Top 5 Wednesday #10 : No Taboos !

Hello guys ! T5W

So today is Wednesday, this means that it is time for me to do another T5W.  It is a weekly feature created By Lainey @ Gingerreadslainey with a different theme each week. It is hosted now by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. For more information, you can check the Goodreads group.

This week’s theme is: BOOKS WITH HARD TOPICS

P.s: The covers are direct links to the GoodReads pages.

I don’t even know why some matters are considered as “taboos” and are rarely spoken about. Every topic should be tackled. Sure, some more delicately than others but either way, things have to be mentioned, discussed and acknowledged as non-negligible parts of today’s society. That being said, here’s the list of books that go beyond the boundaries that narrow minds set that I came up with:

5- ME BEFORE YOU – JOJO MOYES

Jojo Moyes - Me Before You

Yes, I know this book made last week’s list but, BUT I just had to mention it here too because most of people think this is a romance and that’s it, but no. Me Before You deals with life and how to live it to the fullest and the CHOICE of living it or not. To put it in fewer words it tackles with Eutanasia.

4- ELEVEN MINUTES – PAULO COELHO

Paulo Coelho - Eleven minutes

I read this a very long time ago, I was around 13, and I realize now that it was highly inappropriate for the barely-teenager that I was. It tackles Prostitution. It is the story of a prostitute, her daily life, her struggles and everything that comes with her train of life.

3- THE GIRL IN 6E – A.E TORRE

A. R. Torre - The girl in 6E

I went a little bit out of my comfort zone with this one. I expected to find myself in front of an erotica with a mystery around the main protagonist’s blood lust. But HELL NO ! The Girl in 6E is not that, it is Pedophilia my friends, and let me tell you, I had a blood lust of mine too.

2- WHAT WE SAW – AARON HARTZLER

Aaron Hartzler - What we saw

 

This is on my to-read list for 2016 and I yet have to get to it. I don’t know much about it other than it deals with Rape inside a high school and how people should speak out instead of feeling ashamed and labelling it as taboo.

1- FORBIDDEN – TABITHA SUZUMA

Tabitha Sazuma - Forbidden

I believe that this book is one of its kind. It talks about Incest. No sugar coating, no turning around the main issue, no nothing. It is heart-breaking, emotionally tiring and depressing BUT it is beautifully written and worth the read if you’re not too uncomfortable with the subject.


That’s it until next time.

What are some other books that deal with hard topics?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                         logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

27 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #10 : No Taboos !

  1. I’ve heard so much about Forbidden and I definitely want to read it at some point. The only book dealing with incest I have ever read was How I Live Now and there they were cousins.
    And I will finally read Me Before You next month. Can’t wait!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to read Me Before You, at least before the movie comes out or before I see the movie, I feel like it’s gonna be a book that makes me cry but there are such amazing reviews for it!
    I also have What We Saw on my to-read list but I have’t heard of any of the others until now, I may have to check some of them out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t do a T5W this week, but if I did, I would’ve added an ARC I read a few weeks ago called Dark Touch by Aimee L. Salter. The main character had a gift where people could feel her powers by touch, so it was part supernatural, but she had to deal with sex abuse and physical abuse from her alcoholic father. The book touched on quite a few tough subjects. It was a quick read with a really good story.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Omg forbidden was sooo good! I currently have Me Before You waiting to be read. The rest of these sound incredibly intriguing. I’ve been looking for books with “hard subjects” because all I’ve been reading lately is fluffy fantasy stuff. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Little Peek #4 : April 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

