The Crown – I tried, I really did ! At least now we’re done ?

Kiera Cass - (#5) The Crown

Title : The Crown (The Selection #5)

Author : Kiera Kass

Publication date : May 3th 2016

Publisher : HarperTeen

Genre : Young Adult | Romance – Dystopia

Synopsis : When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.
Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Rating: 2.5 stars

The Crown.png

“I’m in love with him, and I want to marry him. And even though he hates having his picture taken, I want to take a thousand so I can put him on my wall and wake up to us laughing every day, just like you do with Mom. And I want him to make me doughnuts, just like his mom does for his dad. Even if I have to let out all my dresses. And I want us to find our own thing or maybe find out that our own thing is everything, because I feel like if I have him, even the stupid stuff would matter.”

(No Spoilers)

This ending to The Selection series wasn’t a good one friends. I’m one of those firm believers that they should’ve left it alone after the end of that first trilogy, but nooo ! Go ahead and milk that cow. It’s not all bad obviously, I enjoyed some part so I’m sorry if you like this book and I’m offending you, I would suggest you don’t read any further though,  I don’t have the strength to run away from pitchforks.

So… We all know that the writing isn’t spectacular in this, it is just meh but I was okay with it because to be honest I didn’t go into The Crown expecting beautiful prose. But there is a minimum to be reached if you ask me, and while it was thankfully scraping it for the most part, sometimes I just facepalmed myself. Real hard. There are some mistakes done (Editing is made to correct those, people !) but the worse one that is actually one of my pet peeves that I just can’t get over is the common used “If I was …” (I actually went ahead and researched it just to be sure). I know it is very widely used in everyday language but it WRONG when the statement is contrary to fact, but I just get past it in a book’s narration.

There are also some very cheesy sentences that don’t even make any sense, like “I’m pretty sure you’re always useful. Even when you sleep.” EXCUSE ME WHAT ? I know it’s meant to be -not so- casual flirting but it just comes across as ridiculous. Here, I’m a nice person, so I’ll give you extra cheese for free :

“I walked over to him. And when he realized I was on my way, his gaze flew up to mine. In an instant, everything in the room came alive. Like the sunshine had a melody and the sounds of footsteps had a texture I could feel in my fingertips each time anyone moved”

Moving on. I went in wanting to rate this very loosely because I didn’t expect it sweep me off my feet, I just wanted a cute fairytale ending -like in The One,  and even that didn’t happen. The ending felt sloppy and rushed and didn’t answer all the questions Eadlyn’s books raised. Romantically speaking, the ending was a good one, she ended up with the guy I was rooting for so I was happy with that. But politics wise, the One ended with everything being in order, first The Heir messes everything up, then this one starts fixing things -we admittedly see the light at the end of the tunnel- but it is just not enough. I wanted to see what the people’s reaction will be to the announcements she made.

One thing I really appreciated is to see how Maxon and America (as well as all the others) turned out. We didn’t get to see much of that in The Heir because they weren’t very close with their daughter, but after what happened, Eadlyn got to see her parents’ love like she never did before, and us with her. It still is just like a fairytale after 20 years and that same old feel good vibe to it.

I didn’t review the Heir when I read it because I wasn’t blogging yet but I mentioned it in my very first wrap-up and said that I didn’t like Eadlyn, not one bit. I actually hated her. But now she changed. For the better that is. She stopped being whiny, selfish and arrogant, she’s now strong and responsible willing to do anything for her family and country, and I really appreciated that change but the one thing that I wanted to slap her for is how trusting she became. She went from 0 to 100 reaaal quick and I was sure it was going to come back and bite her in the ass. Which eventually happened.

As for the guys, I felt like the characters fell flat and were very one dimensional aside from Kile, Erik and maybe Hale who were okay. I understand that with 30 guys it is impossible to develop all of them, but with the final 5, I would’ve like a little more depth even they ultimately weren’t going to stick around, it would’ve made her choice less obvious. I must admit that in the original trilogy, the girls were better thought out than the boys in these two final books.

So, here ends the selection series. I hope. While these last 2 books were Meh, I’d recommend reading the original trilogy if you’re looking for an easy, quick read with a happily ever after.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Crown ? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

13 thoughts on “The Crown – I tried, I really did ! At least now we’re done ?

  1. It’s a shame you didn’t like this book all that much! But oh well. At least now it’s done. I don’t think I’ll end up reading this series to be honest, it looks a bit cringey for me and just those few quotes you used made me shrivel up a bit inside 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeaah I wouldn’t read it either now ! I liked the original trilogy when I just started reading in english so I didn’t have all that much bagage to begin with and I’m sure that I’d like it considerably less now.

      Like

  2. I didn’t like these two last books AT ALL. I’ve reviewed it as well and I’m so on your side! The characters felt flat and everything just seemed so rushed. I couldn’t like anyone too much and obviously I sided with the wrong guy than the one who was actual endgame. Which was a bummer for me. Hm. But rushed is the perfect word for the last two books, I would have liked to read more of the struggle Eadlyn has to deal with as an upcoming queen/ruler/whatsoever. Instead she turned from 100% Ice Queen into squishy “I love everyone soooo much” happy social girl.
    Super cool review though and good points made on why you don’t liked it! I’m looking forward to read more!
    xo Annina

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aww…I’m sorry this was such a disappointment. Most of the reviews I’ve read have said the same thing – that the series is only worth reading if you only read the original three books. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read Eadlyn’s books yet, and I’m not sure if I’m going to. I enjoyed the original trilogy and I don’t want to ruin that haha. I’m glad to hear that Eadlyn becomes more bearable though!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Little Peek #8: August 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

