I’ll Give You the Sun – Or what should be I’ll Give you the Feels

Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You the Sun

Title : I’ll Give you the Sun

Author : Jandy Nelson

Publication date : September 16th 2014

Publisher : Dial Books

Genre : YA Contemporary

Synopsis : Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. (From Goodreads)

Rating : 5 stars

Copy of Word Wonders (1)

“Or maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people,” I say. “Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time.” Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things. He grins. “Each new self standing on the last one’s shoulders until we’re these wobbly people poles?” I die of delight. “Yes, exactly! We’re all just wobbly people poles!”   ”

(No spoilers)

Holy cow ! I think this is the hardest book for me to review up until now (My twitter can prove it haha.). Because this is the book that made me feel the most. I just don’t know how to explain it, it moved me in ways I didn’t think a book could. I’ve put off reading it for SO LONG. And now all I can think is “What the hell is wrong with you Fadwa ?” and I also want to thank the one and only Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books a billion times over for harassing me until I FINALLY picked it up haha. Girl, you were right, this book deserves all the stars of the universe. Now, let the fangirling begin. I feel like this is going to take a while.

The writing had me hooked from page 1, but I must admit it’s either you love it or you hate it, there’s no in-between. It is full of imageries and figures of speech and that’s actually my favorite kind, so I was more than pleased with it. Holy gorgeousness ! It is so beautiful, and almost all of it is quotable, I just kept marking quote after quote, SO MANY. Hold on, let me count … I got 42. And those were just the absolute best.

We have 2 POVs here. 13 year old Noah and 16 year old Jude. I loved how they were unique, both extremely funny and entertaining (I laughed A LOT) but each voice with its own quirks. Noah with the mental drawings and Jude with her Grandma’s silly bible notes. You would think that the back and forth between the two would make the story more predictable, less enjoyable (At least I know I did). But NO. It just made it all the more impactful.

Talking of impact, this book made me feel EVERY EMOTION ON THE SPECTRUM. I felt happy, sad, angry, frustrated, heartbroken, and the list goes on. The thing is stories about siblings are very rare and that’s too bad because I think that they are really fascinating to read about. First, we start with 13 years old Noah and that first chapter is crucial if you ask me, because it goes down hill from there and that specific part sets the gap that’s widening little by little. Things eventually look up but not before they reach rock bottom. This book made me think about how secrets affect our lives. Envy and jealousy, even love led two inseparable twins into barely-speaking terms. I saw them drifting apart little by little and my heart broke every step of the way as I was screaming “QUITE BEING PASSIVE AGRESSIVE AND TALK YOU DUMBASSES” Ugh! The story is set at two different times, 3 years apart and it freaking criss-crosses, it is amazing how Jandy managed to braid the two periods into one plot, one story, they truly both had just one half of what really happened. OH HAHA. Let me talk about the feelings for one second. You would think that knowing what will happen before it happens will ease the pain. HA! YOU’RE WRONG. You see the shit coming and you are in denial until it hits you in the face and leaves you laying in a puddle of your own tears. You’ve been warned. You’re welcome.

One last thing, this story feels so authentic. It portrays first love so genuinely. And 16 year olds. And 13 year olds. Being inside little Noah’s head was particularly interesting, he’s barely a teenager, experiencing all the emotions for the first time and it frankly made me change my mind about first person POVs, I don’t usually like them, but I don’t see “I’ll Give you the Sun” working any other way.

I loved the twins’ relationship even at its worst, because despite everything that split them apart they loved each other endlessly. It’s strange I know but they still would choose each other over the world.

38283841482c2557502ee07a14cb9840.jpg

Let’s talk about the characters now. I loved EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. OF. THEM. I’m usually really weird with characters, I have trouble connecting, usually disliking at least one of them. But here I was heart and soul with all of them. I think it was because none of them were perfect, they all had their flaws, some noticeable ones, and it made them all the more relatable. And every character than was introduced had a purpose, a way of helping the plot forward.

Little Noah IS THE FREAKING CUTEST. I adored him, he’s so weird and awkward but in an endearing way, and the way he exaggerates everything is hilarious, older Noah I liked a lot less (which was done on purpose obviously) he became this popular kid, hiding his true self, mistreating his twin but since I knew it was all an act to prevent guilt from eating him up alive I loved him still. Jude was the exact opposite. Little Jude was a popular adventurous, party-lover, a selfish brat who was ashamed of her brother. Bluuuh! When she grew up, her only friend was her grandma’s ghost, she boycotted boys and wore camouflaging clothes, was superstitious and hypocondriac but I LOVED HER. Her failing boycott around Oscar was so funny to read about.

