Forgiveness isn’t as easy as it may seem

Hello guys !

So, it seems to me that, to be able to write this type of posts, this girl right here (aka me) has to get inspired by her own little life. That’s what happened here again haha. Let me explain how it goes one more time. I have a list of themes I want to write about in this segment that go into hibernation mode until I have something to say. For the last week or so, the one that has been standing out the most to me is Forgiveness. So, here goes nothing.

For almost a year, two people that I love deeply (family members) have been on non-speaking terms for some mysterious reason that none of them want to talk about, or even hint to what it is to the rest of the family, which has put a strain on the rest of us, and tension has become palpable whenever there is a gathering (which is not as frequent as before) because if one is there, the other refuses to go. This is when I began to think “Why don’t they talk about it? Clear the air, and move on with their lives”. But I came to understand that it isn’t that easy to do because …

Let's talk about ... Forgiveness

We tend to hold grudges

For the smallest, stupidest thing on earth. I did it. You did it. Everyone on earth has done it at some point. I dare anyone to deny. If you’ve never done it, you’re either a saint or a big fat liar, and I’ll bet my life on the second option. A friend went out without you? You get mad. Someone hurt your feelings? You get mad. Someone betrayed you? You get mad. Someone made a joke not so funny about you? You get mad. You get the point by now, there are countless things that can set us off. But please there is no need to hold it in you forever, as …

Grudges weight you down

You think that by holding a grudge you’re doing yourself a favor? Hurting the other person back? HELL-TO-THE-FREAKING-NO. You are the one biting the dust. You are the one darkening your soul with all that negative energy. When I held a grudge, I swear I felt a real pressure on my actual heart (Not the metaphorical one where feelings come from haha) and believe me, it is NOT a good feeling to have, because I always felt sad and angry and uncomfortable and most of all tired. Being constantly made is draining, it sucks the life out of you. That is why …

You should forgive

02.jpg

If not to get things to where they were with said person, do it for your own sake, for your mental health as well as your physical one. Forgiving doesn’t necessarily mean to talk to that person who hurt you or anything like that. It simply is letting go. I really don’t know how to explain it better than that. You’ll know it when it happens. It’s like the weight of the world has been lifted off your shoulders and it sets you free. To be honest, my faith has thought me to be forgiving and I think it helps to have an ancre. If it is not faith, find something to go back to when things become too heavy to bear. If you can’t then …

You should work on yourself

01

Because holding things against people who do you wrong, has little to do with those people and a lot to do with you, if you ask me. It is perfectly okay to be hurt and feel resentful for a little while, we are only human after all. What is not okay, is to be bitter for the rest of your life. So, you should dig deep and find the reason (“Le pourquoi du comment” as we say in french) of your inability to find it in you to forgive and move on. If you need to scream? Fine, do it. If you need to isolate yourself? Go ahead. If you need to talk it out? Then that’s what you should do. There’s no unique way to cope, find the one that works for you. But I think that you should never stop talking to people, or start hating them for some mistake they made …

Always leave things in a good place

Because you can never know what surprises tomorrow holds. That person could die for all I know, and can you live with yourself knowing that there are so many unsaid things, so many things you could’ve repaired but that you can do nothing about now? As my mom always tells me when I get into a fight with my baby sister, never sleep while you are not on good terms. She literally would wake me up to make up with my sister haha.

It made me mad at the time, but now that I’m older I understand the importance that clearing the air as soon as possible holds. It is just vital.


That’s it until next time

What are your thoughts on Forgiveness ?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

7 thoughts on “Forgiveness isn’t as easy as it may seem

  1. I’ve been so busy with college that I haven’t had the time to really go on the blogosphere and blog hop. But I saw this and oh my God, I had to comment.
    Your post is so true and beautiful.
    Holding grudges tends to affect you more than it affects the person who has wronged you. It really is you that’s walking around bitter and angry, while the other person may not be as effected by it. Hell, they could be going about their daily lives for all we know.
    So, while it is only normal for us to feel a certain way towards that person; let that feeling be temporary. For the sake of everybody! All that hate cannot be good for you and your psyche.
    It is so true that we should leave things in a good place. Always.
    There really is no telling what tomorrow might entail. Whenever I have an argument with somebody, I make sure to resolve it before I go to bed. Because really, not all of us live to see the next day. Not only is it extremely difficult to fall asleep with all those emotions, if anything were to happen and that fight was the last conversation we had, I would never move on from that. The guilt will slowly kill me on the inside and it’s a burden I’ll carry for the rest of my life.
    I think sometimes matters seem “bigger” than it is and we really need to step back and take a good look at it (when we’re not all emotional). I sometimes find that it is more trivial than I had initially thought and in the long run I probably won’t even remember it.
    Eek I have to get to class.
    LOVED this post! 💙

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post, thank you so much for writing it ❤ I have to say, holding grudges has to be one of the worst thing in the world, it's not good to live with that, but there are times where, well, I can't help it… Forgiveness is important though, to move on, to think about something else, focus on happy thoughts… I do try to forgive, but sometimes I'm having a hard time doing that. I guess it depends on the situation, really.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Little Peek #4 : April 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

