Reading/Blogging while drowning under School Work: A guide.

Hello guys !

By now, all of us have gotten back to school/college and things are starting to get serious. If you’re managing to do everything you want to do, keep-up with school AND not be stressed about it, GOOD FOR YOU (and also, I’m sure you don’t exist). I’m admirative and I’ll forever strive to be like you. I know last year was rough for me, I had a LOT of classes, I wasn’t organized and didn’t keep up with my lessons either because I was exhausted or because I procrastinated and let reading, blogging and everything else come first. So when I had to prepare for my exams it was one of the most traumatizing things I’ve ever experienced, I’m not even kidding, and despite the fact that I passed all my classes with no hick-ups, I promised myself never to do that again.

Reading-Blogging while drowning.png

What do I do and how do I do it? I spent quite sometime thinking up ways to balance everything and minimize the stress (because let’s face it, I will never get rid of it) and even though I still haven’t tested all these things for long, I still decided to share them. They may be of help to some of you. It will be a mix between studying/blogging/reading.

v1

I have no idea what I would do if I didn’t have a daily to-do list to work with. I would probably do nothing and freak-out, which is an art I mastered last year. This not only keeps you organized but it also gives you a goal to work toward, which is quite motivational. To me anyway. Being able to tick off each task as I do it has proven to give me quite a kick when I need it. So I’d suggest doing that. Having a planner, to-do lists and the like.

v2

I know that EVERYONE says that scheduling is the key but it’s like a myth to most of us. It used to be one to me up until recently when I realized that I can’t keep up with having my internship the morning, classes until 6 p.m., reading, working-out, socializing AND blogging everyday. I just can’t. And yes, I like to do a lot of things and I’m not giving up on anything anytime soon, so I found that this works best for me. I have an overview of my month’s posts and I write them up whenever I have sometimes which is generally on the weekends. Luckily this September, I have a week’s worth of holiday in which I wrote all of the month’s posts (this one included). Crazy, I know. I reached a level of organization I didn’t think myself capable of.

v3.png

This can be pretty helpful too. If you get a post idea when you can’t reach your laptop, put it on your phone right away, pour out everything that comes to mind on the topic right there and then so it’ll be easier to flush out and edit before posting. God knows how many ideas I’ve forgotten just because I got them at the wrong time and also because I never thought of using my phone to draft posts.

v4

This is a BIG one. It takes me quite sometime to make graphics from scratch, valuable time that I could be using on my school work, reading or even scheduling another post. So, by having premade graphics, it only takes me 2 minutes to change the background and/or text before using in my new post. I have my templates set for every kind of post I have and that definitely has made my post writing and editing process go by smoother.

v5

I know some people say “I am not a night reader” but if you train yourself, of course you can do it! To be honest, I’ve always done all my reading at night so it comes naturally to me. But if you don’t read at night and are not willing to try, you won’t get much reading done (unless you spend a decent amount of time in common transportations) because between all the other things, to most of us, night time is the only free time. That is why I dedicate at least 30 minutes of my time every night (which turns into 2 hours but shhh!!) to read. Plus, it’s better than to spend the night staring at a screen, scrolling to endless pages in social media – Don’t deny it, we’ve all done it.

v12

The teacher/professor is late to class? Read. You’re waiting for your friend to join you? Read. You’re waiting for your lunch order? Read. You’re in your doctor’s waiting room? Read. Waiting for your train/bus/bicycle/helicopter/camel? Read. You’ve got it, any spare time is an excuse to pick up that book where you left it off. May it be 10min, 20min or an hour. Just do it. Think of it for a second, if you have little breaks of 10min 4 or 5 times a day (which is average) by the time you get home you would have read 40 to 50 min which depending on your reading speed can make for 50 to 100 pages. Doesn’t seem so short now, does it?

v6

What I mean by that is to pick up the books you most excited about first. Ain’t nobody got time for meeh books. This way, you’re less likely to waste precious time because you’re less likely to dislike the book. Simple logic.

v7

Seems obvious, right? But how many of us actually do this? Probably 0.1% (Clearly making that up). The thing is we usually do school work when we’re pressed by time or just when we feel like it, and we almost never feel like it. So, dedicating, let’s say… 2 hours everyday to read through your notes and search for things you didn’t understand, start working on that essay that’s due in a comfortable amount of time, should be mendatory because it will make sucha huge difference in time and stress management. You’ll thank me later.

