How I became the Happiest Girl Ever: A BOOKSTORE !

Hello Guys !

So… I FOUND A BOOKSTORE SELLING ENGLISH BOOKS !

I’m beyond excited about this, this is like finding water in the desert or something. This might sound dumb or silly to some of you, but I’ve been looking for so long. I really struggle to find book around here and if you’ve been following my blog for a while you’d know that most my books are ebooks. BOOHOO ! One day, scrawling through Instagram, I stumble across a Moroccan Bookstagrammer called @Oneinamillionbook and we got to chat a bit, she’s the one who showed this bookshop to me. Thanks a million girl ! (See what I did there? hehe)

Unpopular (4)

It’s nothing fancy, just a little independent bookstore called ENGLISH BOOKSHOP that sells new as well as used books and the owner is the most awesome old man ever. I had the honor to chat with him for a little while and let me tell you, having and keeping an English selling independent bookstore is far from being an easy thing in Morocco, he managed to keep it running since 1985, 31 YEARS GUYS !! A little farther down the article I’ll share with you some pictures as well as some of the things we talked about.

20160808_120834.jpg

As you can see on the picture, there are piles over piles of books, it is overwhelming and I was a little intimidated at first, I didn’t know where to start, what I did is I started by the desk and worked my way to the back. I found the whole Lord of the Rings series, the Hobbit, the Hunger Games, the Maze Runner, Rick Riordan  (I wanted the first Percy Jackson but he didn’t have it) as well as Cecelia Ahern books, a Gazillion Paulo Coelho, Agatha Christie and Roald Dahl books and the whole John Green collections. And many many others, these are just the ones I could think of from the top of my head. He was also selling some academic and research books, and a wide range of genres.

I went in promising myself I would just look around and buy nothing, I actually didn’t expect to find anything that I wanted to get my hands on. Boy, how wrong I was! As soon as I set foot into the little shop I found 2 books (well 3 but I only got 2) that were highly recommended to me. The first is And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Husseini (70 MAD = 7 USD = 6.5 EU) which was Fatima @ Noteable Pad‘s doing, she talked about it in an interview thingy I’ll be posting saturday which immediately put it under my radar. The second is The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larson (80 MAD = 8 USD = 7.5 EU) which is probably the most popular mystery book ever and was recommended to me by a fellow Moroccan bookworm. He also had a full A song of Ice and Fire set that took all my willpower not to squeal or cry because it was waaay out of my price range but I’ll go back for it, I VOW IT!!

The owner is such a sweet man. I obviously asked his permission to take all of these pictures and he was genuinely interested in my blog when I brought it up explaining why I wanted the pictures, he even helped with some haha, the idea for the first picture was his. After that, we talked about the struggles he faces to get books, with his clients etc… I really admire the man’s passion, patience and perseverance, he truly touched me. Here are some of the things he told me:

  • Some publishers can refuse to send him the books the requests even knowing that he is obviously paying for them.
  • Some books get lost, others get stolen. He said that at some point, he had 10 bags coming and he only got 6.
  • Some clients get pretty mean when they request a book and it takes time to arrive even though he tells them that they take time.

Luckily now, the problems he faces are relatively less significant, as he found ways to work around them. He doesn’t take requests nor does he disclose the books that will be arriving (believe me I tried asking him) but when I asked about the Book Thief (duh!!), he said that it was on its way and that supposed to be available by the start of next month so I asked him to hold on to one for me in case I can’t make it then, which he will do. SO YAY !!

English Bookshop
  • Adress : 7, Rue Yamama – Rabat.
  • Number : +212 537.706.593
  • Prices: From 50 to 200 MAD the book .

So, this was a little different from what I’m used to post, but I just had to share this morning’s adventure with you guys !


That’s it until next time.

Do you struggle to find English Books too? I’d love to chat some more in the comments.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “How I became the Happiest Girl Ever: A BOOKSTORE !

  1. THIS POST MAKES ME SO HAPPY!!

    1) I’m so glad you found an awesome book store in your area!
    2) I love bookstores that have that kind of chaos layout. I know it’s hard to find things, but it just makes the experience like an adventure. It’s so much fun!!
    3) it’s obvious the man who runs the store loves books which is so great to see and it’s such a shame that he has to deal with all the bad stuff 😦

    Seriously, loved this post!!! I hope you get to make lots more amazing bookish purchases in the future ❤️

    Like

  2. Ah, this is such a beautiful post, Fadwa! I totally understand your excitement! When I was living in Pakistan, there were so few bookstores in the city since people just don’t read much. When I discovered this beautiful book store that imported the UK editions of fiction and YA titles, I was ecstatic. Hope this sweet old man will get some business in the future. Selling books and knowledge is such a noble profession. ❤

