Tag #15 : Mid-year Book Freak out Tag

Hello guys !

It’s been forever since I last did a tag *gasps* ALMOST 2 MONTHS. That list of tags awaiting isn’t getting any shorter, so what does a girl do as a remedy to that? She does a tag she wasn’t tagged for. That’s right people ! I’m rebellious like that.

TAGS (18)

You know, they say that we’re more that half-way through 2016, but I don’t see it. I really don’t, is it February? Is it March? *Checks calendar and faints* LORD HAVE MERCY !! July is here and I can’t get over how fast this year has passed, it seems like the older I get the faster years go by and I am NOT ready to adult. Not now, not ever. So, in the midst of this -not so- mild freak-out, I decided to do a fitting tag, which is the Mid-year book freak out tag, for which, as I said previously, I wasn’t tagged but Lauren @ Wonderless reviews said that anyone can do it, so I jumped on the occasion because I am a good friend, I decided to fulfill her wish. This tag was created by Chami @ ReadLikeWildFire and Ely @ Ely Jayne. It’s where we look back at (and freak out over) the books we’ve read during the past six months. So let’s jump right into it :

Click on the book title to go to the Goodreads page.

Best book you’ve read so far in 2016

You know I can’t choose. If you’ve been following me for a while you know that there are 2 books I cannot for the life of me shut up about and those are I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson (Review) and Wolf by Wolf (Review) by Ryan Graudin. READ THEM. I just can’t get over the both. I. CAN’T.

Best sequel you’ve read so far in  2016

A Gathering of Shadows Final

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E.Schwab. I’m still in the middle of it but I’m already in love (maybe by the time this post goes up I’ll be done with). I think I can eat up anything that woman writes, it is SO GOOD. And come on, it has Thief/Pirate/Smart-ass Lila in it and I can’t get enough of her witts.

New Release you haven’t read yet but you want to

There are two -again- that I cannot wait to read. One of which I already have and I plan to buddy read in a couple of weeks, it is And I Darken by Kiersten White. The other one, is one that I recently learnt about but that I cannot wait to get since, it is Juliet takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera.

Most Anticipated Books for the Second Half of the year

SO MANY. I’m trying to catch up on backlist titles more than keeping up with new releases, is it a wise thing to do? I don’t know ! Is it working for me? Yes ! Although I am finding it harder and harder to resist ALL THE BOOKS that are coming out. It is just too much for my grabby hands to behave. Here are some : When Michael Met Mina by Randa Abdel-Fattah, Labyrith Lost by Zoraida Cordova, Three Dark Crowns by Blake Kendare, Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee.

Ryan Graudin - (#2) Blood for Blood

But the mother of all anticipations is the one animating me for Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin which is the sequel to Wolf by Wolf, I get SO excited/nervous/dead just thinking about it. I NEED IT NOW.

Biggest Disappointment

Alwyn Hamilton - Rebel of the Sands

You’ve probably seen this one coming because my review for this book just went up a few days ago, it is Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. There was a time when I was very excited to read this book but as time went by and I started seeing negative reviews surging, my excitement for it went down as well as my hopes. And though I suspected I wouldn’t enjoy it, I still gave it a go and my suspicions became a reality.

Biggest Surprise

The girl in 6E

The Girl in 6E with no doubt. This is one sick, twisted, crazy book and I loved it. It made me doubt my sanity because I found myself rooting for a bloody murderer. I went into it with very low expectations because that is not what I normally read and it was a complete surprise when I enjoyed it so much. I hope to read the sequels soon.

Favorite New Author (Debut or new to you)

  • Ryan Graudin
  • Jandy Nelson
  • V.E Schwab

Newest Fictional Crush

Mmm … Let me think about it. Oh I KNOW ! Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles. I love him so so so much. He’s witty and hilarious and just perfect. I can’t help but giggle each time there’s a scene with him in it, even the most dramatic ones. Yep.

Newest Favorite Character

There’s Yael from Wolf by Wolf but I guess that one was at the beginning of the year so the most recent one is Lila from A Darker Shade of Magic. Oh boy ! She’s amazing. They both are actually, the two most kickass protagonists I’ve read about.

Book that made you cry

Jojo Moyes - Me Before You

Pft ! Obvious one. I teared up at the epilogue of Me Before you by Jojo Moyes because that letter was just my undoing. I just seem to have a soft spot for heart-wrenching letters like that because this is definitely not the first time something like that gets me. (The book that made me sob is I’ll Give you the Sun but I already used that one and I don’t want you to kill me, but I HAD to bring it up, didn’t I?)

Book that made you happy

Rainbow Rowell - Fangirl 2

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I’m late to the party I know, everyone, their mother and their dog read it a couple years ago, but hey, I just got back on track. That book made me so happy with all its quirkiness, fangirling and awkwardness.

Favorite Book to Movie Adaptation

I sadly haven’t watched any yet but I’ve made a list throughout the year and what a list indeed ! Summer has just began so I intend to catch up on them all and then decide which one I like best but for now, I have none to talk to you about.

Favorite Post you have done this year

Unpopular (7)

I think that it might be the one from Monday, “My diverse reading – Or lack there of” . It wasn’t only a post but also a shift in my own reading habits which makes it kind of very personal but I had to share it with you guys. And your responses have been wonderful with some of you relating, others giving advice, it just made me tremendously happy.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve bought this year

Claudia Gray -  (#1) A Thousand Pieces of You

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. I’m seriously in love with that book’s cover and I can’t wait to dive into it. It’s been judging me for a couple months now waiting to be picked up but it’s just … SO MANY BOOKS.

