The Song of Orpheus – Give me all of them myths !

Tracy Barrett - The Song of Orpheus

Title : The Song of Orpheus

Author : Tracy Barrett

Publication date : August 1st 2016

Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Genre : Mythology

Synopsis : The Song of Orpheus: The Greatest Greek Myths You Never Heard is a funny, adventure-filled collection of wonderfully weird “new” Greek myths. This unforgettable collection spins tales of love and loss, hilariously vain superheroes, ancient robots, untrappable giant foxes, men reborn after being torn apart by dragons, and even the world’s first monkeys. A few of these tales may seem familiar at first, but be prepared for the unexpected. Others are wonderfully strange and puzzling. All of them are entertaining. All of them deserve to be better known. (From Goodreads)

Rating : 3.5 stars

The Song of Orpheus.png

“The statue I made will be called Truth, and yours will be Falsehood. For Falsehood sometimes manages to start a lie circulating, but without feet, she can’t move very far, whereas Truth will always spread throughout the land.”

*I received an eARC of this book from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*

I think some of you guys already know how big of a Greek Mythology fan I am so when Cindy @ My Bookfile suggested we read The Song of Orpheus for our buddy-read I jumped at the occasion and was thrilled with her choice. So, thank you Cindy for giving me the opportunity to discover a whole new bunch of stories. As she said on her review, this should be a pretty short one because it is for an anthology of myths and it is pretty short itself, barely over 100 pages.

First of all, the writing sucked me in immediately. It is interactive as Orpheus is directly talking to the reader, conversing, commenting on the stories and pointing out ridiculous situations and inconsistencies, but what made it even cooler to me is personal, the way the author wrote the myths felt like how a family friend used to tell me urban legends when I was a kid so it had a familiar and nostalgic vibe to it. Also, what I really appreciated were the little notes and charts at the end of every chapters -as well as at the very end of the book- helping with the understanding of the different people, gods and species because let’s face it there are way too many not to get confused.

The way the myths are recounted is very unique and interesting. The narrator is Orpheus who has a myth of his own, a pretty known one that is. So, in a way, this anthology is 17 myths within a myth because Orpheus has to tell stories to break a curse that was put on him. As much as he is witty and funny, I have a love-hate relationship with him because he just kept wining about missing Eurydice (his wife) and regretting what he did to her, he even sometimes stopped in the middle of myth just to start talking about this again, all I wanted to do is yell “I GET IT! Can we move on now, please” and this took a little from my enjoyment of the myths.

But don’t get me wrong, I loved them! Especially because they were these less known myths so I learnt a lot of new things about Ancient Greece, I didn’t know any of them but one, which was Dionysos’ myth AND it’s one of my favorites so I really didn’t mind finding it in this anthology. All the myths were fun, weird and quick to read, but here’s the thing, they were TOO quick. I would’ve liked more depth and detail because I didn’t get time to immerse properly in the myth before it got cut short and the ending got revealed.

This was a really good read that I would recommend to any Greek Mythology lover. It will succeed in surprising you with new myths, alternate endings, open endings as well as links between different myths that will bring new things to light about stories you already knew, and those lightbulb moments were kind of my favorites as they had me beaming like a stupid person over new pieces added to the never ending Greek Mythology puzzle.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Song of Orpheus? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

12 thoughts on “The Song of Orpheus – Give me all of them myths !

  1. I love Greek Mythology, and this sounds like a potential next read 🙂 Great job with the review, I enjoyed reading. It’s too bad that Orpheus proved to be a tad whiney, as I dislike that in books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review Fadwa! I’m like you a massive fan of Greek mythology so I will definitely be picking this book up, hopefully sometime soon as well. I think it’s an interesting take to have Orpheus as the narrator but it’s a shame he came across as a bit whiny though. I imagine he must have gotten very annoying after a little while. But asides from that it sounds like a great way to learn more about some of the Greek myths I may not know as well as I do my favourite ones! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Little Peek #8: August 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