v8

This one’s my favorite to be honest. I’m that girl who has fun taking notes and making them pretty and colorful. I don’t know any other way. When I tried to study straight from the books, I struggled A LOT because not all of the information registered into my brain and I ended up redoing the same chapters more times than necessary. Plus, it has been proven that writing things helps with memorizing them, which means it’ll take you less time once you want to go over the chapters. And I SAY that having pops of color helps even more. AND since they are YOUR notes, they will have your own writing and thinking style to them which will be more familiar to you thus making it easier to retain.

v9

I’m guilty. You’re guilty. The neighbor’s guilty. The neighbor’s dog’s guilty. You got it, we all to this more often than not. That essay is due in a month? “I’ll do it in the last week” and then the last day comes by and you have to scribble down some mediocre thing that isn’t worthy of you, dropping your grades and making you have to work harder. If you refer to 8, you should be set to write a great essay and even have some time to spare. Same thing goes for blogging, winging a post in a rush will make for an average or even a less than average post, so if you have enough time on the posting day then that’s fine but if you have 30 minutes to scramble something together, then believe me, you’re better off without.

v10

This applies to EVERYTHING. Focus on studying one or two chapters a day and getting the most out of them instead of just rushing through 6 chapters and getting next to nothing stamped into your brain. This goes for the number of posts you do per week as well as the books you read. I know we sometimes get caught up in the amount of books we read, when we see how many some people are able to go through in one month (Read: 15-20) that makes us want to do the same, even if that means we don’t enjoy the story the way we should and that kind of competition can also make us neglect some other priorities and responsibilities to others, but primarily to ourselves.

v11

I can hear you saying “WHAT?” from here, followed by “What’s that gotta do with studying and reading?” but hear me out for a second. I must say that I love working out and that I do so 3+ times a week for 1hour or so but that’s not what I’m asking you to do here, because I know some people don’t like it and I’m not here to make you do anything. What I mean is, you should try to go for walks, just for 30 minutes and you’ll see a difference in your focus and energy levels. Sometimes we tire our brains to fry and keep on going nonetheless, which is useless because once your brain shuts down there’s no use in trying to do anything. When that happens get out of the house, get on that bike that has been sitting around for years, do some yoga, try some dance classes or any other physical activity you think you’d enjoy. It also helps immensely with stress management, to me, that’s the only thing that works and it is also scientifically proven because the body releases hormones that reduce stress and make the brain more alert.

Well that was a lengthy post, but I hope you enjoyed it and could get some use out of it.


That’s it until next time.

Do you do any of these? If not, what are some tips and tricks you apply on a day to day basis?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “Reading/Blogging while drowning under School Work: A guide.

    • Hahah it’s okay! You’ll see that with time and when you find what works best for you writing and editing post will take waaaay less time than in the beginning ! 😄
      Yes! To me that’s a life saver ! Because it is impossible for me to write posts outside the weekends.

      Like

  1. I use a planner to keep track of everything. If I only rely on my memory, a hundred things will be forgotten! Uni will start in two weeks for me and I’m dreading it a little. So far I was working and blogging, I managed to find a nice balance, but studying will require so much more time than work ever did…! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I admire all bloggers who do this while a student. I could NEVER have managed that! Heck, I struggle with it just working a full-time job, but at least I don’t come home and have homework to do! Bravo to you for being an awesome multi-tasker!

    Like

  3. These are great tips, thank you for sharing this! I always schedule my post and right now I’m trying to schedule as much as I can since soon adulting is going to take up all of my time and I have no idea how I will be able to blog, comment on other blogs, read, live, and sleep. I have NO idea how that will be possible haha. great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great advice, Fatima! I’m not in school, but I try to do all of the things on your list. I have posts scheduled from now until December. And I also am a big fan of reading at night. If I didn’t read in bed at night, there would be some days I wouldn’t read at all.