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh wow! this has to be one of the best post’s I’ve come across EVER! this bookshop screams personality, I wish I had one of these around me but I’m from New York & for the most part everything is a huge chain. It looks cozy & charming and the book seller seems like he cares a lot for his shop! amazing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • And that is one of the best comments ever !! Seriously, it made me so very happy 😄
      It does ! Well, you should come visit, I feel like you’d love it here, there are a lot of bookshops like this one, though this is the only one that’s 100% english books, they’re very rare everywhere else.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us, Fadwa! I love that you get to talk to the owner as well and hear about his struggles – I think many of us (me included) don’t really think about what goes behind the scenes between the publishers and the bookstores, and how both parties sometimes really struggle in getting a book out there and selling it and making a profit. He sounds like SUCH a sweet guy. ❤

    I live in an English-speaking country right now so English bookstores aren't hard to look for, but when I wasn't living in an English-speaking country it could be a bit of a hassle. I'd normally go to the giant chains like Kinokuniya.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of course ! I really enjoy doing so 😊 Thank you for taking time and reading them !
      Yes you’re right, I’ve never thought about that but hearing it from him first hand, especially in a country where most people don’t read English books, was really interesting. He truly is, I can’t wait to go back there, obviously buy some more books 😂 but also chat with him.

      Like

    • Okay I’m not done but I accidentally hit send. The stocks are a bit disappointing thoguh, there are so many books om my TBR that aren’t available for sale so most of the time I resort to bookdepository. But this kind of shop is awesome! I hope you get books you want and you make me want to explore my city more to find hidden gems like these 😀😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aaah thank you so much ❤ Well we do have, big chain bookstores too BUT our seconf language is French so that’s the language most books are written in and even though there is a English section, it’s very narrow and mostly books I never heard of 😂
        TBD sadly don’t ship to Morocco !
        Hahah yeah go ahead ! Exploring is always fun and you can find great things and places 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ughhh I hate translated books… most of the jokes get lost in translation and it’s not funny anymore 😦 but that means you speak French right?? That’s awesome! I learned French in high school but I only remember the basics :’) ahhh that’s so unfair! I thought bookdepository ship to every country in the world? 😦 we’re so lucky we still have kindles though, not the same, but still 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re so right !!! It just doesn’t have the same effect when it’s translated, sometimes they don’t even make sense 😂😂 Yes I do, I grew up talking it as well as learning it at school, most subjects are taught in french too.
        Yeaah well :/ I still have hope that one day they’ll start shipping here hahaha. I wouldn’t read near as much as I do now with ebooks !

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks like a fabulous place I’d love to stay for hours at! Holy cow, the whole shop is jammed packed with books, I wouldn’t know where to start. What a great find. The owner sounds genuinely sweet, and someone I’d love to meet someday. His passion for books and his shop is truly inspiring, and I love how he helped you take pictures!

    Oh, and just a little introduction, my name is Grace, and I’m very glad to have stumbled on your blog. I can’t wait to get caught up with this lovely blog 🙂
    https://kimmiegg.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really is ! A billion times better than chain stores if you ask me 😁 I didn’t know either, I actuallt just stood there overwhelmed for a few minutes before asking for the owner’s help and diving in! He really is, anyone would be lucky to meet him, at least that’s how I felt.
      Nice to meet you, Grace 😙 Aaaw thank you so much ! I’ll head over to your blog right away!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Small businesses definitely have a more homey feel to them than chains. I mean this is someone’s sweat, blood and tears they’ve put in to make their store happen!
        Thank you! I’m very excited to correspond with you more and more 🙂

        Like

  6. Glad you were able to find such a place 🙂 And SOOO many books! The boxes and general chaos makes it feel like a storeroom. I wish I had a personal storeroom of books that huge 😛

    Like

  7. Pingback: The Weekly Hufflepuff #40 – The Writing Hufflepuff
  8. Pingback: August Wrap-Up || September TBR (2016) – She Latitude
  9. What a heart felt post!
    An adventure with lost treasure.
    I think my favorite part was learning about the owner of the shop. I hope he’s able to keep his shop open for many more years.
    Congratulations on finding English books in your area! I bet you’ll be visiting the bookstore more now. How did you get English books before? Online?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Little Peek #8: August 2016 | Word Wonders
  11. Pingback: TAG #24: The TBR Tag | Word Wonders
  12. Pingback: TAG #34: The Anonymous Bookaholics | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

