My Guide to Unpopular opinions

Hello guys !

Today I’m here to discuss a very hot/controversial/insert-whatever-you-want subject: Unpopular Opinions. Dum. Dum. DUM. Okay, I’m probably making a big deal out of nothing but this is a real thing, if you have unpopular opinions -I know I do, LOTS- ya gotta know how to express them, the reason behind them AND if all of that is done correctly, how to deal with the consequences. If you’re lost, I got you. Here’s the guide of a big-mouthed girl to unpopular opinions (Aka me, if you didn’t guess already).

Unpopular Opinions

ghfgh

What is an unpopular opinion ? You may ask. It is when you express an opinion about anything and everything -it could be a book, a movie, a Tv-show etc… – that goes against the one of the majority. Most of the time, the only ones we pay attention to are the negative ones and those are the most delicate ones to deal with. So that’s what I’m focusing on today.

Exhibit A : I don’t like the Lux series, not in the slightest, not at all. But it has excellent ratings on GR which means that the general opinion on it is positive.

What’s the big deal ? You may ask again. To me -who doesn’t give a flipping cow what the “reaction” could be. Read: Trolls there’s none. But other people are scared to express their opinions when they know that most people won’t agree, that they’re going to get judged, even insulted for them so they shut their mouths and keep it to themselves. I’m here to tell you NO. Don’t do that. We live in a free world after all.

There’s also people being jerks with their opinions, meaning: “The author is horrible, should’ve never picked a pen” or “This is a piece of shit and not a piece of literature” or “People who read and like this are dumb”. Stop it.

let-me-think-no-gif.gif

FOR EVERYTHING DIGITALdfg

Why are you expressing your unpopular opinion ?

If it is to talk trash with no constructive criticism whatsoever? Shove it down your throat so that you won’t be able to produce any sounds or mean comments in the future. You’re doing a public service. Thank you!

shut-your-mouth-gif.gif

Make sure that the soul purpose of your review (In our case, as bookbloggers) is constructive criticism and not pointless provocation. Because THEN, if people are not that nice in the comments you deserve it and I won’t be your lawyer (Yes because my mama said I could be whatever I wanted and that’s today’s career choice).

Why do we need unpopular opinions ?

1. Because they are everything. No but seriously, I LOVE THEM. I love producing them -Be hold, there’s one coming your way at the end of the week- and I also love reading them especially when they’re filled with humour and wittiness while still being straight to the point.

2. Because we can’t all share the same opinions every damn time. That would be boring and just impossible, we are all built differently -Thank the heavens- which means that we see things differently. Consequence: We make up our own minds about the things we see and read.

3. Because they’re actually better than the general opinion. Okay, okay, hold the fires and let me explain.

Exhibit B: When everyone’s raving about a book, at some point, everything is talked about and it just starts being repetitive. Whilst with unpopular opinions, they’re unique and bring new things to the table, that can bring the book to a new light.

FOR EVERYTHING DIGITAL

This is the part that makes all the difference.

How to express unpopular opinions ?

How on earth can you do that without being offending? Or at least, as little as possible. It’s not that hard actually. There are essentially 2 ways to do it.

1. Being nice. You give the facts, point out the flaws in A HEALTHY WAY. No matter how much the book made you angry, frustrated, you stay civil please. Yes you can talk about all these negative emotions that it made you feel but without trashing the book or the author (exemple stated in the first section). I really admire people who can do it this way, I REALLY DO, but I just can’t, because I cannot for the life of me cope while being nice.

2. Humour is your best weapon. If you have a mean strick like me but are still respectful, this is the best way to go about it. When I don’t like a book I can’t be gentle about it. Without my snarky comments, I feel naked and I’ll quite frankly lose my mind. You are walking a fine line here, because humour can turn bitter fast and snarky comments replaced with hateful ones. I’m not saying that my humour is great hah naaah!  but I try, and I make me laugh, so that’s the most important thing, right?

sheldon-crazy.gif

Exhibit C: Any of Liam‘s negative reviews, I can’t read through them without cracking up.

How to deal with unpopular opinions ?

Here, it’s all about the other side. If you share the general opinion. The POPULAR opinion and you come across one of these, what do you do?

1. You leave a comment where you state your opinion and try and discuss to find where and how your opinions diverge.

2. If you don’t have it in you, just IGNORE THE DAMN THING. No one’s making you comment, so if you can’t deal with the unpopular  opinion and feel like it’s a personal attack just leave it be.

3. Never, ever, EVER impose your opinion and think that it is the right one, and the only one that should exist. There can be as many opinions as there are people and there are ALL right.

never.gif


That’s it until next time.