    Like

    • You mixed up names 😂 (it’s alright)
      This is another one of your comments I found in the spams hahaha
      Wooow that’s awesome! I’m definitely not there yet, now that September’s over I just schedule the week’s posts the weekend before.
      If I didn’t read at night I don’t think I’d be able to read anything haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, no! I’m so sorry. I knew I was typing to you. My phone does that thing where it remembers names and words and changes them. It must’ve done that without me realizing. I’m still in spam. 😂 I think you have to mark them not spam and also click approve after that to get them out of spam. That’s what I had to do before with other bloggers. I just moved to another state, so I planned out two weeks worth of scheduled posts just in case I wouldn’t have time. I love having so many done in advance. It’s nice. I have to read at night, too. I don’t get much of it done in the daytime.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It really is okay haha! Autocorrect can be a nasty thing 😂
        Yeah that’s what I do too, I moved it from spam and then approved it.
        Oh I know moving can be stressful so you don’t need to add up posting stress to that. You did a wise thing haha!
        Yeah! I loved having everything scheduled for September at the beginning of the month.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It changes words on me all the time. Sometimes I have to read my comment 3 times. That’s a really good plan. I’m trying to write as many reviews as I can ahead of time. It’s so much less stressful. I doubt you need any added stress with school. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. These are all awesome tips, and I agree with most of them! Planning ahead is definitely helpful, and I’ve recently started drafting things on my phone (because ofc I can’t carry my laptop everywhere) and it just helps a lot. TOTALLY agree with reading in your waiting time, because that is literally the only way you can get any amount of reading done what with school being so hectic. My friends get super-irritated sometimes but then, your next point comes in, prioritize. Sometimes choose your books and sometimes your friends. Also, choosing quality over quantity is so important, and getting to the books you really want/need to is of utmost importance too. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you agree 😊
      Since I started reading in my waiting time I have been reading at least 30 pages more a day which is really awesome !
      I actually don’t know how I do it but I have time for friends AND time for books, but I think that that’s why I don’t read as much as other people. I care way too much about my friends and family to neglect them.
      Thank you 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I KNOW that those are exactly the sensible kind of tips that I am supposed to follow during a stressful work week, but even though my brain is fully aware of that, I just can’t muster up the discipline to actually follow any kind of plan hahaha I am the worst procrastinator during my days off. I seriously just watched a season of cake wars for no other reason than to pass time and get hungry.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love this post! Even though I am not in school anymore, many of these “rules” still apply. Drafting on your phone is a brilliant idea and I will definitely be implementing in my own blogging, thanks for the tip. I think many people don’t realize how important physical activity is for our well being. It has positive effects both physically, AND mentally. I love to work out too, but that hasn’t always been the case. When I can, I like to multitask and read WHILE I work out by listening to audiobooks while on the treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, etc etc. It definitely makes the time go by faster when I am engrossed in a good book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That makes me so happy 😊
      Yeah they do apply to everyone because we all have busy lives to some extent ! I’m glad they are helpful.
      Riiight? I really enjoy working out so much 😍 I’ve never tried that because I don’t like audiobooks that much so it wouldn’t work for me :/

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you think so 😊
      Oh yes! I LOVE Yoga, it really is one of my favorite things to relax and to do lists make stress so much more manageable.
      I just started doing that this month and it works wonders! Not months in advance though. Just do the week’s posts the weekend before and that works fine, that’s what I intend to do from now on.
      Ooh thanks for the app, I’ll check it out 😘

      Like

  8. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: September 2016 – reading and reviews
  9. Pingback: Little Peek #9: September 2016 | Word Wonders
  10. Pingback: September Wrap Up || October TBR (2016) – She Latitude
  11. This is a fantastically helpful post!
    I’m guilty of so many bad school habits… And I really want to start working out, but everything is just overwhelming (plus I end up gaming or reading in that spare time instead of working out…)
    I’ve tried getting myself to do some of these great tips in the past, but I think it’ll finally happen this semester due to my college senior seminar class and all it’s PAPERS kicking my butt. I need to get one of those cheap white board calendars to plan and make checklists. *le sigh*
    Nice job on this!

    Like

  12. Great tips! 😀 I personally found that planning helps. I have this blogging notebook where I keep all my post ideas and then I schedule my posts with google calendar. It helps to have a post ready to post when I don’t have the time. But sometimes I feel guilty publishing a post without replying to comments/blog hopping first 😛 having a template for graphic is super important! I’ve been doing it for months and it saves a lot of time ❤ great post Fadwa! Keep up the good work of balancing everything 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I’m glad you think so 😄
      I have one of those too !! I actually have 2, one is for my reviews the other for post ideas and I schedule with a google sheet.
      Exaclty !! But what I do is write my posts on the weekends and then bloghop right after that and I go through my comments whenever I can but that has proven to be not very often lately 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nahhh the best I can do lately is to visit back those bloggers who comment on my posts and comment back on their post. I haven’t really had the chance to go to my readers feed, let alone my bloglovin feed 😛 but I’m trying to blog as efficiently as possible! lol

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: What Makes People Come Back to a Blog ? | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

