Obsidian – How too much Sexiness killed the Sexiness

12578077.jpgTitle : Obsidian (Lux #1)

Author : Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publication date :May 8th 2012

Publisher : Entangled Teen

Genre : YA Paranormal

Synopsis : Starting over sucks.
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.
And then he opened his mouth.
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.
The hot alien living next door marks me.
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.
If I don’t kill him first, that is.
(From Goodreads)

Rating : 2.5 stars

Obsidian

“I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect.” His eyes searched mine intently, and for a moment we stood there toe to toe. “The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It’s just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness.”

(No spoilers)

My expectations for this book weren’t very high but it still managed to get below them. I won’t say that I hated every last bit of it, some parts were okay even kind of good, but it was close, I was close to hanging myself. Joke aside, if this is one of your favorite books and think that you’ll get offended and have an urge to slit my throat by reading this review just skip it, for both our sakes. On the other hand, if you like it and feel okay discussing it, I’m all yours to do so.

Let’s jump in, shall we? Okay. The writing. It has nothing special about it and I didn’t expect poetic prose or anything, it fits the kind of effect the author wants to inflict I think, it is quick, fun an feels exactly like the head of a teenage girl haha, and since the narrator is just that, then the writing was perfectly customized for her. Some parts were really funny, and made me smile. I even laughed a couple times. The dialogue feels natural, the conversations flow without seeming forced, they were things I really saw people saying in real life.

Can I say something? I really liked the concept of the plot but sadly not the way it was developed. Let me explain myself a little more. The aliens here are drastically different from anything I ever read before. In my head, much like in Katy’s (Our protagonist), Aliens are supposed to be ugly vicious creatures but in this book, they reminded me more of angels and demons. With Luxens being beautiful creatures of light and Arum hallow creatures of shadow. But. The huge BUT that exists and that prevented me from enjoying this is all that gushing and sexual tension throughout the whole damn novel. To put it in fewer words : Half the book was Katy drooling over how hot Deamon is and the obvious attraction between the pair, the other half is Deamon being a complete lunatic D-bag. Except for the 3 or 4 last chapters. Those were action packed and I really enjoyed them. Wait, wait ! Let’s get back to the whole attraction, sexy times thing. I’m not a prude, mind you. I love me some hot scenes (Like a LOT), but I like them to be strategically placed so that they can be a punch full of flavor. Some of the intimate scenes I liked, 2 to be precise: The steamy one in Katy’s living-room and the relatively calm one in the lake when they were lying on the rock, they didn’t feel out of place like the rest.

Switching to the characters, am I the only one who got Twilight vibes while reading this? Yes? Really? Well, here are my reasons :

  1. Every damn Alien is hot. (Much like the vamps over there)
  2. The whole recomposed family aspect.
  3. They sit alone at school and everyone admires them/Fears them.
Katy, our main character is pretty relatable and I liked her. For starters, she is a bookblogger, I mean HELLO! It’s me. (I was wondering if after … Okay getting off topic here!) And she is not this overly confident girl, neither is she the shy complexed stereotyped booknerd. She’s just a normal teenager with her issues. She is also strong-mouthed and doesn’t let Deamon trample her. One thing that annoyed the hell out of me is that she keeps stating how sexy and hot and basically perfect he is every god-given time he appears in front of her. Okay, he’s hot, I get it now.”No, but his green eyes”. Okay, I said I get it. “And his muscular frame”. Stop it.”But, his tousled hair”. STAAAAAHP.
Let’s talk about Deamon. He’s the most horrible terrible awful character I’ve read about in my life. I don’t care how hot he is or how justified he thinks his actions are. He’s an asshole. He has been mean to her from the start, let me reinacte their first encounter:
Katy knocks on Deamon’s door.
Katy: Hello! Can you direct me to the Grocery store?
Deamon: Get the fuck out of my front porch.
Katy: K. Bye.
This is overly caricatural but I swear, he is THAT bad.
After that, he started switching between being extremely warm to being ice cold IN THE SAME FREAKING SENTENCE. That’s just ridiculous, no one does that.
Paradoxically, I loved his relationship with his twin Dee, it is so genuine and he’d do anything for her sake, so that she is safe and well.
This book let me down so hard I broke my butt but those last few chapters had real potential. I was thinking about DNFing the series altogether but the ending was much much better so now I don’t know. If the whole sexual tension management is as bad, no thanks, so what do you think it, do I give Onyx a try ?

That’s it until next time.

Did you read Obsidian? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Obsidian – How too much Sexiness killed the Sexiness

  1. “My expectations for this book weren’t very high but it still managed to get below them.”

    “Okay, he’s hot, I get it now. ‘No, but his green eyes’. Okay, I said I get it. ‘And his muscular frame’. Stop it. ‘But, his tousled hair’. STAAAAAHP.”

    I loled with glee through this entire review. Is it awful of me to hope the sequel is just as bad, so you can rant about it too?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahah omg I’m so glad you laughed, I wrote it hoping someone would like (and not get insulted by everyone) .
      I had so much fun ranting that i hope it will be as bad just so I can do it again 😂 so if that’s awful i don’t know what this is hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Little Peek #3 : March 2016 | Word Wonders
  3. Pingback: Little Peek #3 : March 2016 | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: Book Tags | The Snack Food Book Tag – Bookshelves & Biros
  5. I started off really liking this series (mostly because I love alien books) but by the last book there was just way too much about lay and daemon. They had a romantic scene every other scene. The books just slowly got worse.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: TAG #12 : Unpopular Opinions Book Tag | Word Wonders
  7. Pingback: ONYX – Where the romance took over the plot (DNF) | Word Wonders
  8. Pingback: TAG #19: Soundtrack to my Life Book Tag | Word Wonders
  9. Pingback: Snarking Obsidian: Chapter 1 – Hey Ashers!

Leave a Reply

