Onyx – Where the romance invaded the plot (DNF)

13047090.jpg

Title : Onyx (Lux #2)

Author : Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publication date : August 14th 2012

Publisher : Entangled Teen

Genre : Young Adult | Paranormal

Synopsis : Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…
Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.
Something worse than the Arum has come to town…
The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.
But then everything changes…
I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?
No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…
(From Goodreads)

Rating : DNF

Onyx

“That’s the funny thing about trying to escape. You never really can. Maybe temporarily, but not completely.”

(No spoilers)

Oh boy ! I want to start off by saying that this review won’t be as long as the ones I’m used to writing because well … It’s a DNF … At 39%. So yeah, I didn’t get that far . Once again, if this is one of your favorite books and think that you’ll get offended and have an urge to slit my throat by reading this review just skip it, for both our sakes.

Remember at the end of my review for Obsidian when I said that it started getting better by the end and that I was thinking about giving book 2 a try? That was a mistake, I should’ve left it alone. Because yes, it was interesting at the beginning with the new link added in, I wanted to see how that would play out in the plot, but WHERE IS THE DAMN PLOT ? I don’t seeing anywhere. Has it gone for a walk? Did it get as angry with this book as me and decided to leave it? I truly don’t know.

The romance took over everything. What’s going on in page 1? Deamon decides he wants Kat and would everything to get her to forgive him. In page 10? Kat cannot trust him and decides that she wants nothing from him. Page 20? She caves in. Page 50? She changes her mind again. Where are the aliens? Where are the fights? Where is the trouble and the heart-stopping action? I WANT IT. GIVE IT TO ME. I was really disappointed to see that the relationship went again to being the center of the story instead of continuing on like the end of book 1 on the ACTUAL plot.

If the plot was taking front stage, I wouldn’t be able to put down the book because it was promising with the DoD becoming suspicious and the Luxen being in great danger of extermination. Talking of the DoD, I feel like they were inaccuracies in their knowledge of the aliens between this book and the previous one. In Obsidian, it is said that they didn’t know that the Luxen had abilities, but then in Onyx it said that they do know but only that they use them in extreme situations and that Deamon is the strongest one. Wait, I mean WHAT THE HELL ? It really pissed me off. I don’t like when the backstory changes to conveniently fit the direction the plot is taking. Oh, and when the MC is taken by people who can potentially kill her, what doesn’t she think about ?

“Now I wish I’d let Deamon kiss me back there. Because if I was going to disappear, then at least my last memory would’ve given me some sort of completion”

Damn girl ! You sure have your priorities straight, I would take kissing over survival anytime too.

Add to that the fact that every time I started enjoying something, it got overused and I ended up despising it:

  1. The back and forth between Kat and Deamon was cute and but then it dragged on forever.
  2. The cheesiness was really funny at first but at some point I just found myself rolling my eyes. Fearing they’ll get stuck at the back of their sockets, I stopped reading.

Throw in another guy in the mix, dump info on me like I’m trash, introduce “mysterious” people whose intentions are clear and take away the little that I liked, I just couldn’t do it anymore. I lost interest in the characters, in the romance and in the little glimpses of the plot, I just couldn’t connect with anything and didn’t give 2 damns about what would happen.

I scrolled and scrolled and scrolled down the reviews in GR and couldn’t find one single negative review which was weird to me because I’m normally easily pleased by books and this is actually the second book I ever DNF.

Book depositoryAmazon


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Onyx? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Onyx – Where the romance invaded the plot (DNF)

  1. I didn’t read the first book but I read this review because there’s nothing like a good rant haha and well I was curious and I am a dedicated reader and WHY DID THEY CHANGE THE BACKSTORY? This is soooooooooooooo stupid wow, I can’t believe they would actually do that? IT’s so weird. I don’t want to read that book now, ahah. Thank you for sharing your thoughs on it 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love reviews like this so much! It’s the perfect example of how a more negative-ish review should be. I find them so interesting.

    I haven’t read the first book in this series but seriously yikes at romance overshadowing everything and all the indecisiveness. Like some is understandable but like every ten pages is so ://

    Fantastic honest review, Fadwa!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This review was everything I’d hoped it be, and more. Love it. 😀

    “I don’t like when the backstory changes to conveniently fit the direction the plot is taking.”

    Amen. I wonder how books get away with mistakes like that; did editor change between the first book and the second? Or did the editor just forget the details of the first book before diving into the second? Surely the author wouldn’t have forgotten. In any case: wow.

    And holy crap, that quote you shared about her wishing she had kissed the guy, so she’d die with “some sort of completion” took me from zero to FURIOUS. A girl will only find completion in life if she gets kissed by the hot guy? There’s no completion in, oh I don’t know, self-acceptance, or personal accomplishments, or satisfaction in the good you’ve done for others? I and my feminism are fucking outraged. This series is officially a nope nope nope for me. (Unless I’m in the mood to rage, I guess. But until then: nope nope nope.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOOOL I totally get where you’re coming from. I don’t understand what this author’s appeal is, both for YA and NA books. Her writing style is nothing special, and can get really tiring after a while, and her plots are FULL of cliches and trite situations and characters. They’re predictable, and not even the action in this series can save that. The only reason why I stuck with it was because I was looking for a cute, fluffy read lol. I couldn’t get anything else out of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG FINALLY SOMEONE WHO AGREES !!!!
      There are a LOT of cute fluffy reads that I love but this one I truely couldn’t bare. I can’t judge her books in general yet because this is my first experience but MAN if they’re all like this it’ll be the biggest mystery of my life haha. I will try one other book from her before deciding if it’s a definitive no for me.

      Like

  5. Ugh this sounds totally tedious and AWFUL. D: I haven’t read the first book but I haven’t ever really been inspired too?? It sounds like it’s stuffed full of things I hate though…tedious writing and wandering plots and too much romance?? NADA FOR ME. *runs away howling*

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh but it was, I don’t know what came across me to pick it up, I don’t even like aliens that much. I guess the good reviews got to me 😂 hahaha run, RUN FAST and as far away as you can
      You’re welcome, I love your blog 😊

      Like

  6. Aww… I’m sorry to hear this was such a disappointment. 😦 Romance overpowering the plot is one of my biggest pet peeves in books, so this doesn’t sound like it would be my cup of tea either. 😦 Nonetheless, thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Book Tags | This or That Tag – Bookshelves & Biros
  8. Pingback: A Court of I’m Torn and Confused // Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas – wonderless reviews
  9. Pingback: Little Peek #5 : May 2016 | Word Wonders
  10. Pingback: TAG #19: Soundtrack to my Life Book Tag | Word Wonders
  11. Pingback: TAG #23: The Great British Bake-Off Book Tag | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

