Just a Few Inches – Sometimes one “little” mistake is all it takes

Tara St. Pierre - Just a Few Inches.jpg

Title : Just a Few Inches

Author : Tara St. Pierre

Publication date : May 31st 2015

Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Genre : Young Adult | Contemporary (?)

Synopsis : All Carrie Roberts wants is to be a little bit smaller.

To fit into the perfect dress for the Valentine’s Day Dance. To look beautiful for her boyfriend, the school’s star basketball player. To keep his jealous ex-girlfriend, a rival cheerleader, away from him. And to be noticed by her classmates.
Exercising and dieting don’t work, but an advertisement for weight loss pills promises a quicker solution to her problem. As time runs out, she takes more than the recommended dose until she’s just a few inches slimmer. Heads turn when she arrives at the dance, and the wonderful night with her boyfriend is beyond what she dreamed it would be.
Days later, Carrie discovers that her body is changing in ways that should be impossible. While her doctor searches for a cure, she desperately turns to her friends and family for support. Everyone is noticing her now whether she likes it or not, and even the media is intrigued by her incredible story. Getting everything she once wanted has created new problems—problems that are growing more terrifying every day.
Because Carrie Roberts is shrinking.
“Just a Few Inches” is a Young Adult novel that deals with issues of body image, self-esteem, and teenage relationships. It is intended for readers age 13 and up.  

Rating : 4 stars

Word Wonders.png

“Funny how desperation allows you to bend the rules a little bit to suit your own purposes.”

*I received an e-copy of this book from the author in exchange of an honest review*

(No Spoilers)

THIS is what I call a pleasant surprise. Before receiving this book, I saw it going around and getting mainly good reviews and as much as the unique premise intrigued me, I still was shying away from it, scared that it would be some soppy story that would fail to get the message across. But then when I was contacted I thought eeh what the hell? I might as well try it. And I’m SO glad I did, I turned out enjoying it so much that any fear that I had before seemed ridiculous.

To start off, the writing is very simple and easy to follow, and fits the story quite perfectly, balancing all the scientific and medical talk, making it simple to understand. The story is told in first person, from Carrie’s point of view (the MC) and it wouldn’t have worked any other way, the narration also had this kind of remorseful tone to it as it was told as one long chronological flashback, it felt like sitting down with a friend a listening to her crazy adventure during a long period of time out of touch.

Here’s the thing, when picking this book up, I was afraid the shrinking’s explanation would be skimmed over or explained as some “magical” event or something and I was very greatful when it wasn’t. It’s all scientific theories and logical esplanations and very well thought which made the medical student in me very happy. All of this made everything seem so real, everything that was happening to her was so believable and I found myself invested in her fate and caring for her life as everything around her became gradually and increasingly dangerous, which was really interesting, I could slowly see every change happening as it happened, trying to imagine what it would be like to be 4ft , 2ft , 6 inches etc…

Aside from the actual plot line, this book delivers such a strong message. It deals with body image issues that, let’s face it, we’ve all had at some point. I personally have had them a few years back, but since overcoming them I’ve rarely thought about them and this book served as a reminder about what’s going on around me and that I’m not seeing; internal battles that people have, pressure that society puts on people and how far they would go in the hopes of fitting in, which is sad. What happened to Carrie is crazy and what she did to herself was unhealthy and even though I don’t see anyone shrinking anytime soon, young people are doing things as bad if not worse to themselves just because media/society/someone says that they’re not good enough.

By the time this book wrapped up, it not only did so nicely without leaving anything unanswered but it also held a positive message and I loved it all the more for that. It was kind of a fairytale ending but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I started off really annoyed with Carrie because it was just too much self-degradation too soon in the book, but as the story progressed I was tricked into liking her (YES TRICKED !!). She was this really funny, brave and optimistic girl who was always looking up despite shrinking to oblivion. She also drew a good lesson out of her experience and came out of it stronger and more confident out of it. So it wasn’t all bad right?

Can we just talk about the family and friends for a second? They were SO involved. Especially the family. I loved their dynamic, even though Amy started off as a bitch, I liked how her own bad behavior served as a maturing factor, and that little sweet Kylie was so freaking cute despite the fact that, let’s be honest, she went full one dangerous at time,  but she always meant good. Also, how much the mom cared and all her coping mechanisms were very realistic which added a lot to the book’s impact. Also, I was so appreciative of her bestfriends because while being flawed they never failed to be by her side and support her, the friendship was well rounded and relatable.

Overall, I would strongly recommend picking this book up because it was REALLY enjoyable and it is impactful while still being light and funny.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Just a Few Inches? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Just a Few Inches – Sometimes one “little” mistake is all it takes

  1. It’s on my Kindle and I have heard good things about it. I’m so glad to hear the explanation for her height issue has nothing to do with magic, it would have ruined it for me. I’m looking forward to reading it 🙂 great review

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t heard of this one until now! Reading the synopsis I can see how the message could be a good one if done well, which it sounds like it was. I’d be curious to hear how they explain the shrinking, since you said they seem to take a medical take on it! If this one crosses my path I just might have to consider it!

    Ali @ the bandar blog 

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The blurb leaves me quite hesitant because it could go so many ways but your review is so convincing! This book sounds so interesting plot-wise and having a good message and such close friend and family relationships is a great plus! Lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Author Interview: Tara St. Pierre (Just a Few Inches) | Word Wonders
  5. Pingback: Little Peek #9: September 2016 | Word Wonders
  6. Pingback: TAG #23: The Great British Bake-Off Book Tag | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

