9 Bookish Tropes that I need as my Children

Hello Guys !

A while back, I posted a list of the book tropes that need to go away and I had so many people agreeing. I thought that since, last time, I ranted about things that infuriated me in books – and we all know how much I love doing that- it was only fair now that I show a little bit of love to those tropes that are doing it right and that would gladly raise as my own (legit !) and that we clearly DO NOT HAVE ENOUGH OF.

MY PERSONAL (8)

These are in no particular order.

1- Sibling-ships

Yeah, I know it’s not a word but I decided it was going to be one for this post’s sake. I love love LOVE stories about siblings, they are debatably my favorites to read. It may be because they’re rare or they may be because they last a whole lifetime. Proof of that is that I’ll Give You the Sun – aka one of my favorite books of all time – is about a set of twins.

2- Bestfriends to lovers

I’m a big romantic at heart even though I tend to deny it, so to me this evolution is the epitome of love. Knowing a person all too well and still loving them like that? Please GIMME ! They also tend to be the cutest and the most swoon-worthy, so excuse me if I do.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-6003-1376533711-31.gif

3- Flawed Main Character

I can never stress this enough. STOP. MAKING. PERFECT. MCs. A flawed MC means that we can relate and that it is okay to have quirks and make mistakes, it doesn’t make you unworthy of what you strive for. Oh, and while we’re at it, please make girls have their periods, everyone knows they’re there so just acknowledge them for heaven’s sake.

4- Villain is a Villain for the heck of it

I love ruthless villains who are just crazy that way. Maybe I am crazy that way too for wanting this? But what I mean is, to be bad, a person doesn’t necessarily need to have a tragic past, or some tortured secret. Some people are bad JUST BECAUSE, and those are the best to read about, because there’s no pity and we love to hate them.

ba086-i-love-you-and-hate-you-gif.gif

5- Involved Parents

Imagine this scenario: A teenager running out the door at 2am to go save the world and then wild parent appears (If you get the reference HIGH FIVE) and stops them. Is it the end of the world? No. You just have to work around curfew my friend. This scenario is like a unicorn, everyone talks about it but no one has actually seen it.

6- Platonic Relationships

I know I said I like the bestfriends to lovers trope so this may seem to you as a bit of a contradiction but it is not. As much as I am a sucker for the bestfriend getting the girl/the boy, I also want said girl or boy to be friends with people they meet along the way, why does it always have to be “falling in love with the person you meet in the beginning of the journey” ?

7- The Anti-Hero

I always end up having a crush on this one. He’s morally ambiguous, mysterious and doesn’t always draw the line between right and wrong. Sounds bad? Yeah but it isn’t. Or is it? I don’t know anymore, all I know is that I want more of this, whatever this is.

105acaa5b6c70e966e447cccea860eb4.gif

8- Unique character names

Is this considered a trope ? I don’t know but I’d like to think it is. I just love when authors put a lot of thought and effort into their character’s name, maybe even give it some bonus meaning or backstory, it adds a little “je ne sais quoi” that does the trick for me. The character has to be awesome too obviously.

9- Awkward First Interaction

Let’s see ! Does it seem real to you that when a person meets her love interest for the first time, talks to said potential lover and immediately feels the sexual tension and starts gushing? It doesn’t to me. I think that the more awkward it is the more hilarious it is the more I love it. I’m just putting it out there.

2f29b610-f5c3-0131-c0b9-0eb233c768fb.gif


That’s it until next time.

What are some other book tropes that you think the world need more of?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                       logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

29 thoughts on “9 Bookish Tropes that I need as my Children

  1. MAJOR YES TO ALL OF THOSE! Definitely some of my favourite tropes out there and the parents … what is up with that? Why does no one care if their children run around, getting into major danger. Admittedly, in some cases the caring parents get kidnapped and the kids have to save them and then the parental credibility is all gone afterwards, but that only happens SO many times.
    Sorry for the ramble hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha I loved this post 🙂 And SO TRUEE. We need more of those things in the world!!! Especially the anti-hero and the bestfriends to lovers 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The wild parent reminded me of Chichi from Dragon Ball Z. Don’t know if you’ve seen it but she only cares if her son is studying. Who cares that he can save the world, school comes first😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YAAAAAAAAAS I totally agree with all of these! I especially wish that more parents and platonic relationships were present in YA books, it always makes things seem so unrealistic it’s all insta-love, total lack of parental guidance (or presence) and perfect Mary Sue MCs! Great post! 😀 x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LOVE THIS.

    Flawed MCs for the win! So long as the flaw isn’t overdone, leading to an MC who’s, for example, unrelatably narcissistic and childish, or incapable of thinking critically about anything. I guess like with everything else, there can be both too little and too much of a good thing.

    I think the only thing I don’t quite agree with you on is the Evil For Evil’s Sake villains. Personally, I like villains with believable and complex motivations; I find them more three-dimensional and intriguing. But I 100% agree with you that the “tragic past” and “tortured secret” stuff is boring villain character development. Give me, say, a morally ambiguous and ambitious villain any day.

    And hell yeah, morally ambiguous anti-heroes! Where do I sign up for more of that? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • AH THANK YOU 😁
      Exaclty, it’s all about balance !
      Oh what I mean with the one about villains is that even in real life there are people who are mean just like that no deep reasoning behind it, so why not in books ? It doesn’t mean that I don’t like villains that have some backstory, I actually love those I just think they’re sometimes overdone.
      Haha ! Sign me up too if you ever find where to do so 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. DID I WRITE THIS POST BECAUSE YES TO ALL OF THESE. I don’t even know which one to start gushing over first because I love and want them all. Platonic and sibling relationships are SO important to me and there needs to be more of it. And dude, it’s like you got inside my head for the villains one. I LOVE when villains are evil and twisted for absolutely no reason. I mean flawed, complex and morally ambigious characters are my jam, but I’m extremely interested in psychology and criminology and when criminals have had no motive for their crimes it just completely fascinates me. I’d LOVE to read about that more in books.

    Amazing, fantastic post like always Fadwa ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahah OMG I’M SO GLAD ! That’s exactly exactly the point I’m making, I love villains who have some kind of “logic” behind their actions but the ones who have none are like you said so fascinating.
      Ah thank you ❤

      Like

  7. Oh my god I second you on all of this!! Especially the awkward first interaction. It is SO weird when a guy whirls into a room and a girl immediately feels the change in the air, and then there’s that undeniable sexual tension that just DOESN’T happen in real life! Thank you for writing this list, it’s so great! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This post is PERFECT Fadwa! ❤ WE NEED MORE OF THESE TROPES! I don't understand why we don't have enough platonic relationships. Is it so hard? And I absolutely LOVE an anti-hero. Morally ambiguous characters are just ❤ ❤ ❤ (I have no words)
    INVOLVED PARENTS TOO! I can't even. You know those clueless parents in books who literally don't know what's going on. Or those books with NO PARENTAL PRESENCE.
    This is perfect! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Little Peek #6 : June 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

