#FMTM : The Capital, Jellabas and Delicious Tagines

Hello guys !

I don’t know if many of you saw it, but a few weeks back, more exactly in my April Wrap-up, I run this idea by you, to start making posts about Morocco because a lot of people don’t know much about it. I got all positive responses. And I AM SO EXCITED – AND ALSO FREAKING OUT. Introducing : Follow me through Morocco. This will also be my humble participation to my twinnie aka Marie‘s Souvenirs From Across the World Project #SFATW.

FOLLOW ME THROUGH MOROCCO (1)

But first and foremost, what’s Morocco ? Well, my friends, Morocco is a country. Okay, just kidding, I’m back at it again with my lame humour. Sorry. Won’t happen again. (It most definitely will happen again) Morocco is a North-African Muslim Kingdom, bordering in the north the Mediterranean Sea, in the west the Atlantic Ocean, east is Algeria and south Mauritania. The  population is a blend of Arabs and Berbers (I’m a mix of both, YAY!) which makes Moroccan Arabic also called Darija (Da-ree-ja) and Berber (Amazigh) our official languages.Now that you know the basics, let’s get on with the post.

image001       Flag_of_Morocco.svg

Random Fact: Morocco was under French and Spanish protectorate from 1912 to 1956. That’s the reason for French being so widely spoken here. Spanish is only spoken in northern regions.

1You guessed it from the title. Rabat is our Capital but also the city I’ve been living in for 6 years now. It is separated from our neighbor-city Salé only by the Bouregreg river. I won’t bore you with facts about it hehe. Uncle Google can help with that, instead I’ll give you a little tour. There are so many beautiful places here.

The Old Medina

It’s the “Original” Rabat, the rest is just an extension of it. Like every Old Medina in Morocco, it is a maze, you most definitely want to go there with someone who knows their way around. It has a souk (Moroccan Market) in its depths, you can find every kind of shop their. Clothes shops – traditional and normal, leather shops, selling traditional shoes and bags, you can even watch the craftsmen making some if you’re lucky, jewelry shops, mostly selling gold and silver, others selling little pearl trinquets, food shops/food carts, spice shops, the infamous carpet shops and so on and so forth. It really has everything, oh, even some bookstalls, the books are usually beat up but you can find some little treasures.

  MG_3552-4

This last one is a very dear to my heart, because people like that don’t exist anymore. It is a man who has had his little bookshop for over 50 years and each time you’d pass by you’ll find him reading a book, undisturbed by the rest of the world.

Mohamed V mausoleum / Hassan Tower

Why did I combine them ? Because they’re on the same esplanade. The Mohamed V mausoleum contains the tombs of King Mohamed V – Our current King Mohamed VI ‘s grandfather – and his two sons, King Hassan II and Prince Moulay Abdellah but that’s not the reason I want you to visit it. I want you to come along with me to admire its magnificent architecture, it is done in the Arabo-andalou style that’s common to a lot of monuments in Morocco, it has the typical green tile roof that we call Qoba and its carving is so detailed and all done by hand, it is really impressive.

The Hassan tour is peculiar and unique in its own way, because it is the unfinished Minaret of what was supposed to be the largest and tallest mosque in the world in 1196. The construction stopped when it’s founder Yacoub Al Mansour died. There are a LOT of columns around it that were destined to the mosque that make for really cool picture props now.

Kasbah of Oudayas

It is very probably my favorite place in the city. It is a true little fortress on the bank of the Bouregreg river. And guess what? People actually live between its blue narrow streets, and the people are SO welcoming there. Aside from roaming the streets you can wander around the gardens and visit the museum of Moroccan Arts.

OH, and if you don’t sit to sip on some Moroccan Tea and eat our traditional sweets in the Café des Maures then all of this was for nothing, its view is beautiful and so relaxing and ideal for you fellow writers. But don’t go on the weekend if you’re looking for calmness, it gets super crowded, the upside to it is that you can even encounter Gnaoua who are traditional musicians and singers that you can see in a picture below.

The Museum of Modern Art

This is a fairly new addition to the city. The Museum was ushered in 2014 by our King and is near the Old Medina (Note: Everything I just talked about isn’t far away from the Old Medina). Displayed inside of it are pieces of modern art from Moroccan as well as International artists. If you ask me, the monument itself is a piece of art, it has the Moroccan traditional signature to it while still being modern. If you’re an art lover, this is a must visit, plus the entry fees are very cheap, between 20 and 40 dirhams which is like 2 to 4 dollars more or less.

