Little Peek #9: September 2016

Hello guys !

This month was such a slow/hectic/messy/I-don’t-know-what-I’m-doing-anymore month for me. School started which meant the internship, which meant crazy schedule which meant I have barely been around the community for the last couple of weeks.But I’m tryinh guys! I really am. You know how it is widely known that medstudents are prone to depression? Funny story is that the head of  Emergency general surgery (the departement I’m currently working in) said that we’re all bound to break down at some point or another and if we don’t it means we do not care enough. When I say funny, I mean it wasn’t funny at all and that it’s scary. Well, now that that’s out of the way I want to say that I’m fine -for now- but very exhausted and at the time this post goes up I am at the hospital for a 12 hours shift.

september-2016

This month was a good reading month considering everything. I managed to read 6 books out of the 7 that were on my TBR. The only one I didn’t get to is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows and I’m actually glad because I’m not ready for it to end. I’m leaving that one until November hehe. The review copies I received this month were all really good books which really surprised me because until this month none of the ones I received impressed me.

1

(Click on the titles to be redirected to the Goodreads page)

All the Harry Potter books  5 stars

It is Harry Potter, so it deserves all the stars in the galaxy and beyond. HP is love. HP is life.

Just a Few Inches 4 stars

This book deals with body image issues in such a unique and creative way that I think more people should read it. It also comes out with a positive message about body-positivity and confidence that a lot of youth would do with hearing/reading.

The Marauders’ Island 4 stars

Looking for diversity? Read this book. Looking for kick-ass pirates and treasure hunts? Read this book. Looking for cool magic. Read it. Read it. Read it. I really enjoyed the story as well as the writing and I want you to get this book as soon as it is out. DO IT.

When the Moon was Ours 5 stars

Holy Mother of Magical Realism !!! I am so in love with this book. The story is heartbreaking and beautiful. The characters are all very real and loveable and I just can’t rave enough about it. You should read it for yourself to understand what I am rambling about.

Iron Cast 3.5 stars

Oh my poor little heart !! This book played with my head so much that I didn’t know who trust anymore. SO MUCH BETRAYAL!! One thing that I really loved though is how it is centered around best friends! But I had some issues with it thay I’ll explain in next week’s review.

2

(Click on the titles to be redirected to the review)

3

Oh! Before you leave I want to talk to you guys about a program I registered for in September. It is the Book Review Program that was launched recently by Socialbookco.com which is a site where you can compare book prices from different retailers, and it can come very handy if you ask me when you’re trying to save up as much money as you can to buy even MORE books (duuh!!). Anyway. When you register and get approved you can either request books that are already available or you have a wish list of 5 books from which they can send you in exchange of an honest review. I REALLY suck at explaining things but you can check out the website and get more information/register if you’re interested. I really loved the idea and thought why not share it so more people can benefit from it.


That’s it until next time.

What books did you read in September ? And what have been the Highlights of your month ?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

17 thoughts on “Little Peek #9: September 2016

  1. It looks like you read some great books this month! The Iron Cast sounds really intriguing based off of your blurb, so I’ll go ahead and check out the review to see more. (:

    I’ve been working on Harry Potter, as well! It’s impressive that you were able to get through both OotP & HBP while going through med school! How do you manage it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I did! They really surprised me to be honest 😊 It will be up next Friday if you want to keep and eye out for it!
      HP is a reread for me, it is my favorite series ever ! Well, to be honest ut can be rough at times to do everything and sometimes I just feel like running away haha but at the end of the day my career AND reading are both things that I love endlessly so I wouldn’t have it any other way 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Of course, Harry Potter gets 5 stars! 😜 Love Harry and the gang! I read Just A Few Inches months ago. I also liked the book. And Iron Cast is a book I’ve been paying a lot of attention to lately. I love that cover! Art Deco and the 20’s is my favorite! It sounds like an awesome book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t imagine how stressful it is to be working at a hospital. I’m sure you’ll be able to handle everything, but don’t forget to take care of yourself too ♥♥ I can’t wait to read When the Moon was Ours!! It sounds so good. I have an ARC of Iron Cast so I can’t wait to see your review for it. I’ll definitely be checking out that program too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re totally right ❤ I usually take a break from everything when it gets overwhelming because it is important to take a step back sometimes before burning out!
      Yes and I can’t wait for you to read it !! 😍
      I didn’t love Iron Cast per say but it was still a fun read and my review will be up friday 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. How on earth do you manage to get so much done? Also: a twelve-hour shift? I’m pretty sure I would die. I’m glad you’re made of stronger stuff than me! Best of luck with all your new responsibilities, and I hope you enjoy the experience (as much as one can reasonably expect, at least).

    Adding The Marauders’ Island to my TBR! Hadn’t heard of it before, but I’m definitely intrigued. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Little Peek #10: October 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

