Clockwork Angel – Where I learnt to get my Expectations under Control

Cassandra Clare - (#1) Clockwork Angel.jpgTitle : Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1)

Author : Cassandra Clare

Publication date : August 31st 2010

Publisher : Simon & Schuster

Genre : YA Fantasy – Historical Fiction

Synopsis : Magic is dangerous — but love is more dangerous still.
When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Friendless and hunted, Tessa seeks refuge with the Shadowhunters, a band of warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons. Drawn ever deeper into their world, she finds herself fascinated by — and torn between — two best friends and quickly realizes that love may be the most dangerous magic of all. (From Goodreads)

Clockwork angel

“Sometimes” Jem said, “our lives can change so fast that the change outpaces our minds and hearts. It’s those times, I think, when our lives have altered but we still long for the time before everything was altered – that is when we feel the greatest pain. I can tell you, though, from experience, you grow accustomed to it. You learn to live your new life, and you can’t imagine, or even really remember, how things were before.”

(No spoilers)

Let me start off by saying that I have never read a book about shape-shifting until this month, when I read two in a row.

Let’s come back to the book at hand. I was so excited about this trilogy for various reasons, from which I can list :

  1. HISTORICAL FICTION.
  2. I’ve heard only good about it, especially from reviewers that I trust.
  3. I absolutely loved The Mortal Instruments so YES for prequel.
That being said, I liked it ! But not as much as I wanted to which was a little disappointing. I am the one to blame for that, I think I set my expectations too high. I’m making a mental note not to do that anymore.
Starting on a positive note, I really loved the writing. The way it shifts between TMI and TID to suit the era better is impressive. It is simple, understandable but you can feel that time’s empreinte in the choice of words. But for the major part of the book, the pace is really slow which got me bored and didn’t keep me coming back for more (I think that was the main reason I took so long to finish it). Then at around 70% in, shit started going down really fast and that part I finished in one sitting. By the end, I was on the edge of my seat wanting to know what comes next, THAT TWIST THOUGH, DAMN YOU MAGISTER ! But that sadly didn’t make up for the fact that nothing happened in the bigger chunk of the book.
One thing that was weird to me at first, is that I got the same feeling as in the beginning of City of bones with the whole “Girl is not who she thought she was and the only family member she has left is kidnapped” but as the storyline developed that feeling went away. On the subject of comparing the 2 series, I thought this one was slightly darker with the whole thing about slaughtering humans, the gambling and the brodels which to be honest I really liked.
Onto the characters now. Tessa Gray, the main character, I don’t know what to think of yet. Sometimes I really liked her, some other times, I thought she was selfish and couldn’t understand the reasoning behind her decisions. The mystery around her identity was intriguing at first, but at some point in the book I lost interest and I couldn’t care less about who she was but then as I closed the book it had sucked me back in again.
parabatai___heronstairs_by_taratjah-d7n71o3.jpgWill Herondale ! Oh dear God, Will ! I hate him so much. Yep. I said it. That guy is just despicable. Self-absorbed, arrogant and just RUDE. Who does he think he is ? And yes, I get the whole tortured soul thing, where he acts like he doesn’t care but deep down he’s a good guy who wants to drive people away to avoid hurting them. But no, Just NO ! I can’t deal with him right now.
Jem Carstairs is a sweetheart. I truly fell in love with him. So gentle and caring,  and wise most of the time. Which means that he is the one I ship Tessa with even though I know that’s not going to happen. For now, that is. He just deserves to be happy and I want to hug him and tell him that everything will be alright. He also has the best quotable lines.
As for the side characters, I pretty much like them all with a soft spot for Henry. The only one that I really disliked is Jessamine because as much as Shadowhunters are advanced when it comes to the role of women, she is a setback with the whole I am a lady, I want to stay at home and make babies. Ugh.
Even despising Will the way I do, I can’t help but admire his relationship with Jem. The bromance is real guys. And it makes me fangirl soooooooo much *-*. The way they have each other’s backs no matter what, truly loving each other, and I only tolerate Will when he’s alone with Jem because he lets his guard down and softens. Proof :
“He sometimes then thought about what he would do afterward, but he couldn’t imagine it, any more than he could look back and remember his life before he had come to the institute. Neither bore thinking about for very long.”
 

Rating : 3.5 stars

Book depository Amazon

Would I recommend ?

Even though I had my issues with it, yes I recommend it

P.s : Click on the fan art to be redirected to the original site


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Clockwork Angel ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel – Where I learnt to get my Expectations under Control

  1. “That being said, I liked it ! But not as much as I wanted to which was a little disappointing. I am the one to blame for that, I think I set my expectations too high. I’m making a mental note not to do that anymore.”

    If you can figure out how to turn that high-expectations switch off, please let me know?

    Wow, Will Herondale sounds insufferable. Is he the one Tessa will end up with? If so, here’s hoping that happens -after- he matures out of his angsty brooding stage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Little Peek #3 : March 2016 | Word Wonders
  3. Pingback: My 2016 Challenges | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: Review : Clockwork Prince – Cassandra Clare | Word Wonders
  5. Pingback: 2016 Challenges Mid-year Update | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