What’s your take on unpopular opinions? And how do you deal with them?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

26 thoughts on “My Guide to Unpopular opinions

  1. This entire post is my aesthetic. I love unpopular opinions so much!!! They are always so interesting to me. I tend to have them a fair amount too haha. I totally agree that there is a right and wrong way to express them (and any opinions). I swear some people can’t grasp the concept that they don’t need to be rude when expressing their opinions. Fantastic post, Fadwa!! I really loved reading it. All the points you made were fantastic!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This was such a great post! I am always a little scared of expressing unpopular opinions, simply because I don’t exactly know how to. But I’ve rarely ever been alone, someone always thinks similar to you I guess hahaha

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You approach this subject so well! I personally struggle with properly writing out an unpopular opinion since I become afraid of offending people. I usually don’t post my unpopular opinion on other people’s book reviews, and I usually tiptoe around my own negative book reviews, trying not to be too mean. It’s totally true how unpopular opinions are important though! I’ll try to be more comfortable with writing them out, and also including humor. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you 😊 I’m very happy you think so !
      Well, as long as you don’t insult anyone, people shouldn’t get offended with your review, and if they do… You cannot please everyone right ? 😂
      It’s all a matter of finding your footing and writing in a way you think suits your personality.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. YES TO ALL OF THIS! There is a certain way we should view, deal and express unpopular opinions. It’s a shame we live in a world which means that if you have an unpopular opinion, it means you should get burned at the stake. I love unpopular opinions because at least they cause some discussion!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m bookmarking this post for future rereading, because (a) it’s perfect, and (b) I know it’ll comfort me when I cycle through nervousness about my snarks.

    This is something I struggled with–and continue to struggle with–while I’m doing my read-along. I’m constantly wondering if I’m being pointlessly mean, or if I should soften my language to be less despairing/enraged/foul, or if I’m just an awful person in general for enjoying being snarky.

    My intended purpose is to provide a long-form critique of an awful book, but to be funny about it so people will enjoy reading my unpopular opinion. But at what point do I cross the line between “funny critique” and “unnecessarily mean snark”? Is it after the first time I pound my face into my desk? After my third all-caps curse word? When I despairingly tell Celaena she’s an idiot?

    Honestly, I’m always worried that I’m being too mean, which is why it means so much to me when you (and everyone else who suffers through my snarks) leaves a reply telling me you loled or that you agree with my assessment of the chapter. And I’m hoping that you’ll call me out if I do say something that’s legitimately mean, because that’s 100% not what I want to do/be.

    Sorry to ramble at you like this. In short: excellent post, and thanks for the support and words of comfort! (And for sharing a link to my dumb blog, holy crap, *dies.*) I definitely needed to read this. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m immensely happy you like it and that this post is comforting in a way.
      That’s always a struggle with being a sarcastic 80 year old soul (i swear that’s how I feel 90% of the time 😂) you don’t know how not to be sarcastic but at the same time you don’t want to hurt anyone, the biggest dilemma of human history. If you ask me, you should just stay exactly the same, but what do I know ? I’m no better hahahaha. And I actually never saw anything direspectful to anyone, you think Cealena is an idiot ? There’s nothing wrong with that, it IS an unpopular opinion after all, if I see anything that goes a little beyond the boundaries of snark I’ll make sure to tell you, that’s what friends are made for 😀 but you’re in the clear and I don’t think you will.
      I’m rambling as well right now, gaah, make it stop !
      You’re welcome, anytime 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve been keeping this post in my saved things because I wanted to read it AND NOW I DID AND I KNEW IT WAS GOING TO BE FANTASTIC. I definitely agree with you, there are ways to say things, and having an unopular opinion is always a bit scary, nonetheless it’s always great to know that everyone has their own taste and like or unlike things, it just means we aren’t all robots haha 😛 I think writing reviews with constructive criticism is always great, and I’m always curious to read unpopular opinions on books 🙂 FANTASTIC POST. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Ten Interesting Posts of the Week (5/15/16) – Pages Unbound
  8. Pingback: On the past week, occasional freak-outs and blogging-frenzy | Drizzle & Hurricane Books
  9. Fantastic post, Fadwa! It doesn’t happen often, but I don’t mind being the black sheep. Thankfully, the book blogging community is generally very supportive of differences in opinion (as for Goodreads and trolls; that’s an entirely different story) which makes it easier for people to voice their thoughts even if it’s unpopular. And I agree, there is a better way to share an unpopular opinion (by, like you said, supporting why you didn’t enjoy or like something). Anyway, awesome discussion!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: A Court of I’m Torn and Confused // Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas – wonderless reviews
  11. Pingback: Little Peek #5 : May 2016 | Word Wonders
  12. Pingback: Word Wonders’ Reading and Blogging Round up | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

