Top 5 Wednesday #16: Read the Book, Love the Genre

Hello guys !T5W

So today is Wednesday, this means that it is time for me to do another T5W.  It is a weekly feature created By Lainey @ Gingerreadslainey with a different theme each week. It is hosted now by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. For more information, you can check the Goodreads group.

This week’s theme is: GATEWAY BOOKS TO YOUR FAVORITE GENRES

I’m finally FINALLY posting another T5W, it has been a long time. 3 months to be precise (wait what?). You all know my reasons for that and if you don’t, here they are. Anyway. You know when a person asks for a recommendation to get into a certain genre and you just have a book or 2 you just want to throw at their faces, yeah, I thought so! Then, this is what this week is all about. And you know me, I can’t resist a cry for help -or recommendations. As you may or may not know, my 3 favorite genre are Fantasy, Contemporary and Historical fiction so here are my books/series:

(Image = Goodreads)

FANTASY:

SHADES OF MAGIC – V. E. SCHWAB

 

Duuuuh!! I’ll shove this series at anyone who mentions fantasy because this is the obvious choice to trick anyone into falling in love with it. There’s magic, thieves, princes, alternate universe, fights, what more can you ask for? It’s the perfect mix between all the elements that make a good fantasy series and this one is phenomenal. GO READ IT!

CONTEMPORARY

I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN – JANDY NELSON

Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You the Sun

You were expecting this one, weren’t you? There’s no way I could be more predictable than this, but you know me, and you know how much I adore this book. The unique writing, the adorable characters, the family drama, the feel good ending are everything I love in a book and I’d love everyone to read it so that I can rave with a maximum amount of people. OH!! AND THERE’S A BRITISH GUY !

THE MESSENGER – MARKUS ZUSAK

Markus Suzak - I Am the Messenger

This a whole other kind of contemporary. This is a slightly darker, more settle kind as the characters are very banal, the routine almost boring but it has a kind of mystery that keeps you going until the end. There’s a moral to get out of it all and I loved it even more for that specific reason.

HISTORICAL FICTION

THE BOOK THIEF – MARKUS ZUSAK

Markus Suzak - The Book Thief

Keeping up with the predictablity theme, this is one I think you saw coming. I recommend this book because that’s the one that got me into this genre in the first place so I want people to experience that same feeling. Especially of you people like the WWII period. Highly HIGHLY recommend.

WOLF BY WOLF – RYAN GRAUDIN

 

Can you tell WWII is my favorite to read about? Well, it is and even though this is alternate historical fiction, it still has the facts straight so it does count. And it also answers the question: “What if Hitler had one?” While I say that we’ll be in deep shit, this book while give you a more elaborate, detailed view on that.


That’s it until next time.

What is your favorite genre? What books would you recommend to anyone wanting to read more of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                         logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #16: Read the Book, Love the Genre

  1. Most of these are on my TBR! I need to especially read ADSOM and The Book Theif because I’ve heard only the greatest things coming out of these! I completely agree with your contempory choice because I’ll Give You the Sun is just SO ON POINT! Love your list! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Little Peek #9: September 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

