Iron Cast – Or the Reason behind my Trust Issues

destiny-soria-iron-castTitle : Iron Cast

Author : Destiny Soria

Publication date : October 11th 2016

Publisher : Amulet Books

Genre : Young Adult | Fantasy – Historical Fiction

Synopsis : It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn. 

Rating: 3.5 stars

Iron Cast.png

 

“She felt like the world was falling in on itself. Like Something nameless had splintered Inside her. She felt like she had when Gabriel had locked that door, when the first few notes of Ada’s song had wrapped around her mind. She felt broken.”

*I was provided an e-Arc of this book by the publishers through Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*

(No Spoilers)

You know how Historical Fiction and Fantasy are two of my favorite genres, right? So, just combine the two and I come running. That is exactly what happened here. Especially since this book’s era is one I have been meaning to read more from. I thouroughly enjoyed the concept and reading about the issues this books deals with, and can we talk about that cover for a second, HOW GORGEOUS IS IT? I must admit that this was a cover pick above all for me #Shallowlikethat and then the synopsis pulled me in even more.

The writing is something very settle, it is not something that would strike you or sweep you off of your feet but it is still beautiful in its own way and quite easy to keep up with. The story is written in Dual POV from both our two MCs perspectives, two girls who happen to be best friends. One of the problems that I had is that even though they have distinct personnalities, their voices were quite similar, which made me go back and look for the character’s name to situate myself in the story, and that kind of annoyed me because it kind of disturbed the reading flow.

The idea behind the story is unique and I really loved it. What it is, is that some people called “hemopaths” have a blood sickness that makes them “allergic” to iron, but on the flip side that also gives them certain powers, ART RELATED POWERS! How cool is that? There are wordsmiths, songsmiths, thespian (shapeshifters) and artists, and each one is details and has specific things that they can do which means that the magic side of things was well studied, but what I would’ve liked is for the sickness side to be that detailed too. What activates it for the first time? or at least, what are the exact symptoms? Because all it kept saying is “When the symptoms first appeared”, WHAT ARE THE DAMN SYMPTOMS? Okay, moving on.

As I said before I loved the premise and it started with a bang. A cool evasion from an Asylum. When you give me that from the start, you set the bar really high for yourself because I expect everything that follows to be head spinning and intense, and don’t get me wrong I got some intense scenes, twists and turns and betrayal that took me off guard more than once and OH MY GOD!! THIS is why I have trust issues! You don’t do that to my heart, please!! But then again, that didn’t happen until the last 100 pages of the book. Before that, there wasn’t much happening. It wasn’t boring per say, but it did catch my attention enough to keep me coming back for more, the curiosity that had me enthousiastic in the beginning kept gradually fading, which I think explains why it took me more time that usual to read less than 400 pages. I loved the ending though. It wasn’t the perfect fairytale ending, it was kind of a compromise between what’s lost and what’s gained, and some of it was left to the reader’s imagination, which in this case, is well done.

Question: Does anyone know if this is a going to be a series?

Another thing that I really appreciated is how “Iron Cast” deals with the racism that was such a normalized thing back then. But it did so in a subtle way, it wasn’t thrown at my face and it didn’t take centre stage. It was there, and I was aware of it.

Moving on to the characters. I didn’t particularly love them but I didn’t despise them either. They were alright and served their purpose. Corinne is not a nice person, as she likes to put it. She is blunt and can be rude at times -most of the time- but she is caring and passionate about her community, she has a leader kind of profile even though she can make reckless decision. On the other hand Ada is the voice of reason, she counterbalances Corinne’s temper, calling her out when she’s crossing a line. What I loved most about these girls is their relationship. I admired their blind faith in each other and how they always had each other’s backs. This is what female friendships should be represented as, take notes, people!

There’s also romance but here again it didn’t take over the plot, it was in the background with some stolen moments, little breaks from the main story. What I liked about it is that it was flawed and kept real. Not these rainbows and sunshines that solve all the problems.

Overall I really liked this book and would recommend it for its unique kind of magic. Oh! And bonus points for the Victor Hugo poem thrown in there. It is actually my favorite and I had a little fangirling moment when I read it.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Iron Cast? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

17 thoughts on “Iron Cast – Or the Reason behind my Trust Issues

  1. The problem you had with the sickness not being explored properly, was an iddue I had with This Savage Song, because they didn’t explain the creation of the monsters properly. It didn’t make the book terrible, but stuff like that still nags at you for a while. Great review 😁

    Liked by 1 person

      • I gave This Savage Song 5 stars hahaha it’s mostly because August is my precious baby and I love him beyond any other character I have gotten to know this year (I always tell myself that until I remember that I only discovered Red Rising this year and then I need to reevaluate again).

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know you did! I kind of stalk you a little bit hahahaha I hope to pick up the book in November, I’m so excited for it!
        Hahahaha! I know that Red Rising is like your ultimate series and I still have to read that too. DAMN IT!

        Liked by 1 person

      • This is the year in which I ventured into more gory books and TV shows and I found I didn’t hate them. It’s still my least favourite part about the Red Rising series, but *swoon*. They gave me so many feels! (Totally just picked those books up because I fancied Pierce though, not gonna lie, it was worth it)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I read Iron Cast in August, and my review comes out Monday – it really hit the mark for me! I think if it had all been as intense drama as the beginning and ending, I would have actually exploded. I’m glad you read this!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh this sounds super interesting! Although I am a lot but skeptical since a very similar loss of interest happened when I was reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. The thrill of getting to know what the heck is happening eventually turned into “I just wanna finish the damn book” ahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “WHAT ARE THE DAMN SYMPTOMS?”

    Ahaha, YES. I haven’t even read the book and I feel this so hard.

    The book sounds really neat, but judging from your experience, it looks safe for me to put off reading it for a while. I’ll have to reread this review when I eventually get around to picking up the book. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Little Peek #10: October 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

