Clockwork Prince – Where I fell in love all over again

10025305Title : Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2)

Author : Cassandra Clare

Publication date : December 6th 2011

Publisher : Simon & Schuster

Genre : YA Fantasy – Historical Fiction

Synopsis : In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.
With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.
Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?
As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.
(From Goodreads)

Rating : 4.5 stars

Clockwork Prince

They say that time heals all wounds, that presumes the source of grief is finite.

(No spoilers)

If you’ve read my review of Clockwork Angel you know that I was a little disappointed, that’s the reason for me going into this book with pretty low expectations but this time this book blew me away. It exceeded everything I hoped over even when keeping my expectations at a low. This book felt like seeing an old friend after years and years of absence. The previous one didn’t feel like the SH world I know and love but this one was everything I wanted and more.

By now, you know how much I enjoy Clare’s writing (ok maybe not, but know you do), it is so full of life, fun and quick to read. She also writes some of the wittiest dialogs out there and I really appreciate that. Since this is a sequel, I don’t have much more to say about the writing and I don’t want to be repetitive. Oh, one more thing, you know how I love pointing out ridiculous sentences in books? haha. Here’s one for you:

“Black hair, blue eyes, graceful cheekbones, thick dark lashes, full mouth- he would have been pretty if he had not been so tall and so muscular.”

AS IF BEING TALL AND MUSCULAR IS A BAD THING NOW! I laughed so hard at this, I’m not even exaggerating right now.

Question: Do Shadowhunters see ghosts? That part really confused me!

Moving on. I can’t go into much detail about the plot because hello spoilers! All I can say is that the first half of the plot is more of an investigation which was really captivating and not at all boring which I was afraid would happen again. And the second half, LORD HAVE MERCY ON MY SOUL! It was so so thrilling and action packed. CC has a way of withholding the truth from you, leaving you wondering until she dumps it all at once, your heart racing and your mind blown. Those twists and turns, OH.MY.GOD. I never saw any of them coming (The major ones anyway) Am I that oblivious? No. I believe I am not, but, BUT SHE GOT ME. Also, characters wise, this was a lot more focused on Will, which was bitter sweet. On one hand, it was great getting to know the man behind the mask, but on the other hand I felt like Jem was overshadowed. And well, you know how I feel about Jem.

Will, oh Will! My heart broke for him for almost the whole damn book. I feel bad for previously hating the poor guy, he does what he does because he has to and now that I know I understand why he is the way he is. I think that Magnus put it best:

“There is a soul under all that bravado. And he is really alive, one of the most alive people I have ever met. When he feels something, it is as bright and sharp as lightning.”

afde87e42d2b5247256a1939f9b704cdEven though while getting to know Will, I learned to love him, Jem takes home the gold medal. He’s just so dreamy! Oh and aside of everything I already said about him, that guy can do seemlessly HOT things. Dang it! And he can get mad too, thank God for the temper, even if it is really hard to get him to that point, he’s not dull and I love him all the more. And I STILL ship him with Tessa, I’m sorry Will I love you but nah!

Last time I said I didn’t know what to think of Tessa yet, but now I know and I like her. She’s lovely, brave and smarter than I gave her credit for. She also learned to stand up to Will and give him a taste of his own medicine, which is always funny to read about. The more I knew about her past, the more questions it raised. Plus, the whole mystery aroud the extent of her power is really intriguing. I can’t wait to learn more about it. But. BUT. I can’t help but resaint her for what I know is coming.

I still love the side characters as much but this time, I want to highlight Sophie, she’s so spontaneous and outspoken, and I liked her development from book 1, she grew stronger and more confident. Other than her, Henry and Charlotte‘s heart to heart had me all swooning with cuteness. And let’s not forget about Jessamine, I hated her from her first appearance and I WAS RIGHT! YES!! That girl is so freaking self-centered, I can’t put up with her.

This book reminded of one of the many reasons I love historical fiction. The contrast between now and then. Let me give you an exemple: I’m sitting here cursing like a sailor while Tessa slips and says “unladylike” things. HAHA. HAHAHAHA.

To sum it up, I LOVED this book for its action, for its characters, and strangely enough, for its love triangle, I normally hate those but this one is so well done that it got me on bord from the beginning. And yeah! At the end I was screaming! “YAAAAS!” and at the same time “NOOOO!” because of the romance, if you read it PLEASE tell me so, I need someone to talk to about it all.

Book depository Amazon


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Clockwork Prince ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Clockwork Prince – Where I fell in love all over again

  1. Pingback: Little Peek #4 : April 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

