Clockwork Princess – Made my shipping heart sing

18335634

Title : Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)

Author : Cassandra Clare

Publication date : September 5th 2013

Publisher : Simon & Schuster

Genre : YA Fantasy – Historical Fiction

Synopsis : A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.
Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.
As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?
Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy. (From Goodreads)

Rating : 5 stars

Clockwork Princess

“It was like I saw your soul in the notes of the music. And it was beautiful”

(No Spoilers)

Remember when I told you this trilogy gets better with each book ? I WAS RIGHT ! This book is a phenomenal sequel and finale to Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince. How? Just how can be this be the perfect ending, everything I wanted to happen and break my heart at the same time? After finishing it, I just couldn’t think straight, couldn’t deal with all the feelings it brought up. I couldn’t do anything but crawl into a corner and stare at the ceiling. Well, that and sleep because it was 2am.

This book was equally hilarious and heart wrenching, I was sobbing and snorting at the same time, choking on my tears and laugh, okay I’ll stop, you got my point. One thing I regret A LOT is that I read this after TMI, I SPOILED MYSELF !!!! So I knew a particular thing -Jem related- that was coming miles away from it actually happening, and though it broke me, I feel like it would’ve made more damage if i didn’t expect it. Damn you Fadwa !

What I love about these books is that they always have more to offer, something new to discover. So many things happened throughout this book, it is crazy. So many things were left to be solved in this and it was done amazingly, nothing was rushed, nothing was overlooked, everything fell into place when it was supposed to and that was impressive to read. Tessa grew up to embrace her power and get the most use out of it and you know what I’m talking about ! HOLY SHIT ! I admired her 10 times more for her sacrifice when there was no escaping Mortmain’s claws. Oh and Mortmain, that man is mad, and kind of a genius. But still mad. The kind of mad you never want to encounter in your life. He’s ruthless and there’s no making sense of his action. I loved everything that went down for the main plot to be resolved, each thing that previously happened made sense once the whole picture was drawn.

75f07e8d1607c27065bc3bee7fd61467.jpg

And don’t even get me started on the little subplots. I ADORED how the love triangle was handled so that everyone got their little share of happiness as well as every reader if you ask me. Will’s family issues too were managed greatly as well AS EVERYTHING ELSE. kfgkjgfkddv  kdhgdl. Okay, sorry I got carried away. And the ships. So many of them. It’s crazy. I loved every little couple/potential couple, they all had chemistry and their little quirks that made them all special.

Oh, and I have a little confession to make: When a certain person got decapitated I was folded in half from laughing. Does that makes me a sadistic? Probably. But my hate for him run deep. Very deep.

THAT LAST CHAPTER. THAT EPILOGUE. I teared up, I really did. They were EVERYTHING. Especially because that epilogue was a mashup between TMI and TID. I was so so emotional reading them. Not only were they the end of this -and let’s be honest, I wasn’t ready- but they also had everything, from heartbreaking, fœtal position inducing moments, to heart-mending, joyful ones.

I won’t bore you with character details. I already talked about them from all the angles, they could’ve been talked about. All I can say is that I really came to love Gideon and Gabriel even though the latter’s intentions were really questionnable. And also, Cecily was a nice addition to the cast, she’s so similar to Will, that their interaction always resulted in funny banter.

To sum things up, this book was so satisfying and I got out of it thinking that family isn’t necessarily blood, family is the people that care about you the most, and you can choose those. It is a little philosophical, I know but it truly what happened throughout the course of the story.

Up there I give you the combination of the three new book spines, and along with that, z lot of feels.

Book depositoryAmazon


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Clockwork Princess ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Clockwork Princess – Made my shipping heart sing

  1. Haha when you said everyone in the love triangle gets a little happiness, that’s when I really thought yep, I might want to try this one. I really hate love triangles, and I really hate that someone always has to get hurt, but I think this book handles it well. And your reflections on family are also spot-on! 😀 Great review Fadwa!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whenever I recommend Cassandra Clare books to anyone, I get REALLY specific about how the order of the books is so that they don’t spoil themselves 😦 so sad that you already knew what was about to happen. I had no idea and it broke my heart.
    This was such a great review though!!! I really came to love everyone in the end too and I am glad that Cassie’s new series aside from The Dark Artifices will be about everyone’s offsprings.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read this series back when it was released, and since Clockwork Princess was released after the fifth TMI book, I had read TMI first as well. And I didn’t love this all that much because of that, maybe.
    I’m really happy CP was such a winner for you, though, Fadwa 🙂
    Have a wonderful week and happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Little Peek #6 : June 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

