Cinder – Where a Cyborg became my Bestfriend

11235712Title : Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

Author : Marissa Meyer

Publication date : January 3rd 2012

Publisher : Feiwel & Friends

Genre : YA Sci-Fi

Synopsis : Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.
(From Goodreads)

Rating : 4 stars

Cinder

“Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.”

(No spoilers)

Oh my God ! Someone tell me why ? WHY did I wait so long to read this book ? *Banging head against nearest wall*

Okay, collecting thoughts ! Testing, testing… Ready to go.

I don’t know where to beginning quite frankly. Let’s start with the easy things, shall we? The writing style is easy to read, quick to fly through which could’ve been a bad thing, but there was so much world building that if it were more intricate, reading the book would’ve been draining and it would’ve sucked the fun out of it. So it was the perfect balance if you ask me.

Now to the world building. It was AMAZING. I didn’t even feel the burden of new information cramming my brain because it wasn’t all thrown at me at once to catch. Every bit of information is introduced when relevant to the plot. The plot. It is unlike anything I’ve read before, especially for a retelling. “Classic” retellings tend to stick to the outlines of the original story, but Meyer twisted it into fitting her own agenda, first introducing Cyborgs, WHO DOES THAT ? Then, making Queen Levana the opposite of the Evil Queen, appearance wise (She’s ugly tricking people into thinking she’s beautiful) and so many other things that I sometimes forgot that this was supposed to be a retelling of Cinderella with glimpses of Snow White who’s story  is a sequel that I yet have to read. One thing I really really enjoyed is that the book doesn’t have just one problem that needs solving, it has multiple ones: Letumosis (A deadly disease) , the imminent war between Earthens and Lunars, Cinder’s identity crisis and her own personal problems with her stepmother and all.

The pacing was pretty steady throughout the first half of the book, not fast but not slow either so that the reader can adjust to the story. But then, as I was minding my own business, the pace picked up and it became an emotional rollercoaster, it left me twirling, my head spinning because everything that could’ve possibly went wrong for Cinder went wrong, I swear, it was like a cascade of bad luck or something.

Cinder now, I really liked her. She’s brave and witty and I LOVE her sarcasm, she reminds me of myself in that way, plus she stands up for herself and that’s really refreshing. Also, she is an outcast, because of her cyborg parts and that kind of holds her back, because she thinks what society labelled her to be which is : A lesser person, not knowing that her cyborg features are her greatest asset. Actually, the main reason that she thinks she’s worthless is because of her step-family. Adri (Step-mom) and Pearl (Older step-sister) are horrible people, they’re the ones I hated the most, even MORE than Levana. Her other step-sister though, Peony, was so nice to her, her best human friend, a twist that I really appreciated.

Quick question: How is Peony pronounced ?

Iko is my favourite, she’s an android with a mind of her own and she’s HILARIOUS, I just hope Cinder finds a way to get her back 😦 . Dr. Erland I liked from his first appearance, kind of a mad scientist meets the fairy Godmother and he really cares and wants what’s best for her.

Queen Levana I REALLY admired. As despicable as she is, she is really smart and calculating. I wouldn’t go as far as saying that I liked or loved her but as a villain she’s prime quality haha.

b31bc67b1c88454cd03c1e11105f4c88.jpg

Prince Kaito is so sweet. Very humble, which we’re not that used to when it comes to love interests in YA. I liked who he was with Cinder, their relationship exempt from all the protocol, Kai allowed himself to be the boy not the prince nor the emperor around her. One thing that bothered me a little was how easily he opened up to her, even with the classified stuff, we didn’t get the trust building. On the other hand, I was grateful that the author didn’t let the romance overtake the storyline, it was lightly mentioned but enough so that we know that it is there.

I’m battling myself so hard right now not to pick up Scarlet which is the second book in the series, because I promised myself to read a book per series per month and I’m sticking to that so that I can enjoy the worlds longer and because I have A LOT of series I want to start.

The only thing that snatched the Fifth star from the book is that the big reveal that’s at the end of the book was predictable to me, I saw it coming from the start; but that didn’t prevent me from enjoying it.

Book depositoryAmazon

P.s: Click on the Fan art to be redirected to the original site.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Cinder? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Cinder – Where a Cyborg became my Bestfriend

  1. I totally agree with everything in your review. This book is awesome. =D

    “I’m battling myself so hard right now not to pick up Scarlet which is the second book in the series, because I promised myself to read a book per series per month and I’m sticking to that so that I can enjoy the worlds longer and because I have A LOT of series I want to start.”

    That’s a smart way to do it! Maybe I should follow your example; it takes me (on average) a year or more to get around to a book’s sequel, and by then I’ve forgotten a lot of details from the first book. *Dies.*

    As for the pronunciation of Peony: it’s PEE-uh-knee (emphasis on the first syllable).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah well I hope I can stick to it because it is SO freaking hard to hold out marathoning the whole thing ! And tha thing that happens to you id annoying as heeeell, it frustrates me when it happens
      Thanks, then I was pronouncing it right , because at some point I wondered if it wasn’t jusy like penny !

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Playlist Shuffle Tag! – icebreaker694
  3. Pingback: Little Peek #3 : March 2016 | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: Little Peek #3 : March 2016 | Word Wonders
  5. Pingback: Review : Scarlet – Marissa Meyer | Word Wonders
  6. Pingback: My 2016 Challenges | Word Wonders
  7. Pingback: Cress – Don’t ever crash your spaceship in the desert | Word Wonders
  8. Pingback: 2016 Challenges Mid-year Update | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

