Little Peek #4 : April 2016

Hello guys !

April has been a very stressful, swamped month for me, consequences: I only read 5 books this month which I’m not really impressed with but it doesn’t bother me much, I was adulting haha. A weird thing has been happening since the beginning of this year with the amount I read, it’s decreasing with exactly one book each month. I started the year with 8 books under my belt. It’s all good though, I’ll have plenty of time to read once I’m done with my exams. As usual, the titles are direct links to the Goodreads pages.

Oh yeah, and read until the end, I have an idea I wanted to run by you and see what you think of it.

LITTLE PEEK (1)

Onto the books now:

NEVERWHERE – NEIL GAIMAN

Neil Gaiman - Neverwhere

 

This is the most interesting book I’ve ever read in my life. Some kind of twisted, funny, hair pulling urban fantasy. Very unpredictable. And very confusing too. But definitely worth the reading.

Here’s my full review.

 

3.5 stars

He had gone behind the world of metaphor & simile into the place of the things that are, and it was changing him.

SCARLET – MARISSA MEYER

13206760

 

This was a great sequel to Cinder, the series is getting better and better with each book as everyone has said to me and can’t wait to pick up Cress this month. I’m a big fan of these retellings and I think that the world building is on point. You can find out more about it here.

 

4 stars

“We met less than a week ago and in that time I’ve done nothing but lie and cheat and betray you. I know. But if you give me a chance…all I want is to protect you. To be near you. For as long as I’m able.”

I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN – JANDY NELSON

Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You the Sun

 

OH MY GOD! Oh my God! Oh my God! Oh my God! Okay I’ll stop here because this is getting ridiculous, but my love for this book is endless, I don’t know by what sorcery that happened, but it did and it became an all time favorite. Here, check out the review for more raving.

 

5 stars

“Meeting your soul mate is like walking into a house you’ve been in before – you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall, the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to.”

CLOCKWORK PRINCE – CASSANDRA CLARE

10025305

 

Remember how I said that I was disappointed with the first book in the trilogy? This sequel made all of that go away. It was amazing and I loved everything about it. The characters, the action, the romance. EVERYTHING. My review for it just went up yesterday.

 

4.5 stars

“We live and breathe words. …. It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them. Reading your words, what you wrote, how you were lonely sometimes and afraid, but always brave; the way you saw the world, its colors and textures and sounds, I felt–I felt the way you thought, hoped, felt, dreamt. I felt I was dreaming and thinking and feeling with you. I dreamed what you dreamed, wanted what you wanted–and then I realized that truly I just wanted you.”

ARCHER’S VOICE – MIA SHERIDAN

20639274

 

 

This book is all kinds of dark and tortured but also cute and steamy ! I am very conflicted with how I feel about this book. But it was a quick enjoyable read, even if it was kind of draining. My review for it is coming up next week.

 

3 stars

“Try to believe that maybe more light shines out of those who have the most cracks.”


 

Here’s this month’s post summary, other than reviews:

Top 5 Wednesdays :

Book Theme Meme : 

Tags and Awards :

Other Ramblings :

This idea I wanted to have your opinions on. This past week I’ve been thinking about something, a lot of you guys don’t know much about Morocco, if anything at all. So I thought why not do a feature of some sort (monthly maybe) where each time I’ll showcase a city or an area from my beloved country, with maybe a local dish, and local traditions. I don’t know how it’ll be yet, I wanted to see first, if it’ll spark your interest and then think the details through. I’d love to hear you thoughts about it in the comments or even on Twitter if you’d like to chat!


That’s it until next time.

