Book Blogger Blind Date : We Ramble about Bookishness

Hello Guys !

Today’s post is a pretty special thing curtesy of Jill @ Rant @ Rave about Books. This lovely person here thought that Fatima @ Noteable Pad and I would be a perfect fit to work together on a Book Blogger Blind Date (Click here for details). Fatima was by then, already, one of my dearest blogger friends so I was more than thrilled to do this with her.

bbbd3

Click on the titles to be redirected to the Goodreads pagns

Coming up with these questions was the most hilarious and ridiculous process. We laughed a lot, improvised a lot and I hope you’ll enjoy reading through the result of that. Here’s the thing: We had to cut the questions in two sections -because let’s face it we’re rambly people- each section on a blog. On my blog you’ll find everything bookish related, while if you want to get to know the both of us a little bit more on a personal level, head over to  Fatima’s blog where we asked somewhat deep questions that I managed to answer with all seriousness. Shocker, I know. Without further ado, let’s do this thing. But first, get to know who Fatima is:

I’m Fatima: perpetual writer by day and critic by night. I’m 19. I live in London.

When I’ve taken my critic glasses off, you can find me drinking copious amounts of tea, gobbling up much needed chocolate and researching like a madman. Occasionally I’ll post discussions, but these aren’t always book-related.

I read a range of genres to aid my own writing. These include: historical fiction, biographies, fantasy, romance and retellings.

12

a. Getting out of a slump?

Fatima: Surprisingly, this is a hard question. I barely know how to get out of reading slumps myself, so I’ll give this a pass.

Fadwa: YAY! BOOK RECS!! To get out of a slump I’d recommend something fun and quick that wouldn’t drain you while you’re still trying to recover, The Catastrophic History of You and Me is a good one, and a 2016 favorite of mine.

b. Cheering up?

Fatima: I’ve never read it, but I’m going to recommend The Alchemist because I’ve heard that does the job.

(I read and loved it, so listen to the girl)

Fadwa: There are plenty of contemporary feel good books, Fangirl as well as the Anna and the French Kiss companion series are a perfect fit.

c. A punch of feels?

Fatima: If you want to cry your eyes out, read any book by Khaled Hosseini. More specifically, The Kite Runner and And the Mountains Echoed are the only books of his that I have read.

(I’ve been meaning to read one of his books for forever now *sigh*)

Fadwa: What books DO NOT give me feels? All sequels to my beloved series give me overwhelming amounts of feels. I’d suggest the Shades of Magic trilogy because A Gathering of Shadows killed me.

3

Fatima: The characters that have greatly impacted my life aren’t, regrettably, fictional. I am inspired by the ability of people make something out of their misfortune – to survive when all the odds are against them.  I’ll go with Jung Chang – in her book Wild Swans she details her family story as they live in China – from the beginning of the 20th century to the end of Chairman Mao’s rule in the late 1970s.  Living in such an oppressive society, I was beyond touched to hear what Jung Chang went through, and that despite all of that, she was still alive and well.

Fadwa: Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter series. She’s a Ravenclaw, so we were meant to be, if we are being honest. I love how she is weird and owns it. She doesn’t care what people think of what she does or how she sees things, not one time did I see her flinch when people made fun of her. And that was very inspiring, because I strived to be like her and in a way I succeeded, because I do not care what people might think. Add to that the fact that she is smart, funny and compassionate. She’s just ALL AROUND AWESOME.

4

Fatima:

  • Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle – she is so dreadfully dull (like me) and I think we’d get along pretty well.
  •  Beth from Little Women (avid reader like me)
  • The nameless narrator of A Thousand Nights – man, the conversations we’d have!
  • Why do all these characters mirror my personality?

(By the way, she’s not a dull person but won’t take my word for it so whatever FATIMA!)

Fadwa: There are so many characters that I love, some of which I would be scared for my life just by existing in the same world but some others I want to befriend forever, here they are:

  • YaelWolf  by Wolf. Can the fact that she is a shapeshifter be enough of a reason? That is SO cool, plus she’s strong, resilient and selfless.
  • ThorneThe Lunar Chronicles. Can he be my boyfriend too? I leeeuve him. He’s kind of the male version of yours truly; he’s sarcastic, brave and wants nothing to do with feelings, sounds familiar?
  • NoahI’ll Give you the sun. Aside all the crap he and his sister did to each other, he’s a decent kid and artsy, I need someone like that to inspire an motivate me to draw more.
  • Lila & AlucardShades of Magic. Because I know that if I ever got in trouble they’ll be there to throw some knives and magic around. Plus, I’m guaranteed to never get bored with them.