What book do you need to read by the end of the year

Adam Silvera - More happy than not

You mean every book ever? Yeah that’s why I thought ! But one that I’ve been meaning to read for quite a while now and that I want to get to before the end of the year is More Happy than Not by Adam Silvera. I heard so many great things about it and I can’t wait to see for myself what it holds inside. Though I really need to get into every book on this list and start -almost- every series on this one.


I Tag :

Reg @ She Latitude

Shealea @ That Bookshelf Bitch

Astra @ A Stranger’s Guide to Novels

My Book File

Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff

And whoever wants to join the freak out party.

Ps: If you’ve already done it or you just don’t feel like it, I’m sorry just ignore my tag hah.


That’s it until next time.

If you did the tag, go ahead and leave the link in the comments so that I can check it out.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

                       logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Tag #15 : Mid-year Book Freak out Tag

  1. Ahhh I loved this tag!!! I can’t believe how fast the year is going either! It still feels like April to me…. Hehehe
    I happen to agree with most of your picks. Those are some good books there!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I seriously can’t wait to read I’ll Give You the Sun! It’s art of my ‘trying to read more books about mental illness’ move so it’s on the top of my list. I’m also on board with you about Me Before You. It is so heartbreaking and I was sobbing like crazy the entire time I read the book. I’ve been planning to watch the movie but I keep postponing because I know I’m gonna tear up. Also, I planned to read Rebel of the Sands but the first few chapters didn’t hook me instantly so I just stopped reading. I’ve heard some negative reviews about it but I still want to give it a go. I’m stubborn like that 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 😊
      Oh I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it but I’ll Give you the Sun isn’t about mental illness, it’s more about sinbling love, loss among other things.
      I really believed I wouldn’t cry and i didn’t, until the very end 😂
      What pushed me through rebel of the sands is the fact that I was buddy-reading it so I had someone to rant with and it was a lot of fun 😁 even writing the review was really fun.

      Like

  3. Oooh, The Girl In 6E has been on my list for a while. I even bought a copy back in March, I think. Grah, so many books I want to read! LOL. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it though. I’d love to read your review, if you wrote one? 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have this tag in my queue, but I’m hoping to get around to it soon because I’m about two months behind on my awards and tags and posting the Mid-Year Book Freak Out tag in September/October just would not make any sense! Now I just need to work out how to narrow my choices down, if not I feel like I’ll have about ten books for each questions 😀
    I loved AGOS, I feel like that is definitely going to be my favourite sequel of this year as well! I thought it was a lot better than the first book and that felt like a hard one to beat but it still managed it 🙂 and after that ending I cannot wait to get my hands on A Conjuring of Light.
    I’m also really excited to get my hands on And I Darken, I’ve heard some great things about that book already so I’m hoping it lives up to the (growing) hype.
    Great answers, I loved reading them! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s what I thought too, this made it to the top of my list because of time frame but other than that SO MANY TAGS. I don’t want to do to many in a row because I feel like they’ll have similar answers so I try to space them out.
      Oh my God ! That was such a struggle !! I spent 3 hours on this post, I’m not even kidding 😂
      I’m not done with AGOS yet but I’m loving it, though it took a little too much time to pick up but if the ending makes up for it I don’t mind.
      Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I do occassionally mix my tags up, and sometimes I’ll do one I haven’t even been tagged in as well instead of one of the many still in my queue.
        I worry sometimes a lot of my answers in tags are the same, I try and pick different books but when it comes to my favourites there are a few I just keep going back to (because they’re so amazing!)
        Wow, I feel like most of that must have been on the struggle over which ones to pick! But it does go to show you’ve read a lot of amazing books so far! Oh my god in that case you are in for a treat, and I can pretty much guarentee that once you finish AGOS you will be as desperate for A Conjuring of Light and I am, and as everyone else who’s read AGOS is! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I do the exact same thing 😊
        Yeah well favorites don’t change and we don’t have hundreds of those so it’s only normal we bring up the same ones.
        Oh really ? YAY !! But the wait is going to be agonizing 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I definitely don’t have hundreds of favourites 🙂 but I’ve certainly had more added from books I’ve read this year!
        Yeah that’s what stage I’m at now! I finished AGOS in February when it was released and I have to wait until next year to find out what happens next! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Mid-Year-Book-Freak-Out-Tag – My Book File
  6. Wolf by Wolf was SO GREAT! I am going to tell you a secret now – I totally sent that book to my match for Marie’s Souvenirs from Across the World project. Keep your fingers crossed for me that she will like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yay!!! I’m really glad you did this one 😊😊

    I need to read I’ll Give You the Sun and Wolf By Wolf before the end of the year!! I also really want to read The Girl in 6E, More Happy Than Not and Juliet Takes A Breath. What I’ve read so far of A Gathering of Shadows has been AMAZING. I can’t wait to see what happens, but I don’t want it to end because A Conjuring of Light feels so far away haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I told you I will 😂
      One day Lauren, one day. Hahahaha. I saw the other day Wolf by Wolf at the bottom of your tbr pile on instagram and I used all my willpower not to scream at you to move it up 😂😂
      AGOS GETS SOOOO MUCH BETTER !!!! I can’t wait for you to be done with it and hear your thoughts on it. Oh don’t even get me me started on how far ACOL is ! I’m agonizing over here 😭

      Like

  8. Pingback: Little Peek #7 : July 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

