My 2016 Challenges

Hello guys !

I don’t know how I never tought of doing this post before, what the heck? I feel like it should’ve been one of my very first post #AlwaysLatetotheParty .

As I was just coming out of a reading slump in the beginning of this year, I didn’t want to overwhelm myself with “big” challenges so I just stuck to things that I hoped I would be able to achieve and that I knew wouldn’t stress me out. It has been and still is fun but I feel like it could be better, that is why next year, I’m think about signing in for more challenging challenges (hehe!). Onto the challenges now:

2016 Challenges

GoodReads Challenge : 

Let’s start off with the most basic one. The one that everyone (I think?) has joined.

Here is the link to it. Because the widget was being a jerk and messing the whole post up

I’m actually at the half-way point right now. I’ve read all and for all, 25 books this year which is really good for me and I’m 10 books ahead of schedule so YAY! This has one missing book that is by a moroccan author and that I couldn’t find on GR. Not a big loss though, I hated it.

I’ll probably double that number up by the end of the year but as I said I didn’t want to pressure myself in fear of falling into another reading slump.

Here are said books :

Characters A to Z Challenge :

Which I’ve found 15/26 for, and I’m quite proud of myself for it. I picked one characters per book (Those are the rules friends!) and to make it harder, one character per series.

A : Abel from The Storyteller.
B : Brie from The Catastrophic History of You and Me.
C :
D : Deanna from The Girl in 6E.
E : Eadlyn from The Heir.
F : Felix from Wolf By Wolf.
G :
H :
I :
J : Jace from City of Bones.
K : Kaito from Cinder.
L : Levi from Fangirl.
M : Miles from Looking for Alaska.
N : Nathan from Me Before You.
O : Oscar from I’ll Give You the Sun
P :
Q :
R : Richard from Neverwhere
S :
T : Tessa from Clockwork Angel
U :
V :
W : Watney from The Martian
X :
Y : Youssef from Les Dunes Vives
Z :

The Every Year Challenge

This one I really really enjoy doing, it is basically choosing a significant year (In my case, it’s my birth year, how humble of me I know !) and read one book for each year. I managed to tick off 7/20.

1996 : Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
1997 : Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (Reread)
1998 : Bag of Bones by Stephen King
1999 : Stardust by Neil Gaiman
2000 : Angels & Demons by Dan Brown
2001 : One Day by David Nicholls
2002 : I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak
2003 : The Guardian by Nicholas Sparks
2004 : Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist
2005 : Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
2006 : It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
2007 : City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
2008 : Graceling by Kristin Cashore
2009 : City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
2010 : Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
2011 : The Martian by Andy Weir
2012 : Cinder by Marissa Meyer
2013 : Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
2014 : We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
2015 : Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
2016 : Passenger by Alexandra Bracken 

Around the World in Books Challenge

This one I’m not being very good at haha because I always find myself drifting back to American and English authors (Oups?) I don’t even do it on purpose, if you know of some good books from different places, let me know. So far I read 5/15.

1- The Storyteller by Antonia Michaelis Germany
2- City of Bones by Cassandra Clare United States
3- Les Dunes Vives by Khireddine Mourad Morocco
4- Me Before You by Jojo Moyes United Kingdom
5- I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai Pakistan

And finally, here are the books and series I want to tackle this year.


That’s it until next time.

What challenges are you taking part in this year?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “My 2016 Challenges

  1. Your doing so wel on your challenges!! It’s a good idea to set your goodreads challenge low so you don’t feel pressure! Last year I set mine at 52 and then read like 98 books so this year I wanted to challenge myself and set it at 125 but LOL! Nope! I’m am so not making it hahaha!

    I’ve never heard of some of these challenges! The only one I set myself other then the goodreads one was to read a classic a month, we’re about at the end of April and I sit haven’t cracked a classic book… Damn Amy! Hahaha! 😅 good luck!

    Like

    • Aaaw thank you 😊
      Ahahah! I was going to set mine to 100 but I was like naah!
      I found them in a GR Group that has a looot of challenges ).
      I think that I would’ve failed that one too 😂 I haven’t read a classic in a while now.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “I’ll probably double that number up by the end of the year but as I said I didn’t want to pressure myself in fear of falling into another reading slump.”

    This! I can never do reading challenges, because I either get distracted by non-challenge-related books, or I fall behind and get discouraged. Glad to hear you’re succeeding in your challenge! The books you’ve chosen look awesome. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. (I totally commented on this post on my Kindle, but it didn’t post apparently? So if it somehow shows up later sorry for the possible double comment, haha)

    Brilliant efforts on the challenges! You’re doing amazingly well. These all look so much fun, especially the Years one. Besides Goodreads, I’m doing a Horror and Classics challenge! I think challenges are great because they can motivate you to read, but then at the same time they can have the opposite effect so it’s hard trying to find the right balance, haha. I definitely want to try and do more, but for the same reasons you mentioned, I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha that’s totally fine !
      Aaw thanks Lauren ❤ Yeah the years one is my favorite one.
      I totally agree with that, that’s why I didn’t take up too many challenges or I was afraid I would get discouraged, and those are manageable enough.
      Good luck with your challenges 😊

      Like

  4. Pingback: Little Peek #4 : April 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