There are plenty other places to visit in Rabat and this post would be never ending if I talk about them all.

2So, for us Muslims, it is now Ramadan. I thought what better time than to talk to you guys about Jellabas.

Jellabas are both men and women’s wear. Some of us wear them on a daily basis, generally older people, while others -including me- wear them only in some occasions, like religious holidays, or in this instance Ramadan to go to the mosque or see family. They are these long hooded dresses that can be really simple or very fancy that are handmade, usually tailored to the wearer’s style and wants, in all and any colors. Pictures speak better than words in situations like this one :

Here’s one last picture for the road, of me forever ago -2 years- in one of my Jellabas in the classiest way of picture taking, a mirror selfie :

2014-07-29 20.14.04.jpg

3The word stands for both the meal and the utensil, it is a staple in every Moroccan home, proof: These are only the ones we have at home.

20160612_171658-01.jpeg

Tajines are deliciousness that we eat with bread (homemade preferably) and WITH OUR HANDS, don’t you dare use a fork to eat it. You actually can if you’re not comfortable the other way around, but as we say “Half the taste is in the hand” and it is true, trust me, I know what I’m talking about. It is usually cooked with beef, sheep or chicken but sometimes other kinds of meat can be used. And any veggies you have at home can do the trick because the magic is in the spices (and the utensil). Dried fruits as well as nuts can be cooked in a Tagine too and that makes for more of a sweet-salty mix that you’d fall head over heels for if that’s your thing, and let’s face it, everyone loves it.

4Well, this is a rubric that I yet have to implement and I hope you guys want to be a part of it. I want you to ask all kinds of questions about the country, the culture, anything and everything that crosses your mind and I’ll be more than happy to answer them in the next post.

We’ve reached the end of today’s post and I really really hope you liked it and that this made you want to buy a ticket ASAP and come over for a visit.

And I wanted to ask, if any of my Moroccan readers want me to showcase their city and would like to help with the post just send me an email and I would be happy to do it.

sans-titre


That’s it until next time.

Did you ever visit Morocco ? If so, what cities ? And what was your favorite part of your holiday here ?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

52 thoughts on “#FMTM : The Capital, Jellabas and Delicious Tagines

  1. Pingback: Souvenirs from across the world : Hidden Gems From France | Drizzle & Hurricane Books
  2. Ahhhh this post is EVERYTHING, the gorgeous pictures, the FOOOOOOD, and you look absolutely gorgeous my twinnie ❤ I am so happy you decided to write this, and thank you for linking to my Souvenirs Project! 🙂 I have to say, I really want to visit the capital now, I love all of these pictures,especially the first one, makes me so dreamy! 🙂 I'm not too much of a fan of spices, however, but the food already LOOKS so yummy and absolutely beautiful, it feels like just a piece of art, really, I LOVE it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First of all I LOVE the banner and the photos and just everything about this post! It was super neatly structured and really made me learn something about Morocco. I think I didn’t really do that properly in my post at all hahaha And then! THE FOOD AT THE END MADE ME SO HUNGRY! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. FADWA THIS IS GOLD (better than the ones you’ll find in a souk :P). Okay, that was a failed attempt at a joke. I didn’t even laugh haha. Anyway, I love this post! Thanks so much for sharing such a detailed post on Morocco. The pictures are beautiful, the buildings are stunning (especially the Museum of Modern Art). It’s a piece of art itself! And this post is so informative. Your Jellaba looks gorgeous on you 🙂
    The tagines also look ❤ ❤ <3! I've heard this saying before too: "Half the taste is in the hand”. *nods*

    This is an amazing post! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    • Aaaah ! I’m so happy you liked it and that it was informative 😍 I was scared it would either be boring or not have enough information. That joke made me smile so… it’s something right ? 😂😂
      I cannot pass in front of the museum without taking a moment to just stare at it, it’s really beautiful.
      Aaaw thank you 🙈
      I know you’d livr the Tagines, I actually yet have to meet someone who doesn’t :p
      Really ? haha that’s awesome !

