Isla and the Happily Ever After – Made my heart melt into a puddle of feels

Stephanie Perkins - (#3) Isla and the Happily Ever After.jpg

Title : Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss #3)

Author : Stephanie Perkins

Publication date : August 14th 2014

Publisher : Dutton Books

Genre : Young Adult | Contemporary

Synopsis : Love ignites in the City That Never Sleeps, but can it last?
Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.
Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.
 

Rating :5 stars

Copy of Word Wonders.png

“People can play dumb all they want, but they always give themselves away in actions. In the small moments, like that.”

(No spoilers)

I WANT TO MARRY THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT IS SO CUTE AND ROMANTIIIIIC xjsks mjorja jsixjgo *-* I was beyond excited for this even before picking it up because Josh was my favorite in Anna and the French Kiss and I just craved more of him, and I had a feeling this would be my favorite out of the 3 books. Turns out I was 100% right ! I’m in leeuve with this book, the romance, the friendship, the main character. EVERYTHING.

What I love about this trilogy is that each book’s writing is tinted with the MC’s own voice, each one has this peculiar feel to it that makes them stand out as their own stories -which they are- and not as a monotonous thread from book 1 to 3. Does that make sense? haha I don’t know, it does in my head so we’ll roll with it. The thing that was hilarious to me and actually made me laugh out loud is a translation thing again. Referring to the receptionist person at a restaurant, the author used “Maître d'” which literally translates to “Master of” MASTER OF WHAT? Sorry ! I had to point it out.

That being said, it wasn’t a real issue because I still adored the book more than words can express. Isla and Josh are honestly waaay up there with my most loved OTPs, I know I ship a lot, but that’s besides the point they’re SO CUTE and everything comes so naturally between them, no bullshit, no unnecessary drama, they were so open about their feelings for each other right from the beginning. It just felt real. Their interactions are really funny and their chemistry palpable.

Can we just take a second to appreciate the fact that there was no one standing between them? This is actually the only book in the trilogy where none of the MCs have a significant other to start with. FINALLY ! I also love how this book portrays young love, it is spot on. At that age, love feels devastating and overwhelming and I coud feel that leak through the pages especially with them trying to manage the long distance and lack of communication means.

Three scenes stuck with me when I finished the book that I need to discuss, or more like pour my feeling out. Don’t worry I won’t spoil anything. Pinky swear.

  • Their first meeting over the summer in Kismet, which was their actually first conversation. ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS. Isla just kept rambling with all her filters down, she honestly was like a stalker haha. But that was an efficient way to break the ice. I loved it. Here’s what was going through her mind : “It’s wide and relieved and reveals a rarely seen pair of dimples. I could live inside those dimples for the rest of my life.”
  • The scene in the car after the Christmas party made me go through all kinds of feelings. At first, it was funny THEN it made me cringe and it ended up breaking my heart. Those insecurities just felt so damn relatable.
  • Last but not least, THE ANNA AND ST CLAIR SCENE. OMAGAAAD!!! It was so overwhelmingly beautiful. My heart definitely did NOT constrict and I most definitely did NOT cry. Na-aah, not at all. That was just the perfect wrap-up -for us- to their love story.

I lived for the Platonic friendship between Isla and Kurt in this book, it was so genuine and just a nice change from the bestfriend secretly having feeling for the MC. Isla’s relationship with Hattie, her little sister, was lovely as well, though it was off to a rocky start, they managed to talk things out and work on growing closer and making their bond stronger.

cvf

I think that since EVER, Isla is the most relatable character to me. I’ve never went “YES THIS !!” when reading about a character. Until now that is. It sometimes hurt reading about her, knowing how close to home it hit, especially when I was 17 too. She’s shy, insecure but still funny and nice and most importantly she was not portrayed to be this little inexperienced flower, she also was not fatalistic about the insecurities and that, I really loved about her.

Josh. OH MY DAMN, JOSH !! Probably my biggest fictional crush ever? Yeah, probably. He’s right up my alley. Sexy, confident but not arrogant about it, as well as smart, funny, artsy and adventurous. PERFECT I TELL YOU !!! He also casually drops little facts he knows about her which always surprises her and shows that he actually care and pays attention. Again, PERFECT.

I liked the little we got to see of the whole crew together but I think it wasn’t enough, I just wanted more of them than just a couple of pages – a night – and then nothing because I just love their friendships. Everyone. And a thing that cracked me up was how Josh described Lola and Cricket as “The Circus”, it was the best description of them EVER. Haha.““The circus,” Josh says, finishing my thought out loud. “It’s like the circus has come to town.””

As a whole, this book stole my heart and melted it into a giant puddle that I am not in a hurry to take back.

P.s: Click on the fanart to be sent to the artist’s page


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Isla and the Happily Ever After? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

15 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After – Made my heart melt into a puddle of feels

  1. It’s been so long since I read this book but after reading your review I want to go grab it off my shelf and reread it! I’m so happy you loved it! The whole trilogy was so cute and amazing and will always be one of my favorites. Great review! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed this book because I’m definitely in love with it ❤ Isla is totally relatable! I remember feeling so insecure of my own relationship and I was like ISLA IS ME! I AM ISLA! 😛 and Josh is just so funny and cool and so passionate with his hobby which made all the more in love with him! Super adorable and I definitely think Stephanie Perkins successfully brings her A game with this story. Best of all 3! Great review 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Little Peek #8: August 2016 | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: TAG #26: The Emoji Book Tag | Word Wonders
  5. Pingback: Most Bestest Books of 2016. Most Bestest English. | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

