Top 5 Wednesday #13 : Good Surprises !

Hello guys !T5W

So today is Wednesday, this means that it is time for me to do another T5W.  It is a weekly feature created By Lainey @ Gingerreadslainey with a different theme each week. It is hosted now by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. For more information, you can check the Goodreads group.

Once again this week, I’m not doing the assigned theme. This week’s topic is Authors you’d like to meet at BEA and Bookcon and since I’m not attending either any time soon and I’m quite frankly too lazy to go through the lists of authors who are going to be there, I chose to do an old one.

This week’s theme is: BOOKS YOU DIDN’T EXPECT TO LIKE.

P.s: The covers are direct links to the GoodReads pages.

5- THE ALCHEMIST – PAULO COELHO

Paulo Coelho - The Alchemist

This was my first even “grown-up” read which I picked up for the first time at 13. My mom had randomly bought it and it was sitting around the house untouched so I read the blurb and it intrigued me. I didn’t think I’d be into the whole philosophical, introspective search of self theme but I ended up loving it and I read it 2 more times since then. I also picked up the majority of Paulo Coelho’s novels some of which I loved/liked and some I didn’t.

4- VAMPIRE ACADEMY – RICHELLE MEAD

R. Mead - (#1) Vampire academy

I wasn’t in the Vampire/Werewolf phase when I picked this one up. Honestly, I never was into that whole thing but I had heard a lot of good things about this series. When I read the first book,  I wasn’t impressed and doubted I would pick the second one up but I read reviews that said that it got better with each book so I decided to give it another chance and didn’t regret it one single bit.

3- THE MARTIAN – ANDY WEIR

42662881._UX40_CR0,0,40,40_

This one I just wanted to read before watching the movie. I went into it with very very low expectations because I didn’t see how a story about a man stranded on Mars could be anything but boring I even started off not liking it at all, but once I got used to the writing and all the science, I LOVED IT. Mark Watney is the most hilarious character I’ve ever read.

2- FANGIRL – RAINBOW ROWELL

Rainbow Rowell - Fangirl 2

So, I read Eleanor and Park first and though I didn’t hate it, I didn’t love it either (I’m rereading it right now and enjoying it a lot more… Weird!) which made me very reluctant to pick another book by RR again. I’m glad I did, I absolutely loved this one and I’m planning to read a lot more of her in the near future.

1- THE BOOK THIEF – MARKUS ZUSAK

1118668

Well, well, well, what do we have here? One of my absolute favorite books which I thought I would hate because historical fiction. I have this book to thank for my love of that genre and more specifically WWII. After finishing it, I was broken and I simply needed more of that time.


 That’s it until next time.

What are some books that surprised you?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                         logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #13 : Good Surprises !

    • I’m reading I am the messenger this month and I’m so excited about it! Other than that, I haven’t read any of his other books ! He has a contemporary series (trilogy maybe?) called the Wolfe brothers but I haven’t checked it out yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I so agree with you one Vampire Academy. I don’t really know why I picked it up in the first place because unconciously when I see the word vampire in a title I inwardly cringe, but it turned out to be a fun read! I really should pick up the next in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you on both Fangirl and The Book Thief, I did have high hopes for them but I was a bit apprehensive because they’re not my usual genre so I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to get into the story and connect with the characters. Both completely exceeded my expectations and The Book Thief is now one of my all-time favourite books!
    I haven’t read any of the others but I have added The Martian to my to-read list, simply because everyone seems to be raving about it recently and I wanna see what all the fuss is about!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t talk enough about The book thief, that book was the first -besides harry potter obviously- that I was like YES this is a favorite !
      The Martian is either a love it or hate it situation, no in between, I just hope you fall in the love it section 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was the same with Vampire Academy! I didn’t think I’d like it, but I fell in love with it. I haven’t finished the series yet though, I should really do that haha. And read The Book Thief. And The Martian which I did actually start (and loved!!) but then put it on hold because life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Little Peek #5 : May 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