      Liked by 1 person

  5. LOVE THIS.

    I’ve always wanted to visit Morocco. When I was twelve or thirteen I stumbled upon an old book in a secondhand store about Malika Oufkir, and reading it made me fall in love with the culture and land and ever since reading that book I’ve always wanted to visit. Thank you for writing this!! ♥♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post! Love the photos. That man with the bookshop is amazing, hope I’ll be able to just chill and read my books without a care in the world one day. The jellabas look so comfortable, I want to get one. Hope I’ll get to visit Rabat one day.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. FOOD. BEAUTIFUL PLACES. CLOTHES. I love this post! Some members of my family went on a trip to Morroco a few years ago and they were thrilled. They said there was kind of a different light everywhere, that give the places a beautiful glow. I hope to see it for myself one day. Loved your post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post, Fadwa! I loved learning more about Morocco. I’m Canadian and currently working on becoming bilingual and it’s so cool that French is also spoken in Morocco! I would love to visit a bookshop like the one that man owned for over 50 years! So wonderful 🙂 Sipping Moroccan tea in a cafe while writing sounds divine. I love the designs of the Jellabas! Also, the food ❤ ❤ ❤ your gorgeous pictures have me starving! Thank you so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I’m currently learning French! I love the language but trying to wrap my head around both English and French is interesting XD It’s so amazing when people can speak more than one! Not an easy feat, at least not for me haha 😀 and yay!! I’m so excited for the rest of FMTM and all the yummy food!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • If you need any help just hit me up, I’ll be glad to do so ! 😊 yeah it was kind of a struggle at first I must admit but I think I had it easier starting from french and then learning english.
        Yaay ! That makes me really happy !

        Like

  9. Okay, I absolutely LOVE this post! I never knew Morocco could be this beautiful. It is such a colorful place I would probably take pictures of everything, everywhere! And the Museum of Modern Art looks even more stunning.
    I won’t even mention the food because I’m SO hungry right now?! Asian food tastes very good, but I know that trying the original one would taste even better.
    Thank you so much for sharing about your fantastic country!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m SO happy you enjoyed reading this post, I actually feared people wouldn’t be interested 🙈
      It definitely is a very colorful place that makes for really cool pictures.
      Hahaha! I hope one day you’ll get to actually taste all the deliciousness that we have, I’ll be showcasing even more of it in the future 😊
      You’re welcome, my pleasure !

      Like

  10. THIS POST IS AMAZING, FADWA. I honestly wish I could just appear in Morocco right now. It looks so beautiful. The wanderlust is beyond real. My sister was travelling around Europe and took a mystery flight and landed in Morocco and she really loved it. I really hope I can visit one day! That independent book shop looks so wonderful. All the architecture is stunning and that museum of modern art looks fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday #15 : A Little Self-praise | Word Wonders
  12. NEVER have I ever wanted to visit Morocco more than I do now! It looks amazing, it sounds amazing, ITS JUST ALL TOO AMAZING! All those sights are just so gorgeous and OH MY, just look at those foods! Someone needs to buy me an airplane because there’s just too many places I NEED to visit! This post is just EVERYTHING and I LOVE it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Little Peek #6 : June 2016 | Word Wonders
  14. Great idea for a post, Fadwa! I loved reading about Morocco and your culture. This is exactly why I wanted to pair bloggers from different countries together for the Book Blogger Blind Date. I’m already learning so much about my partner’s culture. It’s very fascinating. Your pictures are incredible. So beautiful. Years ago I decorated my entire bedroom in a Moroccan style theme. I even had some of the linens imported. The fabrics and patterns were so beautiful. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much 😊 I’m really glad you like it and enjoyed reading through this post !
      Yes that is such a great way to know more about everyone’s culture.
      Ah that’s so cool ! We sure have some great designs, even seeing them all my life, I’m still amazed everyday.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: #FMTM : Beaches, Caftans and my favorite Pastillas | Word Wonders
  16. Pingback: #FMTM: The Blue City, Mendils and Almond Cookies | Word Wonders
  17. Pingback: #FMTM: The Ocher City, Jabadours and the all too famous Couscous | Word Wonders
  18. Okay, I want to be that old man reading in his lovely bookshop.

    And I can never get over how beautiful Moroccan architecture is; I can stare at pictures of it all day. (Oooh, Qoba. I learned a new word.)

    Jellabas look super comfy, and yours is so pretty!

    Oh man, I’ve only ever eaten tajine with forks. So when you eat it, do you, like, tear off a bit of bread, and use the bread to pinch a bite of deliciousness out of the tajine? This clueless American must know, because I need to get the most out of my food.

    Everything in this post was golden, and I love it. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! That man is everything I strive to be!
      Yaay, and I’m happy to provide and I can’t wait for you to visit so that I can show you everything and teach you more words as well!
      Aww! Thank you 😙 and they are!
      OMG THAT’S BLASPHEMY! But yes you got it haha, that’s exactly how we do it. And trust me, it tastes much better that way!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

