Little peek #2 : February 2016

Hello guys !

February has gone by really fast and it is already time for another little peek aka this month’s wrap up. This month was impressively good, I loved all seven of the books I read and I’m super happy about it. As per usual, the titles are direct links to the Goodreads pages.

LITTLE PEEK (3)

Here are the books, in the order I read them :

THE GIRL IN 6E – A. R. TORRE

A. R. Torre - The girl in 6EOh my god ! What a thriller !

This book was a bit out of my comfort zone and I was pleasantly surprised by it. It made me feel all kind of emotions that I didn’t think I could feel reading an erotic thriller with a protagonist who has urges to kill.

The ending had me curious to read the rest of the series because it was too good to be true.

You can find my review here

4.5 stars

“Others letting you down is ice cream and cookies compared with the rejection of your own soul. I don’t know what is sadder, expecting myself to fail or being too scared to dream of success.”

CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS – CASSANDRA CLARE

Cassie Clare - (#4) City of Fallen Angels.jpgThis books was the slowest of the series. Not that minded, I loved it still.

I really appreciated having so much of Simon, seeing everything through his eyes, having him figure out the whole vampire thing.

But then, came the end of the book and Cassandra Clare left it on a HUMONGOUS cliffhanger and the worst thing is, I had to read another book before getting to City of Lost Souls. Agh! I was so frustrated.

 

 

4 stars

“But I watch my brothers give their hearts away and I think, Don’t you know better? Hearts are breakable. And I think even when you heal, you’re never what you were before.”

THE CATASTROPHIC HISTORY OF YOU AND ME – JESS ROTHENBERG

Jess Rothenberg - The Catastrophic History of You and MeI loved this book so much ! It was amazing.

It deals with the grief of death, not only the one that the family and friends of the deceased go through, but in this novel, it is about Brie’s (The dead girl) grief and all the stages that she went through to find peace in her little slice of heaven and maybe love to.

This book did something inside of me, it left a mark in ways I wasn’t expecting. 

You can find my review here

 

5 stars

“You can obsess and obsess over how things ended—what you did wrong or could have done differently—but there’s not much of a point. It’s not like it’ll change anything. So really, why worry?”

CITY OF LOST SOULS – CASSANDRA CLARE

Cassie Clare - (#5) City of Lost Souls.jpgCan I make a confession real quick ? I LOVE Sebastian ! He is so smart and vicious ! First villain I ever loved. On the other hand he cannot help who he is and that makes him all the more precious in my eyes.

Okay so, most of this book was more strategy and plotting the destruction if the world than action and fight and battle but it still was excting. That being said, the end made my head spin from all the swords, the bows and good guys and bad guys. AND GLORIOUS.

 

 

4.5 stars

“Iz,” Alec said tiredly. “It’s not like it’s one big bad thing. It’s a lot of little invisible things. When Magnus and I were traveling, and I’d call from the road, Dad never asked how he was. When I get up to talk in Clave meetings, no one listens, and I don’t know if that’s because I’m young or if it’s because of something else. I saw Mom talking to a friend about her grandchildren and the second I walked into the room they shut up. Irina Cartwright told me it was a pity no one would ever inherit my blue eyes now.” He shrugged and looked toward Magnus, who took a hand off the wheel for a moment to place it on Alec’s. “It’s not like a stab wound you can protect me from. It’s a million little paper cuts every day.”

FANGIRL – RAINBOW ROWELL

Rainbow Rowell - Fangirl 2.jpgZFDJSLGNV  SLJDKJGLSV DFKJSLQ *-* ! This book made me fangirl so hard ! It was beyond cute, and  I loved how relatable and real it was.

And LEVI ! I doubtlessly fell in love with him, that guy is the dream, he’s the most realistic book character I’ve ever read (All of them actually) .

I can go on and on and on all the day, but that’s what a review is for. You can find it right here.

 

 

4.5 stars

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy,” Wren said. “It’s the noblest, like, the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.”

CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE – CASSANDRA CLARE

Cassie Clare - (#6) City of Heavenly Fire.jpgOH MY GOD ! This book took me so long to finish but it was beyond amazing ! I loved every single bit of it.

THE EPILOGUE THOUGH !!! That thing was perfection, everything wrapped up, no loose ends and it made me appreciate the character development throughout the series of every single one of them. It also mended the pieces of my broken heart which was caused by the last chapters, those were dark times people, VERY dark times indeed !

The thing that stood out to me the most, is how Cassandra Clare’s writing improved with each book, this last one was quite frankly a masterpiece, I just have so many feels !

5 stars

“I did not make a pie,” Alec repeated, gesturing expressively with one hand, “for three reasons. One, because I do not have any pie ingredients. Two, because I don’t actually know how to make a pie.”
He paused, clearly waiting.
Removing his sword and leaning it against the cave wall, Jace said warily, “And three?”
“Because I am not your bitch,” Alec said, clearly pleased with himself.”

 ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRET OF THE UNIVERSE – BENJAMIN ALIRE SAENZ

Benjamin Alire Sàenz - Aristole and Dante discover the Secret of the UniverseThis is the first LGBTQ+ novel I’ve ever read and I really enjoyed it. Not really what I expected but it was still an interesting read.

I loved the sides that Ari and Dante brought in each other that no one else could and how good and right they were for each other.

Even though I had some issues with it, I really liked it. You can see my review here.

 

 

3.5 stars

“I wondered what that was like, to hold someone’s hand. I bet you could sometimes find all of the mysteries of the universe in someone’s hand.”


That’s it until next time.

What books did you read in February?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

3 thoughts on “Little peek #2 : February 2016

    • Oh my god ! I’m sorry hahah I thought I was the last person on the planet to read that series, but you kind of get that feeling of wrongness when he shows up !
      The girl in 6E is really good, can’t wait for you to read it !

      Like

Leave a Reply

