Anna and the French Kiss – Being sent away never felt so good

Stephanie Perkins - Anna and the French Kiss.jpg

Title : Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

Author : Stephanie Perkins

Publication date : December 2nd 2010

Publisher : Dutton Children’s Books

Genre : Young Adult | Contemporary

Synopsis : Can Anna find love in the City of Light?
Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year.
But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for? (From Goodreads)

Rating : 4 stars

Copy of Word Wonders (3).png

“For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.”

If there is such a thing as reading a book at the right time, that was the case with this one. Back when I read it, I was in the middle of taking my final exams so I couldn’t even remotely take a complex, intense story. This was perfect. An easy, cute read that doesn’t need a lot of thinking nor focusing, and although it frustrated me and I wanted to go around shaking most of the characters, it ended up winning me over completely.

One thing that I love to have in my books is short chapters because I feel like a 300 pages book with long but fewer chapters takes me longer than one with shorter chapters. Don’t take me up on that, it is not scientifically proven, it might even be just a feeling. I should probably test it out. Getting off track here, back to the book. The writing is really fun and easy to get into, and it surprised me by being hilarious, I laughed out loud at multiple occasions. I have just one complaint, some words were translated wrong (I don’t remember which because I had them on my phone and it decided to delete everything, ugh !) I mean, if you want to use words in a foreign language you could go a little beyond the typical “google translate” to get it right. I’m just saying.

About France, I liked how through the book Perkins managed to give us a tour through Paris while still steering away from the clichéd Eiffel Tower, even while the places were still touristic locations, they were good for a non-french author/reader I believe. I have to credit the author for one other thing too, that woman sure knows how to write cute romance because Anna and St-Clair’s chemistry was obvious from early on and their interactions are beyond sweet -read: I love their awkwardness at times- even with them trying to fight their feelings for each other because of friends and girlfriends and thing like that. What annoyed me immensely is when Anna started hating on St-Clair’s girlfriend just for being there, GIRL !!! It’s not her fault he’s indecisive and she never did you any wrong, so calm a bit if you will ! That seemed to me like unnecessary girl-hate and it took me a little while to recover from it.

dfghj

Anna started off being this really annoying whining cry-baby girl whose parents sent her to Paris for a year without her consent. BOO-HOO ! But once she finally got her head out of her ass I actually liked her, she was out-going and funny. And then it went down-hill again. I seriously questioned her decision making skills when it comes to being there for her friends and actually putting someone else first for once. Even with Etienne facing what he was facing she still managed to make things about herself, she also didn’t forgive her friends for mistakes that she, herself, made too. And AGAIN, at the end she realized how much of a bitch she was being and went seeking redemption, so all in all, Anna turned out okay.

Etienne on the other hand was sooo swoon worthy, not because of looks or anything but because of the way he acted. He was so caring and gentle but most of all brave. With all the crap that his life has been, he took it all in and although he broke down for a moment he picked himself back up and found a way again adversity (read: his douchbag father).

Their little group of friends was a great addition to the story too. I loved how they all looked out for one another and each other’s backs, and how they fit together if that makes sense, they’re very different but still make it work all the same.

I wanted to throw this book against a wall multiple times but at the same time it was beyond cute and I shipped Anna and St-Clair so hard and found myself mentally screaming “JUST GET TOGETHER ALREADY” more times than I could count. The romance completely won me over.

P.s: Click on the fanart to be sent to the artist’s page


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Anna and the French Kiss ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

26 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss – Being sent away never felt so good

  1. This is one of my favourite books, surprisingly! I don’t usually like cheesy love stories, but the awkwardness and cuteness and just EVERYTHING made me love this one! Plus, I REALLY WANT TO VISIT PARIS NOW OH MY GOODNESS ❤ Lovely review Fadwa! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book seems to be everywhere, but I still haven’t read any of Stephanie Perkins’s books [😬]. I’ve been hesitant towards reading contemporary books. Recently, though, I read and really enjoyed The Unexpected Everything, so I’m slowly becoming more acclimated to these stories. Despite Anna hating on another girl, I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the story. I’ll have to finally pick it up! 🙂 Nice review!

    ✨ Claire @ Cover to Cover

    Liked by 1 person

    • This was actually my introduction to Perkins’ work and I was reluctant for a long time to pick it up. As I said, I needed I light read and everyone said this one is so I said why not ? Haha. Contemporary is one of my favorite genres though 😁. I haven’t read any Morgan Matson but I am about to start Since you’ve been gone, so we’ll see how that goes 😊
      Thank you !

      Like

  3. I read this AGES ago and would agree that it’s fun and cute and light-hearted! I think I rated it four stars too back then, until recently when I started thinking about the characters a bit more and found myself really disliking them, haha.

    I agree that the girl-hate was unnecessary, but I feel like it’s a very common plot for authors to take on, when the love interest already has a partner and the protagonist just hates on that partner for no real reason. I used to be OK with that but now I’m just so over it. 😂 I’m glad you enjoyed it, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVED Anna and the French Kiss. I know that it has it’s flaws, but it reminded me of my time in France and my semester abroad SO much that I just felt really connected with the whole thing.
    Are you going to read the other books as well? Lola is my least favourite, but I adored Isla!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: 2016 Challenges Mid-year Update | Word Wonders
  6. Pingback: Lola and the Boy Next Door – Life is too short to be the same everyday | Word Wonders
  7. Pingback: Little Peek #7 : July 2016 | Word Wonders
  8. Pingback: Isla and the Happily Ever After – Made my heart melt into a puddle of feels | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

