16 Popular books I might never read

Hello guys !

Yes, it is time for another list because I really have fun writing these posts. Today, it is all about the books that I don’t think I’ll ever read. But even so, some of them I might change my mind about, never say never, right ?

BOOKS I WANT TO (2)

The series are going to count as one book because otherwise it’s not going to take long to fill the list haha!

P.s: The covers are direct links to the Goodreads pages. (Of the first book in case of a series)

1- MARA DYER – MICHELLE HODKIN

Michelle Hodkin - (#3) The retribution of Mara Dyer  Michelle Hodkin - (#2) The evolution of Mara Dyer  Michelle Hodkin - (#1) The unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Everyone has been talking about how the last book in this trilogy is a big drop from the books before so I don’t want to go through the trouble of reading it and maybe even loving it to be disappointed at the end.

2- THE MAZE RUNNER – JAMES DASHNER

James Dashner - (#1) The maze runner  James Dashner - (#2) The Scortch Trials  James Dashner - (#3) The Death Cure

Just because I watched the movies and they were okay, I’ll continue on with the next one but it just didn’t give me that urge to run for the books.

3- RED QUEEN – VICTORIA AVEYARD

22328546  23174274

I know, I know that I’ve put it in my list of 16 series I want to start in 2016 but as the time went on, I haven’t heard great reviews about it and my excitement died down, but I might change my mind though, nothing is set in stone.

4- SHATTER ME – TAHEREH MAFI

Tahereh Mafi - (#1) Shatter Me  Tahereh Mafi - (#2) Unravel Me  Tahereh Mafi - (#3) Ignite Me

Okay, okay, hear me out ! I tried starting this one twice but I just couldn’t get into it. I did so when I was in a reading slump though, so that could be the problem because I hear it’s great and my little sister started it and she loved it which means I might give it another try.

5- PRECIOUS STONE – KERSTIN GIER

6            Kerstin Gier - (#1) Ruby Red  Kerstin Gier - (#2) Sapphire Blue  Kerstin Gier - (#3) Emerald Green

 

The exact same thing that happened with The Maze Runner happened here, so yeah, that’s that.

6- THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER – STEPHEN CHBOSKY

Stephen Chbosky - The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Don’t kill me, please? Because I don’t have a real reason for this one, I am just not feeling it (Oups). I might end up reading it though.

7- A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE – GEORGE R. R. MARTIN

George R.R Martin - (#1) A Game of Thrones  George R.R Martin - (#2) A Clash of Kings  George R.R Martin - (#3) A Storm of Swords  George R.R Martin - (#4) A Feast for Crows  George R.R Martin - (#5) A Dance with Dragons  George R.R Martin - (#6) The Winds of Winter  George R.R Martin - (#7) A Dream of Spring

I’m a BIG fan of the Tv-show and I know it’s not the same thing but still. Those are chunky books for heaven’s sake and the author stopped writing the series before finishing it (I think? Correct me if I’m wrong!) so yeah, not putting myself through that pain.

Update : The author hasn’t stopped, he’s just really slow at releasing the books. (Big thanks to The Clockwork Millennial for the clarification)

8- SEVEN WAYS WE LIE – RILEY REDGATE

Riley Redgate - Seven Ways we Lie

It doesn’t sound like something I’d enjoy, that’s all there is to it sadly.

9- THE GRISHA – LEIGH BARDUGO

Leigh Bardugo - (#1) Shadow and Bone  Leigh Bardugo - (#2) Siege and Storm  Leigh Bardugo - (#3) Ruin and Rising

Another I have no real reason for because I’ve heard only great things about it. I’m a horrible person I know, but the blurb just didn’t attract me. This is another one I might reconsider in the future.

10- ALL JANE AUSTEN BOOKS

Jane Austen - Emma  Jane Austen - Persuasion  Jane Austen - Pride and Prejudice  Jane Austen - Sense and Sensibility

I tried reading Pride and Prejudice a while back but the writing style just didn’t do it for me, it was too heavy for my taste and not because it’s a classic, there are some classics that I really love.

11- THE LORD OF THE RINGS – J. R. R. TOLKIEN

6            J. R. R. Tolkien - (#1) The Fellowship of The Ring  J. R. R. Tolkien - (#2) The Two Towers  J. R. R. Tolkien - (#3) The Return of the King

You have the right to throw rocks at me, I can take it. This is just one of those things that I feel is never going to happen. I haven’t watched the movies either but I promised a friend to marathon them with her as they are her favorite movies in the world. We’ll see how that goes.

12- THE HOBBIT – J. R. R. TOLKIEN

J. R. R. Tolkien - (#1) The Hobbit

It just doesn’t seem right to read this one without The Lord of the Rings.

13- THE HOST – STEPHENIE MEYER

Stephenie Meyer - The Host

Watched the movie. Loved it. But as I went to read the book, it came to my attention that the author gave up on the series (Again, correct me if I’m wrong) so I’m doing just that.

14- THE DIVINERS – LIBBA BRAY

Libba Bray - (#1) The Diviners  Libba Bray - (#2) Lair of Dreams

Even though I heard amazing things about this series, the premise of it doesn’t pull me in so I’m not reading it. For now that is. A decision I’m sure I’m going to revisit in the future.

Side note : What the hell were they thinking with that cover change? The old one was pure gorgeousness.

15- IF I STAY – GAYLE FORMAN

Gayle Forman - (#1) If I Stay  Gayle Forman - (#2) Where She Went

The things I heard about this duology aren’t that good, so why waste time and money on it when I could be reading something I’m more likely to enjoy? SO MANY BOOKS OUT THERE.

16- FIFTY SHADES OF GREY – E. L. JAMES

E. L James - (#1) Fifty Shades of Grey  E. L James - (#2) Fifty Shades Darker  E. L James - (#3) Fifty Shades Freed

Because NO. Okay? Okay.


That’s it until next time.

If you think I should reconsider any of these PLEASE let me know.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

17 thoughts on “16 Popular books I might never read

  1. I’d say give Game of Thrones a try. Only because the author actually hasn’t stopped, he’s just super slow. Took him like five or ten years per book! Also, the books infinitely trump the show in terms of plot, character, feels, EVERYTHING.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If I Stay & Where She Went are actually two of my favorite books ever! But yeah you shouldn’t waste your time if it doesn’t sound interesting to you. I personally felt very connected to the story. I started reading Mara Dyer and got halfway through it and just lost all interest in it and don’t plan on returning to it. But I am interested in reading the Precious Stone trilogy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Snack Food Book Tag! – icebreaker694
  4. Pingback: The Entertainer Blogger Award! – icebreaker694
  5. Pingback: Little Peek #3 : March 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