Oh boy Oscar ! I fell in love with him. British guys are my undoing, add to that the bichromatic eyes, the sarcasm, the leather jacket and the motorcycle. Yep, this girl right here is head over heels. And his relationship with Jude is #Goals. Everything, even the bumps. They were just so darn cute, I can’t even deal with that right now. The way the talked about each other was beyond adorable. Brian, I liked a tiny bit less because of the whole hot and cold thing with Noah but it still was very realistic which means that I loved him, euh? Contradiction much? They loved each other and as the saying goes: Love conquers all, so I never lost faith in Brian.

This is a happy ending situation, and I will forever treasure it. By the end, the twins find their way back to each other stronger than ever before. I swear, never have I ever cried of Joy because of a book, I’m not that emotional of a person, but as I closed this one, silent tears were streaming down my face.

You may have noticed the abuse of Caps in this review. Yeah! That’s me loosing control.

Book depository Amazon

P.s: Click on the image to be redirected to the original site.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read I’ll Give you the Sun? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

39 thoughts on “I’ll Give You the Sun – Or what should be I’ll Give you the Feels

  1. Love this review! I finished this book with tears rolling down my face as well! It’s so true though that the writing style is a total love or hate thing and I’ve seen a few reviews that have fallen into the latter because of how full of imagery and artistic metaphor it is. Hate to break it to you, but we don’t have many hot British dudes on motorcycles who look, talk or act like Oscar here in England! I wish we did though hahaha! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed reading it 😊 I have seen reviews like that on GR, people describing it as too heavy and not being able to get into it but I absolutely adored it because I think that it is very hard to be able to come up with a lot of metaphors and it proves the writer’s creativity.
      I know!!! but it’s the accent, it truely is a weakness of mine 😂 The rest is just a bonus hahaha.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I totally agree! Writing like that totally takes you away from every day life and that’s why I love it 🙂 I read the whole thing in one afternoon because I was so absorbed in how beautiful the writing was. Hahaha! So many people who aren’t English say that and it always makes me chuckle because some parts of a England are home to some truly terrible accents! But I’m a sucker for a motorbike too, so I get ya 😉 x

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are right ! it is an escape. I read it in 2 seatings (4 hours maybe) I actually never put it down I just fell asleep with it in my hands 😂
        Oh hahahaha it’s like with all countries I think, they all have some places with really bad accentd. The other day my best friend wanted to teach me how to ride one but I was a chicken and said no 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. THIS MAKES ME SO HAPPY I COULD CRY. That book was so full of feelings, and I am so, so happy you loved it as much as I did. The writing style is gorgeous, and it made me just, well, emotional, I don’t know, the way Jandy Nelson manages to make her characters COME ALIVE is just too beautiful for words ❤
    Now go read The Sky is Everywhere, it's just as beautiful and heartbreaking and you will love it. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This book is on my TBR but I wasn’t sure when I was going to get to it, but this review has DEFINITELY made me want
    to read it a lot sooner than I had planned. It sounds amazing. I’m not usually a huge contemporary fan unless they’re dark or have this kind of tone. I love metaphors and imagery and things like that so I think I’ll really enjoy it!

    Fantastic review, Fadwa ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • It has been on mine for the longest time too even though I’m a huge contemporary fan. It truely is amazing, and if you love them then this is the book for you.
      Aww! It really means a lot to me ❤ because I was afraid it would be a whole bunch of nonsensical hahaha I really struggled to find the words. 😥

      Like

  4. This is such a great review! And such a brilliant book as well.
    I only read it recently but I was completely the same, it was so hard to write my review for it because it was so moving and I couldn’t put into words how much I loved it. Jandy Nelson is an amazing author, and after reading her books she has become one of my favourite contemporary YA authors, anything she writes is now auto-buy and auto-read!
    Are you planning to start The Sky is Everywhere soon?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah first of all, I love your star system! It is so cute and aesthetically pleasing. YOU HAVE SUCH A PRETTY BLOG!

    Everyone seems to be raving about this book, I really enjoyed reading your review of it. I feel like I will have to pick it up and read it now!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: My 2016 Challenges | Word Wonders
  7. Pingback: TAG #11 : Get to know me Tag | Word Wonders
  8. Pingback: Little Peek #4 : April 2016 | Word Wonders
  9. Pingback: Award #7 : Glad my uncontained Sarcasm can be of use | Word Wonders
  10. Pingback: The sky is everywhere – Welcome to center stage of your life | Word Wonders
  11. Pingback: 9 Bookish Tropes that I need as my Children | Word Wonders
  12. Pingback: Tag #15 : Mid-year Book Freak out Tag | Word Wonders
  13. Pingback: 2016 Challenges Mid-year Update | Word Wonders
  14. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday #16 : Gimme More Now ! | Word Wonders
  15. Pingback: 3 Days 3 Quotes challenge 3.0 : Day II | Word Wonders
  16. Pingback: TAG #28: Around the World in Books | Word Wonders
  17. Pingback: Most Bestest Books of 2016. Most Bestest English. | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

