The Book Theme Meme #3 – I’ll Give You the Sun

Hello guys !

So, it is 11pm hahaha. It is technically still Sunday here -and in other parts of the world too. This is the first chance that I had to sit down and write this post. I was away and the wifi was shit and I spent more time than expected on my way back home so yeah, without further do, I’m here with yet another book-song pairing for this meme created by Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secret.

RAZORLAND (3)

The rules:

  • Link back to the originator
  • Choose a book or book series.
  • Choose a song you feel like represents the book (fyi: it doesn’t have to have words, it can be classical or a score).
  • Post the book/series and the song.
  • Tell us what about the song reminds you of the book. Is it a particular lyric/s? Is it the general feeling of the song? Explain a little.

As you may or may not know, last week I finished I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson and I couldn’t shut up about it. This book has seriously become one of my favorite books of all times, don’t ask why I won’t be able to answer, I barely found the words to write a review for it, and to pair it with, I chose one of my favorite songs as well:

FlawsBastille

Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You the Sun

Just the title of this song screamed Noah and Jude to me, because they are SO flawed, if you read it you’ll know, they’re jealous, competitive and most of all they don’t communicate which led them to unnecessarily drift apart.

When all of your flaws and all of my flaws are laid out one by one
A wonderful part of the mess that we made
We pick ourselves undone

All of your flaws and all of my flaws, they lie there hand in hand
Ones we’ve inherited, ones that we learn
They pass from man to man

There’s a hole in my soul
I can’t fill it, I can’t fill it
There’s a hole in my soul
Can you fill it? Can you fill it?

Those flaws truly made a mess of their relationship, but those same flaws managed to bring them back together, and both twins cannot feel whole without the other so in a way, when they were barely speaking to each other, their souls were holed. I don’t know if that makes any kind of sense, but this song is the first that came to mind when I thought of this book.

P.s: The cover is a direct link to the Goodreads page.


That’s it until next time.

What other song do you think is a good fit for I’ll Give You the Sun?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

15 thoughts on “The Book Theme Meme #3 – I’ll Give You the Sun

  1. Pingback: Little Peek #4 : April 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