5

Fatima:

  • Amani from Rebel of the Sands. Follow this link here to read my scathing review of RotS.  Amani is a rebel with no cause – desperate to escape the oppressive culture she was born into, even if it means leaving people behind.
  •   Shahrzad Khayzurun from The Wrath and the Dawn – NO. Shahrzad is content forgetting about her friend for the GUY WHO KILLED HER.

Fadwa: This is going to be fun hehehe and potentially deadly because unpopular opinions coming ahead:

  • LolaLola and the Boy Next Door. DEAR LORD! She would make me way too frustrated (I have 0 patience) because of her decision making skills. I would just spend my day screaming at her.
  • AmaniRebel of the Sands. Hehe. How could I not bring her up? That girl has no sense of purpose. And she’s insufferable. Here’s my review too, if you want to check it out.

I’m sure there are more but these are the only ones I can think of, as of right now.

(We buddy read Rebel of the Sands, so we have pretty similar thoughts on it hehe)

6

Fatima:

Obviously you Fadwa. You’re definitely on that list. I also love Lauren’s @ Wonderlessreviews, Izzi @ Ravenclawbookclub, Liam @ HeyAshers, Ioana @ Booksreenchanted, Summer @ Xingsings, Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks, Beth @ Readingeverynight, Chloe @ QuirkyVictorian, Sammie @ bookshelvesandbiros & Jorelene @ PageChronicles.

Fadwa: YAAS! I have so many though !!

Fatima (Duuh !!) – Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books – Kat @ Life and Other Disasters Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews Jess @ JBelks Books Naz @ Read Diverse Books Ashleigh @ A Frolic Through FictionNuzaifa @ Word Contessa – Reg @ She LatitudeLiam @ Hey Ashers Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff.

I’m preeetty sure I forgot some and if I did I’M SORRY, my brain betrays me at time, just know that I’ll love you forever.


That’s it until next time.

Don’t Forget to head over to Fatima’s Blog to read the rest of this Blind Date ! And Show her some love !

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Book Blogger Blind Date : We Ramble about Bookishness

  1. Aww I’m one of your favourite bloggers?? I’m so honoured ❤️ Both you and Fatima are definitely among mine as well and this was a lot of fun to read. I’m now going to read the rest of your blind date 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww, this is such a cute post! You and Fatima are such great bloggers so I had a fun time reading both you and Fatima’s post! THANK YOU FOR CONSIDERING ME ONE OF YOUR FAVORITE BLOGGERS!!! ❤ ❤ YOU ARE DEFINITELY ONE OF MINE 😀

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a great interview post, I’ll definitely be checking Fatima’s blog for the second half soon!
    I definitely agree with reading Fangirl for cheering myself up if I ever need to, it’s just such a happy book and a fluffy read, plus I love Rainbow Rowell so I guess anything of hers could be used to cheer me up! 😀 Also yes to A Gathering of Shadows for a punch of feels, I’m still not over that book and I read it back in February when it was first released!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome post! I loved reading different parts of the interview on each of your blogs. Fangirl is on my list to read this year. I own ADSOM and I plan to get cracking on that one in the next month or two. I’m so behind. I’m glad this worked out well for both of you. Sounds like you had a lot of fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love reading this post! You two seem to get along really well, but have u two actually met in person? That would be awesome! 😀 I saw some great recommendations in this post so I’ll definitely have to check it out and I just visited some of the blogs you both mentioned above and they’re awesome! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This was so much fun to read!!! I had no idea stuff like that even existed and the answers were so great and it was just generally cool! I am definitely going to head over to Fatima’ post now to read the rest.
    And THANKS SO MUCH FOR MENTIONING ME ❤ YOU ARE ONE OF MY FAVOURITE BLOGGERS TOO!
    Also, can I get in on your squad? So many badasses in there.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Little Peek #8: August 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

