Top 5 Wednesday #12 : Why Those Covers?

Hello guys !

T5WSo today is Wednesday, this means that it is time for me to do another T5W.  It is a weekly feature created By Lainey @ Gingerreadslainey with a different theme each week. It is hosted now by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. For more information, you can check the Goodreads group.

This week’s original topic is Favorite parental figures but I just feel like I haven’t read many books with involved parents in them, I could think of 2 and that’s not enough to do a T5W. That’s why I chose another one done a few months back:

This week’s theme is: TERRIBLE COVERS.

P.s: The covers are direct links to the GoodReads pages.

This topic is one of my worst nightmares. Okay, not really. It is more of a pet-peeve. One question, can I list every NA book ever? I’m exaggerating a bit, but most of them are so cliché with all the bare chests and kissing couples. No? Okay! I’ll find you some other ones, it shouldn’t be hard, right?

Disclaimer: There is going to be a lot of ranting in this post. Brace yourselves.

5- ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS – STEPHANIE PERKINS

6936382.jpg

What IS this? NO! Luckily for us -and for them- the cover of this book and its two companions got changed to the gorgeousness that they are now. More classy and subtle, thank you very much!

4- LUX – JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT

This is another one that got a cover change, but even the new ones aren’t that great. Why did I choose to display the ugliest ones you say? Because I am mean like that *Grins*. Just look at them, I don’t even know what kind of vibe they’re supposed to give off.

3- THE DIVINERS – LIBBA BRAY 

Libba Bray - (#1) The Diviners

This is actually after a cover change. Yep. All I want to ask is WHY SO CRUEL? The previous cover was so beautiful that this cover change breaks my heart, I don’t understand.

2- UNDER THE NEVER SKY – VERONICA ROSSI

sans-titredf.png

I don’t know anything anymore. This is another terrible cover change, I seriously wonder what goes through their minds to make changes like this. This cover doesn’t even make sense to me.

1- BLOODLINES – RICHELLE MEAD

Hhh. Do I really need to elaborate on this one? This is an exemple of eveything that could go wrong with a cover. I don’t like the font. I don’t like the people. I don’t like anything. And I know that everyone agrees with me on this one.


 That’s it until next time.

What are other books that you think have terrible covers?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                         logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

42 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #12 : Why Those Covers?

  1. The Diviners cover is definitely UGLY. I do like purple and lavender, but it just didn’t work there.

    I have a lot to say about covers that feature beautiful white people on them. But maybe I should keep it to myself. X)
    I wonder if all these attractive people actually do sell books. I think it’s an essential part of the marketing for adult and YA romance, so it probably won’t ever change. Which means that the covers will always be terrible.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love those colors too, but that cover is just wrong haha.
      Oh but feel free to say whatever you want, I don’t like people displayed like that on covers in general.
      I really don’t know why those ridiculous covers sell so good, I for one, if I didn’t already know about that book, wouldn’t look at it twice, they just look so cheesy ugh! (yes I’m terrible and judge books by their covers 😂)

      Like

  2. I am so glad they changed the covers for the Anna and the French Kiss books, honestly I don’t know if I would have picked them up if they still had the covers you featured in this post (I’m one of the shallow people who totally judges books by their covers!)
    With Under the Never Sky I have different covers to the original ones, honestly I prefer the cover designs I have, I just think they look better!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, God! I’m not the only one who judges a book by its cover! Haha.

    Great post, by the way. There are certainly other ugly covers that I could help you include but I can’t think of any right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: This or That Book Tag! – icebreaker694
  5. Ooh I love your choice of theme for this week! I didn’t do a T5W because I could only think of 2 choices 😂

    So agree with ALL of these. Those old Anna books are all so cringe worthy. And that The Diveners cover! The other one was so pretty. Why do publishers do this!?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Little Peek #4 : April 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

