Archer’s Voice – I swallowed confusion and it left an after-taste of Wrongness

Mia Sheridan - Archer's Voice

Title : Archer’s Voice

Author : Mia Sheridan

Publication date : January 1st 2014

Publisher : A Sign of Love Novel

Genre : New Adult Romance

Synopsis : When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.
Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.

New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18. (From Goodreads)

Archer's voice

“I knew I loved her – fiercely and with every part of my heart, even the broken parts, even the parts that felt unworthy and without value. And maybe those parts most of all.”

Trigger Warning : Abuse.

(No Spoilers)

God, the okay books are always the hardest to review. I read this book on the recommandation of a friend who’s head over heels for NA books, they’re all she reads so when she told me this book was worth the read, I couldn’t help but jump on the opportunity and see what it is all about. She made me promise not to read the blurb first because the element of surprise makes it much better. And she was right. I didn’t expect the story to be what it was.

I have this Love/Hate relationship with the writing. While there are some great paragraphs with quotable sentences, most of it was really repetitive with a lot of “My beautiful silent man” and other sentences in the same style that can be really cliché when used as much as they were in this book. One thing I liked though were the chapters from Archer’s point of view. Most of it is written in Bree’s but when we needed to see something through his eyes that’s when those chapters came in, in the right place, at the right time. There were also throwback chapters to Archer’s childhood, so that we could understand more of the traumatic experiences he went through.

The story in itself is a beautiful, unique, heartwarming/ heartbreaking one. It is the journey of a mute man not only towards love -that was the easy part- but also towards opening himself to the world and healing from what happened to him as a child and I was grateful that Bree wasn’t the one to mend his broken pieces back together, she was obviously the starting point and she helped but it wasn’t all because of her. We know from the beginning that something really bad happened to the guy, family related, but we don’t exactly know what, until the last chunk of the book and that seriously broke my heart. Why? WHY would people be this cruel to a seven year old?

This was in no way, what I expected. It breaks a few of the NA stereotypes where the first encounter is ofter portrayer as packed with sexual tension and what not, this one wasn’t like that, the first few times the MCs met were pretty awkward and steamless (Is that even a word?). Another NA cliché that is broken is the hot arrogant guy who has his life figured out, this is on the other side of the spectrum. Though, the sex is still there, the steaminess and the intensity too, so yep, this book is HOT.

The main issue that I had with this book and the reason for me not liking it as much as I expected was how codependant they became and how fast that happened. It quite frankly disturbed me and I had a feeling of wrongness through it all. After 2 months, they couldn’t live without eachother and I wasn’t okay with that, even though it all started with a friendship, how quickly the rest of it progressed made me enjoy it less. Even the ending was rushed, it all built up to this certain point and once there it flew by and I didn’t have time to soak it all in, no matter how satisfactory it was or could’ve been.

Archer reminded me of a frightened little puppy, he was this inexperienced, thoughful, kind man but a bit -very- naive because of his life in isolation. And he was SO DAMN SEXY! gaah! Even his name is haha. But at some points he really annoyed me, I know where he comes from and why he acts the why he does but it just was too much paranoia. But by the end, the man he’d become was really impressive, though we didn’t get to see much of that transformation. Bree was so so gentle and patient with him, I really admired that about her and she, too, wen through some rough times which I think was the reason for them connecting so well, they understood each other in a way no one could. Other than them, all the side chatacters were lovely especially the old people haha, they’ve come to be a seconde family to her, supportive and caring. Expection made of Tori, that woman is an evil bitch.

Overall, this was a bit of a let down, putting aside the problems I had, the love story is cute and unique in a way, I’ve never read anything like it and I’m bummed that I didn’t like it as much as I wanted to because it sounded promising.

Rating : 3 stars

Book depositoryAmazon

Would I recommend ?

Yes ? It has really great ratings on GR and it was enjoyable.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Archer’s Voice ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Archer’s Voice – I swallowed confusion and it left an after-taste of Wrongness

    • I love it sometimes when like I said it doesn’t fall into a big bucket of stereotypes. Yes that’s terrible and it has great ratings so I think that people didn’t even realize that it was there (or are they okay with it?)
      Thank you !😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Little Peek #5 : May 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

