    Enchanted by YA

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Little peek #2 : February 2016 | Word Wonders
  3. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday #9 : It’s raining man ! | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: My 2016 Challenges | Word Wonders
  5. Pingback: 2016 Challenges Mid-year Update | Word Wonders
  6. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday #16 : Gimme More Now ! | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

