Award #12: How it All began and How to make it Last !

Hello guys !

I don’t think I ever told you about my story with the bookish community or how I joined it. Mainly because it is not that fascinating of a story and it is pretty common to a lot of bloggers/booktubers, but here we are today with an award done specifically for that, so I thought why the hell not bore you to sleep with that little story of mine in the Blogger Recognition Award. I was tagged by Kate @ The Nerdy Novelty who’s a new blogger (she already has an amazing blog) so go over there and show her some love, as well as Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews whom you should definitely check out too because she’s awesome !!

Recognition.png

The rules :

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

How my Blog started

So, allow me to take you back a little bit, to the start of this year, more precisely the end of January 2016. Throughout the whole year of 2015, I have been in and out of a reading slump which means that I did little to no reading. If I remember correctly, I didn’t even read 10 books last year but by th end of it, I got that urge to read EVERYTHING but I knew that if I didn’t commit to it, that urge would go away and with it my chance to read anything.

Now, I’m not one to make any New Year’s resolutions but for this, I felt like I needed some goal to work toward, some extra motivation to keep me on track so I decided that I’d make it a “resolution” to read 2 books a month, which, to my surprise, I surpassed. I not only doubled or tripled it, I actually read 8 books that month. I was SO proud of myself, because at that point I had never read so many books in a month.

In parallel with that, I had been following booktube channels for a couple of years and even though I was in a reading slump,  I still watched them hoping it would kick start my reading again. So when I got my mojo back, I started looking for blogs to get some book recommendations from, which I found, A LOT OF THEM. I’m sure you know how it goes haha. With my reading, came this need to share my thoughts about the books I read. SO MANY FEELS YOU GUYS!!!

So, I started wondering if I could do the same and start a blog of my own, if I could manage it, if I would have enough things to say to begin with, etc… and as January passed these thoughts of mine became more present until one night with my parents out of town, I got my laptop out and wrote my first review ever, which was for The Martian as well as a couple other posts just to test myself. And I realized that I DID have things to say and even though I didn’t know if anyone would be interested, I mainly wanted a place to come back to whenever I think about a book I read.

That, my friends, is how Word Wonders was born.

Advice for the new and not-so new

Interact. Interact. INTERACT. I can never stress this enough, but it is crucial to get yourself out there and known of other bookbloggers. Like posts. Leave comments. Participate in tags. Chat on Twitter. Whatever it is as long as you make yourself an ACTIVE part of the community. I know it can seem intimidating, believe me, I’ve been there not that long ago but I promise we don’t bite, we can be pretty nice if approached with care, just give us books and food and we’ll love you forever. More seriously though, as I said, I know it is easier said than done but it is actually easily done too. I must admit it took me a little while to comment on blogs but once you hit the enter button that first time, the rest is history. Plus, it can only be positive. You get awesome friendships out of it.

Don’t stress about it. At the end of the day, blogging is your HOBBY (unless you monetize it,, which is completely fine too) so it means that it is something you do for fun and to escape the stress of your daily life, so it would be silly to get worked up over it too. I know we can get caught up in stats, drama, schedules and what not sometimes but it is good in those moments to distance yourself and remember that there is no pressure to do anything. You CAN skip posting if you’re too busy or just don’t feel like it, you CAN disapear for a little while if you need it. This is YOUR space, you can do whatever floats your boat with it.

With this, comes the end of this very rambly award.

My Nominees:

I think that most people have done this one, so if YOU haven’t, feel free to do it. I would love to read your blogging story and some of the advice you’d give. Just make sure to leave a link, or pingback to this post.


That’s it until next time.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                         logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

22 thoughts on “Award #12: How it All began and How to make it Last !

  1. This is SUCH a great post my twinnie and I am SO happy to hear about how you first started this whole adventure ❤ Couldn't imagine blogging without you ❤ And thank you for the reminder about blogging and having fun, haha, it's always great to think about why we are doing this and not stress out about it too much ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the story of how you started your blog! Also, your advice too. Interaction is definitely important. I really struggled with it at first, I sometimes still do, but I’m glad I got up the courage to comment otherwise I wouldn’t have met all the lovely bloggers I talk to now. And I feel like your second point is so important. I ended up quitting the first book blog I had because I felt pressured to post and be on constantly. It was nice getting back into it and realizing that I wasn’t required to do it every day and that it should just be a fun stress free hobby. Great post and congrats on the award! 😊♥

    Like

  3. I love this so, so much. I always find the story of how people started their blogs so interesting. I’m super, super happy that we both decided to venture in this blogging journey. Fantastic advice too, Fadwa. Interacting with other bloggers & not putting too much pressure on yourself is so important. I love blogging and I don’t want that to change so whenever I feel myself getting burned out I take a step back and it always helps so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ❤❤❤
      I do too actually, because it sometimes comes from the simplest things!
      Oh and yeah me too 😄 I think this is one of the best decisions we made !!
      Yes exactly ! I don’t see myself giving up on blogging anytime soon and taking a step back is definitely a must to prevent that from happening

      Like

  4. Pingback: Little Peek #10: October 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

