Never, Never – How to have the most anticlimactic ending ever

24378015

Title : Never, Never. Part 1Part 2Part 3

Author : Colleen Hoover, Tarryn Fisher

Publication date : January 7th 2015 to January 19th 2016

Publisher : Hoover Ink

Genre : Young Adult | Mystery – Paranormal

Synopsis : Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.
Complete strangers since this morning.
He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.
 
(From Goodreads)

Rating : 3 stars

Part 1: 4 stars             Part 2: 4 stars              Part 3:  1 star

Word Wonders (2)

 

The only thing I have room for in this head of mine right now is the firm belief that fate absolutely exists. Fate…soul mates…time travel…you name it. It all exists. Because that’s what her kiss feels like. Existence.

(No spoilers)

LORD HAVE MERCY ! This book made me so angry when I finished it and it does all over again each time I think of it again. And my awesome twinnie Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books (you can check out her review by clicking the link) whom I read it with can definitely agree on that. WHAT WAS THAT ENDING ? I was immensely disappointed in the direction that was chosen for this book, because it had so much potential to be something brilliant but at the end it was just a big puddle of bleeh. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves, I’ll start from the beginning so that you can see all the emotions I wen through.

From page 1 the writing is very engaging and very addictive. It is quick and easy to fly through with chapters going back and forth between Charlie’s and Silas’ (the two MCs) point of view which is great because we get to be in both of their heads and see exactly what both of them think of the situation. The chapters are also fairly short which went perfectly with the fast pace that this book had. Oh, and even with all the shitiness that the characters go through, the book still managed to make me giggle at some points and ridiculous situations.

Never, Never has a very peculiar way of storytelling. Since our main characters both have complete memory loss we experience them going forward with their lives while trying to piece their past back together so we get both periods at the same time if that makes any sense haha. And oh my damn ! The more information they -we- get the more confusing everything gets and the more questions it raises, the suspense IS SO FREAKING GOOD, I can’t even begin to explain how it made me feel, I couldn’t put the story down, I needed to know more, what would happen next but most of all what happened before. That being said, the answers were far from being satisfying, it was the opposite actually. It didn’t live up to the build-up that was sustained throughout the whole story, it just fell flat and was a big bowl of bad quality cheese. SO CHEESY. One other problem that I had is how some elements that were used to enhance the mystery were left out when all was solved and those were some really BIG misleading hints. And the inconsistencies. They made me mad. Where is the logic in this: The guy is supposed to have amnesia, right? So how come when he watched a video of himself and Charlie he was able to describe his own feelings in a moment that HE HAS FORGOTTEN. I’m not that stupid to fall for it, thank you very much.

Characters wise, I liked Silas and kind of had mixed feelings about Charlie. The Silas we got to know is this smiley and very charming guy who’s very thoughtful and caring, but also pretty smart, since he’s the one who solved the mystery haha and untied some knots that they’ve encountered along the way. Charlie I started off disliking, she’s more closed off and harder to get emotions out of through the whole book, this is not the problem. At first, she was selfish and didn’t consider the impact that her actions had on Silas, and just like that, without any warning or development whatsoever she has a 180° change. She becomes this very cautious and trusting person when it comes to him. Again, INCONSISTENCIES.

These problems I had with Charlie’s personality don’t change the fact that I really liked their banter, it was so cute and sweet even with all odds against them. Their chemistry was there even when the feelings were off wondering to God knows where.

Book depository 1 | 2 | 3 – Amazon 1 | 2 | 3


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Never,Never ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Never, Never – How to have the most anticlimactic ending ever

  1. I LOVE this review, and once again I am so glad we got to buddy-read this together. can’t wait for our next buddy-read! ❤
    I definitely agree with you, it was so fast-paced, yet with so many inconsistencies in the end, it's disappointing. It could have been so much better, but you said it perfectly, it was just A BIG PUDDLE OF BLEH at the end. (this made me laugh. not good since I should be working but shhhh. I love you too much not to comment right now). Do you think you'll read more of Colleen Hoover's books? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not read the book yet, so my response is just from my knowledge of the brain and not from the context of the book. I could be making excuses, and maybe it would have been helpful to you as the reader for the author to touch on this fact. Regardless, here it goes! Even though the brain does not remember facts from a forgotten memory, it still has the possibility of remembering the feelings. For example, someone with PTSD may not remember exactly why certain moments trigger a feeling or reaction, but the feelings are there, nonetheless. I’ll have to read the book though, in order to formulate a better opinion. Sounds interesting. Seems like this has been done so many times though. The whole memory loss thing. How did the author keep it original and unique to avoid being cliche? Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 😊
      Yes I know about that, but the I don’t think love is involoved (correct me if I’m wrong) because that’s what I’m talking about, he described loving her and what making love to her felt like.
      I think what made it original is how 2 people sharing so much history lost their memories at the same time and their journey to getting them back and getting back to each other.

      Like

      • True, the details of his feelings are probably a little much. I guess that’s one of those suspension-of-belief moments to see the true love story behind it. The feeling of love and fear come from the same parts of the brain, but intricate details would not be coming from that part of the brain. This reminds me of a movie I just saw called “After”. It’s like Nicholas Sparks meets Stephen King in that it’s a love story and a thriller. In the end, the man has no memory of everything he and the woman he hardly knew went through, but he would draw pictures of his vivid dreams. The drawings were of her. It shows how the mind works. You remember things only in certain parts of your brain. Sometimes those memories are not comprehendible in other parts of your brain. It’s quite fascinating.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The brain as a whole is really fascinating to me, it is really complex and we still have an infinite amount of things to learn about it but that’s also what makes it one my favorite part to study about 😊
        That movie sounds interesting, I’ll definitely give it a go !

        Like

  3. Pingback: Little Peek #6 : June 2016 | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: 2016 Challenges Mid-year Update | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

