#FMTM : Beaches, Caftans and my favorite Pastillas

Hello guys !

Guess what today is? (Okay, you know already because of the title and all) It is time for our next stop on our Moroccan tour. You seemed to really enjoy getting to know my country a little better on my first post for #FMTM where I talked all about our capital, Jellabas and Tagines. This time, it’s for you all beach lovers. Going to the beach is seriously one of my favorite things to do of all times and if you’re like me, I hope you’ll enjoy discovering a city known for its surrounding beaches which we’ll hopefully have you running -more like flying, but whatever- to visit.

FOLLOW ME THROUGH MOROCCO.png

Random Fact: In Arabic Morocco is called “Maghreb” which translates to West. And Morocco is the most western North African country.

1Agadir is one of Morocco’s most famous costal cities, it peers on the Atlantic Ocean and is at the foot of the Atlas mountains, so the whole region makes for a really peculiar mix of beaches and mountains. I’ve known this city almost my whole life and have been going every summer for over 10 years now. Most people there speak a kind of Berber that’s called Tashelhit which happens to be the kind that I speak (There are 3 kinds if you want to know). I will not only be talking to you about the city but also its surrounding beaches and a little piece of paradise.

Souk El Had

Yes, you’ve guessed it ! Almost every major city in Morocco has its big Souk. Souk El Had translates to “Sunday Market” This one isn’t located inside of the Old Medina, in the midst of houses, like in Rabat. It is a structure of its own, surrounded by a huge wall and you can access it from a gazillion doors, okay it’s more like 13 and each door leads to a part of the market that’s designed for a “craft” of some sort, so it’s really practical when you’re looking for something in particular. Some can take right into the fruit and veggie section, to the fish one, others to clothes, electronics (yep), spice shops (we have a lot of those), to sum it up, anything that you could need you can find in there. What I love about this is that almost every part of it is shielded from the sun, so you can wander around without being afraid of sunburns and dehydration.

Kasbah Agadir Oufella

I love love LOVE this place ! The view is absolutely breathtaking, water as far as  the eye can see, it is even more gorgeous . Agadir Oufella in Tashelhit translates to Agadir from Above and it is pretty self explanatory. It stands high above Agadir (236m) and from there you can see the whole city as well as the ocean. The hill it stands on, has inscribed on it in Arabic “God, the Homeland, the King” which is kind of our moroccan moto and is said at the end of our anthem. So, what it actually holds are the ruins of a citadel that was pit out there by the Saîdie dynasty to protect the city against the portuguese attacks.

Since you know me so well and I love you guys, here’s yours truly making a fool out of herself there a couple of weeks back hehe, don’t thank me, thank the friend who took this picture while I was expressing myself.

20160708_163048

The beaches

  • Aghroud Beach

100630060

Which is 35km from Agadir and one of the only two, I’ve been too – sad I know. It is really pretty and quite calm, what’s cool about it is that you can buy your fish right there and then, right out of the ocean from the fishermen’s small boats, so you know that it is fresh.

  • Imsouane Beach

This one is around 80km away from Agadir and is the other one I’ve been too. SO. PRETTY. Windy too, but still, really beautiful. The wind makes for great surfing waves -from what I’ve heard. Imsouane is actually a tiny town, 100% touristic that has small hotels and inns so you can stay there for a few days if that’s what you want. And I suggest you do ! I was there last year and had a direct view on the ocean. I seriously fell in love.

  • Legzira Beach

large_img1.png

I NEED TO GO OKAY ? This place is so freaking gorgeous, can you believe I’ve never been there ? It’s around 170 km away from Agadir so it’s not even that far away. It is closest to a little town called Mirleft and that’s where you can lodge if you happen to never want to leave this place. If you love hikes and/or are a surfer, this is the place for you.

There are a lot more beautiful beaches that I could talk to you about but this post would get incredibly long.

Paradise Valley

Yes, that’s what it really is called and it truly deserves the name. It is a valley (duh !) full of greenery whichever way you look and in the middle of it a hidden gem : Waterfalls and cold turquoise clear water that’s absolutely delicious to swim in. It is around 60km away from Agadir. One advice I have though, if you have the possibility to go during Spring go for it because it is way more crowded in the Summer.

To get to the waters you have to hike through gorgeous forests and amazing sceneries for around an hour that I swear you wouldn’t even feel, because it is so very enjoyable. Once you get there, you either relax by the water or, if you’re an adrenaline junky like myself, jump off of cliffs. BEST FEELING EVER.

2Here’s the thing. Saturday I was at a wedding until Sunday at dawn (that’s how we roll in Morocco, but that’s to discuss another time) I was wearing a billion inches heals and danced until my feet hurt, took them off and danced some more. But that’s besides the point haha. I brought up the wedding because the outfit I’ll talk about is the one that we get out of the closet for weddings: Caftans, and more specifically the 2 pieces one. There are also one piece ones but those are rarely worn in weddings, they’re more for baptêmes, engagement parties and other occasions. Again, like most of our traditional wear, they are handmade and usually tailored to the wearer’s style and wants. Here are some :

Oh, here’s the one I wore to the wedding :

IMG_20160717_190334.jpg

Side note: I was wearing my hair down but with the heat and the dancing… Yeah, it didn’t work out so well and it had to get out of the way.

