The sky is everywhere – Welcome to center stage of your life

Jandy Nelson - The Sky is Everywhere.jpg

Title : The Sky is Everywhere

Author : Jandy Nelson

Publication date : March 9th 2010

Publisher : Dial Books

Genre : YA Contemporary

Synopsis : Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding. (From Goodreads)

Rating : 4 stars

The sky is everywhere

“My sister will die over and over again for the rest of my life. Grief is forever. It doesn’t go away; it becomes a part of you, step for step, breath for breath. I will never stop grieving Bailey because I will never stop loving her. That’s just how it is. Grief and love are conjoined, you don’t get one without the other. All I can do is love her, and love the world, emulate her by living with daring and spirit and joy.”

(No Spoilers)

YEP. JANDY NELSON DID IT AGAIN ! Or .. Wait no, this was her debut novel so technically she did it again with I’ll Give you the Sun. I’m confusing myself here. ANYWAY, that woman has a way with words, with feelings, with authenticity that I just can’t get over. You know by now how much I love I’ll Give you the Sun because, let’s face it, I can’t shut up about it, so it is only normal that I had to devour everything else by the same author, and after reading The Sky is Everywhere, Jandy Nelson has become one of my favorite authors ever and is now on my auto-buy, auto-snatch, auto-whateveryouwant list, because I GOTTA GET THEM BOOKS.

Again, the writing is the same flawless, imaginative one that I know and love with another unique touch which is poems written by the MC this time. I loved those as much as I loved the actual story, because I could feel Lennie’s pain in them and that added all the more intensity to the already overwhelming feelings this book brought up. One word that keeps coming to mind when I think of Jandy Nelson’s writing is vivid, I think that’s what sums it up perfectly.

One thing I realized is that both books have the same vibe to them if that makes any sense. Both have superstitious elements which is something I’ve never encountered in books and they also both revolve around artists.

Onto the actual story now. After losing her sister Bailey, Lennie kind of realizes that she doesn’t have a life of her own, everything that happened to her, happened through her older sister and she doesn’t know how to go on without her, the grief is swallowing her alive and I could feel it, ALL OF IT. I just felt like I was the one grieving, my heart was clenching through it all and my brain couldn’t process how people get over things like that. This book is the realest, most genuine portrayal of grief I’ve ever read and I loved how she didn’t just magically get through it when love knocked at her door, she gradually came to accept that her sister was gone and live her life the best she could. But it is not just that, it is about a girl finding herself, about a family sticking together to get through a trauma. I love the family aspect of it and how they drifted apart to grieve but at the end they realized that they couldn’t do it alone.

The only ever so slight problem I had with this book is that the romance was rushed. One second the guy means nothing to her and the next he invites himself to her house and she starts falling in love with him. I wouldn’t say it’s insta-lovey because it’s not, it’s just that I feel like they didn’t know each other that much when they decided they liked each other, but that didn’t prevent me from swooning hehe, I did a LOT of that over the little romantic gestures.

a5e5bdcd4f8fe46c8de76991aa6a0207.jpg

The characters are so authentic, I could feel them coming to life, they all had their flaws and qualities.

Lennie was so interesting to read about because up until her sister’s death she never had dreams of her own, she was always living through Bailey’s accomplishments and failures and seeing her become a person of her own and really experiencing life for herself was such a beautiful thing, and she messed up quite a lot, with her family, with Joe and with he best friend Sarah. She was torn between the boy who shares her pain, who understands it and with whom her sister feels the most alive and the one who eases it, the one she really loves. And although that was quite annoying sometimes and I just wanted to scream  “WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING ?” what she did and what she was going through was completely understandable.

Joe was the sweetest and most thoughtful boy ever, but he is also hella resentful which I weirdly really loved about him because that brought more character to the story, and his relationship with his brothers is so endearing, I could feel my heart melt into a puddle of rainbows and marshmallows. As for Sarah her best friend, I LOVED her, she breaks all stereotypes and you can’t fit her in any set category of people, she’s all of them and none of them at the same time, and she also reminded me of my best friend (whose name is Sara too hehe) so how could I not love her ? As for the family, those people are amazing. Gram (Her Grandma) is hilarious even though she hides a suffering of her own and Big (Her uncle) reminds me of a big cuddly bear and he is a hopeless romantic which can be really funny sometimes.

Book depository Amazon


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Sky is Everywhere? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

20 thoughts on “The sky is everywhere – Welcome to center stage of your life

  1. Lovely review! I love how it’s so animated. You’ve made me want to pick the book up 🙂 The themes it deals with are so important to me; grief, sorrow, family and the bonds that tie us together.

    “Jandy Nelson has become one of my favorite authors ever and is now on my auto-buy, auto-snatch, auto-whateveryouwant list, because I GOTTA GET THEM BOOKS.” YUP. That’s me. Buying/reading every book of my favorite author. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this review, and I loved this book as well. Jandy Nelson is my favourite contemporary YA author and honestly between this book and I’ll Give You the Sun I can’t decide on my favourite of hers (I keep going back and forth between both!)
    I loved Lennie’s character development throughout the whole story, I felt you could really feel everything she went through as she grieved her sister, and I loved reading her poems as well. I definitely agree with you when you say Jandy Nelson has an amazingly vivid writing style.
    Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read this one yet BUT I REALLY WANT TO because I’ll Give You the Sun absolutely astounded me. I twas so so beautiful. Like those words, omg, that book is a literal piece of ART and I want to read all the Jandy Nelson books of ever now. *glares at TBR* I JUST NEEe MORE HOURS IN MY DAY SO I CAN GET TO IT.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AHH I’m so, so glad you loved this (even if I already said so, I think). I agree with you on that both of Jandy Nelson’s books have things in common, the artistic vibe, the superstitions, and I loved it! Both of her books really felt like a piece of art. AND THE FEELINGS AHH I HAVE TOO MANY feelings, really. I think the whole time I read this book, I had a lump stuck in my throat. WE HAVE TO READ HER NEXT BOOK TOGETHER ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Little Peek #5 : May 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