What books did you read in April ?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

35 thoughts on “Little Peek #4 : April 2016

  1. I am SO FAST. Not like I was stalking your blog waiting for that post, no, no. I promise, ahah. And 5 books is already AWESOME! It must be so stressful these days with your exams, and I’m here for you, you can do this! I know how stressful those times can be, even if I bet in med school it must be multiplied by a billion, ahah. Anyway, you can do this, YES YOU CAN ❤
    I would comment on I'll Give you The Sun but I think we both know… we need to stop. But hey, can't stop talking about that book, so, yes… IT WAS SOOOOOOOO GOOD RIGHT??!
    AND I LOVE your idea! I kind of have sort of a project in the works that seems like your idea, haha (if you want, I can talk to you about it, like, I would love to know your opinion, really <3). BUT it's not really like it, and anyway I think this idea would be so amazing! I would love to learn more about your hometown, local stuff and everything, it would be wonderful! I'm not that far from Morocco, yet I feel like I don't know much about the culture and stuff, it saddens me a bit. So, YES YES YES! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Naah you were not stalking the blog you were stalking my Twitter hahaha!
      Yes it is, but blogging and also your cheering are kind of motivational, still, good god, I just want this month to be over haha, thank you Marie, really! You’re always there when I need you ❤
      We HAVE to stop but we can't even if we tried ahhahaha SO DAMN GREAT!!! Thank you once again for harassing me until I picked it up!
      Oh really! I'D LOVE TO HEAR EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!! Like right now!

      Liked by 1 person

      • NOoo, I wasn’t. I would not do that, not ever…. ahah 😛
        You’re so welcome, of course, anytime you need it! You’re so right, blogging really makes me feel better and keeps me thinking about great things I love whenever I’m feeling stressed as well. And I’m always here if you feel like screaming because studying is SO HARD but you can do this ❤
        I'll tell you ALL about it once I know how to explain it and thought about it a bit longer, ahah for now it's just a blur of ideas 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I never read Monthly Wrap-Up or Next Month Preview posts, but I’m so glad I read this one because I need to know everything about Morocco, stat. Learning about it from a local sounds amazing. Sign me up. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really happy you read mine, it’s destiny haha. I actually was hoping to hear your thoughts on this :D, because the first comment you ever wrote on my blog was about how much you’d like to visit some day!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Your posts will definitely be needed to hold me over until I can get over there in person. There’s just so much to see and hear and taste and learn, and I want it all. *Grabby hands.* So thank you for doing this! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d love to know more about Morocco! I’d eagerly await that feature every month 🙂 My brother and sister went on holiday to Marrakesh last year and loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh thanks for your feedback ❤ Then I’ll start thinking it through as soon as I can (maybe not in May though :/)
      Most tourists go to Marrakech and as beautiful as that city is (I was there last week) I feel like we have better underrated places here that I’ll gladly share 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Firstly, five books is great! If you can only read five books during the month, then that’s all you can do. Especially with exams, whenever I have exams reading goes to the dogs!
    Your idea sounds so fab! I love learning about different cultures, so this feature will be brilliant in showcasing some fantastic Moroccan stuff. So simply DO IT! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Five books is great Fadwa!! Especially when you’ve also had to deal with exams!! I really need to read I’ll Give You the Sun and start The Luna Chronicles.

    Also I would be SUPER interested in any posts about Morocco! I love learning about different countries and their cultures. When I was at school pretty much all we learnt about was Australia, haha. So I’ve tried to find out as much as I can on my own. So I wouldn’t definitely be excited to read any posts you made 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Lauren ❤
      Yes yes you do !!!
      That’s great to hear ! Then I shall do it haha. The good thing about the history we studies is that it’s mainly about morocco but we also learned about other countries ! 😊

      Like

      • Yay!!

        That’s great! I really wish Australian schools had more diversity in their history! I’m ashamed to admit that I didn’t even know Morroco was a place until after high school. Definitely can’t wait to hear more about it 🙂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, I’m sorry 🙈 Australian schools are very Westernised. It’s sad! Hopefully new generations of teachers will slowly start to change that though. Once I left school I found that I learnt so much more by teaching myself about different things.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahah it’s okay, it’s not your fault ! I actually agree on that one, we can’t rely on school to learn a wide range of things, I realised too that once I started looking up things myself I’m aware of a lot more things. Yes hopefully they’ll do !

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Seems like you had a great reading month, but I just wanted to say I LOVE YOUR IDEA! It’s true, I barely know anything about Morocco, but I would absolutely love to read posts about it from someone who actually knows what they are talking about 😉 We are all from such different countries, so this would be the perfect opportunity 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: #FMTM : The Capital, Jellabas and Delicious Tagines | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