3Pastillas are some of our big occasion meals. And I also had it at the wedding, so there’s that. I honestly don’t know how to explain it haha. It’s this crunchy “shell” of circle shaped dough made of water and flour that’s cooked kind of like crêpes (even thinner than those to be honest) and filled with ALL them delicious things.

So, what do we know now? That I suck at explaining things. And also that it is delicious and you should try it. The most common ones are: The salty one made with fish and sea food (my favorite) – squeeze lemon juice on top of it, you’re welcome- and the sweet one made of chicken and almonds often served with cinnamon and powdered sugar.

4

So, none of you had any questions to ask me *sad face* I’ll go ahead and answer some of the most asked questions that I received or heard of at some point in my life.

  • Where are the camels?

This is a question someone asked on Twitter after my first #FMTM post last month. To be honest, it is quite offending (Do your research people) but let’s role with it. The camels are in the Sahara desert, which is in the South of the country, or you can find them in some beaches for touristic purposes.

  • How do you greet each other?

Moroccan are big into kissing, like REAL BIG. But not people of the opposite sex, then a handshake will do (Note that some hijabi women prefer not to shake hands with men).

  • How do I dress? (Asked by girls)

All in all, you should avoid to show too much skin, just to be respectful of the people around. In the big cities, tank tops are fine, a little above the knee is too (to the beach though, you can wear whatever floats you boat). In the small towns and villages, it is better to stick to a t-shirt and pants though.

Those are the ones I could think of haha. If you guys don’t have any questions to ask, I think I’ll get rid of this section. If you do, please live them in the comments below and I’ll make sure to answer them.

And I wanted to ask, if any of my Moroccan readers want me to showcase their city and would like to help with the post just send me an email and I would be happy to do it.


That’s it until next time.

Did you ever visit Morocco ? If so, what cities ? And what was your favorite part of your holiday here ?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

21 thoughts on “#FMTM : Beaches, Caftans and my favorite Pastillas

  1. Once again I really loved this post, and I’m enjoying this feature a lot! These places seem absolutely gorgeous, and I feel like I know your country so much more thanks to these posts. I’m happy you’re going on with this 🙂 And I laughed at the camel question, hahaha. I was actually wondering about the “dress code”, I am glad you answered that. I can’t think of any question right now, but if I do, I will let you know! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You look absolutely stunning in the caftan! Love the look.
    The beaches look gorgeous and pristine. Is that how they look in person, you think? I know that pictures are usually not indication of what a place will look, especially when the pictures are meant to attract tourists. haha, anyway, from what you provided, Morocco looks gorgeous and the beaches are to-die for.

    Question:
    Who are the famous Moroccan celebrities? Singers, actors, writers, etc! I’d like to know because I don’t know anybody! The only one I know is Laila Lalami, but I think she lives in America? I’m thinking of native Moroccans who currently live there and are famous in their country.

    Love this feature! Please keep doing more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww thank you so much Naz 😊❤
      The Aghroud one doesn’t always look that way, but the other two are actually like that, I didn’t know about them until a couple years ago and just couldn’t believe that we have beaches like that hahaha.
      Mmm I don’t think any of them are famous internationally but I’ll definitely put the most known ones on the next post.
      Thank you so much ! It majes le tremendously happy that you’re enjoying it 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG THIS IS AMAZING. YOUR COUNTRY IS SO SO BEAUTIFUL AHHHHHH. And that food. Yum. And your dress is just gorgeous. And the scenery…like, omg, let me just scroll through the post again. 😄 This is so beautiful! I loved the tour!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WOW. Fadwa this is such an amazing post! First of all – you look STUNNING in that Caftan 😛 ❤ Second, those beaches. I'm coming to Morroco NOW just for those beaches (and you too – you'll be my guide). Also, it's so interesting that the souk has 13 different entrances – how cool is that?? You can get all your shopping done quickly.
    I have one question: would you say there is a very big rich/poor divide, or is everyone generally well-off. So what I'm asking is, is wealth concentrated in one place? Is it easy to become rich?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sooo happy you think so 🙈
      Thank you Fatima, you’re the sweetest 💕
      YES PLEASE COME NOW 😍
      It is really cool but the souk is also humongous so if you need several things it takes a while 😁
      Ooh that’s a really interesting question

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: My blog’s 6th monthaversary and the As to your Qs | Word Wonders
  6. Pingback: Little Peek #7 : July 2016 | Word Wonders
  7. Pingback: #FMTM: The Blue City, Mendils and Almond Cookies | Word Wonders
  8. Pingback: #FMTM: The Ocher City, Jabadours and the all too famous Couscous | Word Wonders
  9. I know every comment I’ve made on these posts so far has been just gushing excitement and enthusiasm, so you already know what I’m going to say: holy crap, I need to see all these places, and taste these foods, and learn all the things about Morocco.

    I had no idea that there were multiple Berber languages; are they all fairly similar, so it’s very easy to understand a speaker of a different language?

    Here’s hoping you get to explore more of those beaches soon-ish! (And, of course, report back on how gorgeous they are, and what a great time you had!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

