The Movie Version – Misleading blurbs should be a Crime

Emma Wunsch - The Movie Version

Title : The Movie Version 

Author : Emma Wunsch

Publication date : October 11th 2016

Publisher : Amulet Books

Genre : Young Adult | Contemporary

Synopsis : In the movie version of Amelia’s life, the roles have always been clear. Her older brother, Toby: definitely the Star. As popular with the stoners as he is with the cheerleaders, Toby is someone you’d pay ten bucks to watch sweep Battle of the Bands and build a “beach party” in the bathroom. As for Amelia? She’s Toby Anderson’s Younger Sister. She’s perfectly happy to watch Toby’s hijinks from the sidelines, when she’s not engrossed in one of her elaborately themed Netflix movie marathons.

But recently Toby’s been acting in a very non-movie-version way. He’s stopped hanging out with his horde of friends and started obsessively journaling and disappearing for days at a time. Amelia doesn’t know what’s happened to her awesome older brother, or who this strange actor is that’s taken his place. And there’s someone else pulling at her attention: a smart, cute new boyfriend who wants to know the real Amelia—not Toby’s Sidekick. Amelia feels adrift without her star, but to best help Toby—and herself—it might be time to cast a new role: Amelia Anderson, leading lady.

Rating: 2 stars

word-wonders

 “- What’s the movie version?

– It’s the better vesrsion”

*I was provided an e-Arc of this book by the publishers through Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*

(No Spoilers)

What I was led to believe -and actually believed- and what this book actually was are 2 things on different ends of a spectrum, which in this case was a big issue. When I read the blurb for this book and requested it I expected to read a fun, cute contemporary with a strong sibling bond as well as a little romance maybe? What I got was a book about mental illness. And not the kind I like.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind reading about mental illness, I even like books tackling the matter when they’re done right but the problem with this book is that it wasn’t announced. Some people may want to steer clear from these books because of their own reasons and they have the right to a heads up. Now that this is out of the way, let’s start the actual review.

I really liked the writing style. It is simple and easy to follow. It might not be to everyone’s taste but I appreciated how different it is. It is blunt and explicit, everything is just put the way is actually is. You know how in most YAs sex scenes are brushed over or are written in this overly romanticized way (especially first times)? Well this is not like that. At all. I know some people might say that this is YA so it shouldn’t be like that but let’s be honest every young adult now knows how these things go and this actually shows sex as something that can be awkward and it doesn’t always work out the way it’s imagined to be, and I want to thank the author for that. I also liked how many movie references were included in the book, they were EVERYWHERE and even though I didn’t get some of them, I enjoyed them nonetheless.

Sadly, this was one of the only things I liked. The story in itself made me cringe endless amounts of times and it was very depressing. Though, not because of the mental illness itself, it was because of the Main character’s outlook on things. Her reaction to her brother -Toby-‘s diagnosis is basically everything I wouldn’t want to see in a book, nor in real life for that matter. Amelia’s initial shock was to be expected and understood but then it dragged on forever and she was so fatalistic about it that it truly felt like the guy had died. Add to that the fact that the romance was weird and had no real chemistry, it felt like it had no business being there, I would’ve liked it better if there was no love interest. This book was sadly not for me.

Amelia is as dull as a main character as they come, she was passive and lacked personality and reading from her voice often felt gloomy and boring, I didn’t like her right off the bat but when she turned selfish, self-centered and ASHAMED I just couldn’t stand her, she was actually embarrassed of how her brother’s illness affected him and kept saying over and over again “I wish people knew how cool he was before” and she also endangered him many times making excuses for herself and actually BELIEVING that she was “protecting” him.

What bothered me even more is that once the diagnosis was made all Toby was defined as is mentally ill (I won’t say what the illness is because it may be considered a spoiler). He wasn’t this fun, cool guy who’s mental illness made things difficult for him. No. He was this ill person that once was all those things. And that, my friends, is wrong.

The other aspect of this book I really enjoyed is the family. It felt real, I liked how close they were (especially Amelia and Toby before) and how they loved each other deeply but could be at each other’s throats as easily. I loved the little twin brothers a little more than the rest because they were these two innocent tornados that actually made me smile more than ones with their fights and all.

All in all, this wasn’t a book for me because I felt like it dealt with mental illness in all the wrong ways.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Movie Version? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

13 thoughts on “The Movie Version – Misleading blurbs should be a Crime

  1. One of the rants I received for my rant contest is for this book. I’m not hearing good things about it anywhere I look. This doesn’t seem anything like what I’d enjoy. I like books that deal with mental illness when they’re handled properly.

    Like

  2. You already know how I felt about this book but YES I hated how she acted so ashamed of Toby or acted like he had died. I couldn’t stand that and wanted to DNF it one point because of that. The romance really was incredibly awkward and I kind of wish it was erased out of the whole book haha. Like you, I enjoyed the family aspect though and I really adored her little brothers as well. But yes the mental illness aspect of the book really wasn’t handled well at all. Great review!

    Like

  3. Great review! I really hate it when blurbs are misleading! Blurbs a lot of the time, get me so absoloutely pumped to read a book! And I agree with the mental illness issue – a lot of people might find themselves uncomfortable/unable to read some issues and so it’s really irresponsible to leave something like that out. I do tend to read books with mental illness and I think it’s great when books address issues that real people face but it has to be done appropriately! It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy this book all too much! Wonderful review (as always <3)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 😊
      YES! That’s the case for me too and when I get excited for a thing and get another well.. let’s just say it’s anticlimactic.
      Exactly ! Some people can be too sensitive and it might trigger them in a way of another!
      Me too, I think it is important to be well informed of everything around us but then again we should be given the correct information !
      Yeaah.. but it’s okay.
      You’re so sweet 😙

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Little Peek #9: September 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

