Cress – Don’t ever crash your spaceship in the desert

13206828

Title : Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

Author : Marissa Meyer

Publication date : February 4th 2014

Publisher : Feiwel & Friends

Genre : YA Sci-Fi

Synopsis : Even in the future. there are damsels in distress…
In the third installment of the Lunar chronicles, Cress, having risked everything to warn Cinder of Queen Levana’s evil plan, has a slight problem. She’s been imprisoned on a satellite since childhood and has only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress a great hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.
When a daring rescue of Cress involving Cinder, Captain Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes as a high price. Meanwhile, Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.
 
(From Goodreads)

Rating : 5 stars

Word Wonders (1)

 “Maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”

(No spoilers)

If Cinder and Scarlet were strong winds blowing my hair in all ways, this would be a hurricane, the mother of all tornados. Action, wittiness, pace, romance, this thing has it all. EVERYTHING.

In my opinion, if you ask me, if you ever happen to care what I think, Cress’s story is the closest to the original fairytale out of all the ones in the series I’ve read so far and maybe, possibly, my favorite one. Girl with crazy long hair trapped in a fortress by a woman, girl is saved by a “criminal”, girl goes on a wild journey with said criminal. You guessed it, it’s Rapunzel. The fact that Rapunzel is one of my favorite princesses may or may not have something to do with how much I loved this retelling. I think I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again, I love how the stories all criss-cross together  and in this case how Cress was swiftly added to the Rampion crew. The way she met with Thorne and they got to spend alone time together was a very smart idea *applause* , even if it is not ideal and very brutal, helped jumpstart the little romantic spark, though Carswell is dumb and can’t see his own feelings. It was a one way insta-love but it was perceived as such which didn’t make it annoying, it was just silly, cute and innocent.

As its predecessor, this book is action packed and very quick to go through. It is far from being a short book and I still managed to get through it in 2 sittings while still studying for my finals, this is just to tell you how addicting and fast paced it is. Each character brings new plot points and new things to the table, which means that things never get boring and now that I think about it even some parts that I thought were brushed off were clarified and everything made so much more sense.

62527907337dbcd0e4013ce4c6d4d285Okay, I don’t know if Scarlet is still my favorite out of the MCs (because yes Iko will forever be my favorite of EVER), we saw very little of  her in this installment while we a shit load of Cress, and I love her. She’s so quirky, shy – A FREAKING GENIUS- and her naivety and innocence are very funny to read about, that little girl vibe touched a soft spot in my heart. I hope we’ll get to see the kick-ass Scarlet back in the final book because I really missed her, and so I can FINALLY decide who my favorite is. As for Cinder, SHE’S ON FIRE, back to her old self that I am so fond of, brave, strong even with literally the whole world -and the moon- depending on her, and all the doubts it can bring. No biggy. No pressure.

Kai, oh very changed Kai ! I really love the growth he experienced from book 1. Though he was really sweet and humble, I thought he was a little too trusting and naive. Well, that is gone. The responsibilities that were thrown at him brought up a side of him that’s much appreciated, more mature and selfless. His reunion with Cinder MADE ME SQUEAL, nothing spectacular or even romantic, it made me laugh but just the fact that they were FINALLY in the same place was enough for me. Thorne is still my same old bae even with all the things that happen to him, he still puts on a brave face. And I am confessing my feelings now, I believe I never mentioned this, but he’s totally my boyfriend, deal with it. And his friendship with Cinder is #Goals. And I kind of ship him with Cress. And he’s just the most wonderful thing is this series *swoons*.

Throughout the book, we get to see a little bit of Winter and I can’t wait to read her own book because she’s going a little cray-cray and I want to see how that develops and what Meyer will make of it. Which made me think that quite a few things are foreshadowed that I didn’t grasp until reading this third installment.

One last thing I really like is that Cinder – the MC of all MCs – isn’t made the almighty, invincible person that can do everything on her own, without her group of friends she wouldn’t have made it very far which is a breath of fresh air from all the oh-so-perfect-can-slay-a-dragon-while-texting-and-painting-her-nails kind of MC. I can’t wait to read Winter because I don’t know how it can top this and I want to know if and how it will do so.

Book depositoryAmazon

P.s: Click on the Fan art to be redirected to the original site.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Cress? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Cress – Don’t ever crash your spaceship in the desert

  1. Pingback: Little Peek #6 : June 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

