Little Peek #10: October 2016

Hello guys !

Consider this month an extension of last haha. But a little worse/better. I’m even busier ANd better at managing my time than I was last month. I’m struggling a lot to find time to blog because now even my weekends are busy with various things BUT I still manage because I refuse to give it up or take a break yet, I just love it too much. Though commenting Wise, aside from the weekends, I suck. and I also spend my afternoons more often than not at the hospital, hello more opportunities because bye-bye most medstudents *evil laugh*  which leads me to something REALLY exciting that happened last week and which you might have seen on Twitter: I SCRUBED IN WITH THE SURGEONS LAST THURSDAY AAAH!!! I’ve been to the OR a lot of times but I never scrubed in until I was roaming around that day when a resident I know saw me and asked me to. It was SO exciting to get to handle tools and feel useful, I even got to help doing the stitches when we were closing up. I SERIOUSLY LOVE WHAT I DO. Though, I got home at 6pm. Dead. And then slept from 8pm to 7 the next morning. Oups.

October 2016.png

I read another 6 books this month which I’m really happy with. I think 6 is my average now, because I stabilised there for quite some while now. I actually took a break from re-reading Harry Potter, I only have to read the last book and then Cursed Child which I’m probably leaving for December (I know I said in my last wrap-up November. But no. Still pushing it further away.)

1

(Click on the titles to be redirected to the Goodreads page)

The Romantics Leah Konen   3 stars

Well, this book was a bummer! But an enjoyable bummer! Let me explain my confusing self. It is VERY CUTE and interesting, it being from Love’s point of view, it made for some pretty funny moments. But that ending just had me frustrated and wanting to smack my head against a wall for how anti-climactic it was.

More Happy than NotAdam Silvera   5 stars

I think that if I don’t shut up about this book really soon, I’ll get rocks thrown at me. BUT IT IS SO GOOD YOU GUYS !! It is so heartbreaking but no necessarely so, it deal with so many important issues that you cannot miss out on reading it. It might be triggering to some, though, because it deals with suicide, assault, depression and homophobia.

And the Mountains Echoed Khaled Husseini  4.5 stars

Oh how I loved all the stories in this book!! And yes I say stories and not story because it’s not only Pari and Abdullah that are mentioned in the synopsis, it’s also Suleiman, Nabi, Nila, Markos, the Bachiris and so on. All those characters have opened my eyes to one thing or another and some of the aspects and struggles were even relatable to me.
Even if I didn’t like them all, I appreciated ever character for the role they played and they equally broke my heart and made me smile.

Kindred SpiritsRainbow Rowell 3 stars

I know now why I DON’T like to read short stories, they’re just so unsatisfactory. Ugh! This story started out nerdy  and funny but it just went nowhere. I don’t know if I missed something but aside all the Star Wars -which I know Nothing about- there was nothing happening. I picked it up because there was some romance talk but even that wasn’t there, so this just wasn’t for me. Even though I don’t hate it, I don’t like it either. I’m just meh about it.

The Song of Achilles Madeline Miller 4 stars

This book is such a great and interesting read for a greek mythology lover like myself.
I loved the LGBT spin the author did on it and how it changed the story, not in a drastic way because the original myth is still there, it was also amazing to see how she manage to keep it intact while still bringing her own elements to it! really appreciated that, especially considering that this is probably my favorite myth.
Though the story felt slow at times, it was beautifully crafted and I really enjoyed it !

Homegoing Yaa Gyasi 5 stars

This book was amazingly magnificent and heart-shattering. It reminded me of And the Mountains Echoed in more ways than one at first, essentially the structure of the book itself and the fact that it has multiple POVs as well, then it took a path of its own and I adored it even more. This was so beautifully written and brutally honest that I just couldn’t not love it. It also follows a family throught 3 centuries which was fascinating because I felt like things were drastically changing in seemless ways but they also felt the same. Weird, I know! What’s new?

2

(Click on the titles to be redirected to the review)

  • Iron Cast – Destiny Soria                                             3.5 stars
  • The Romantics – Leah Konen                                      3 stars
  • More Happy than Not – Adam Silvera                    5 stars
  • And the Mountains Echoed – Khaled Husseini    5 stars

3

And that, my friends, is a wrap. I feel like I’ve been doing pretty good reading more diversely lately and it’s not even a conscious effort, I’m just naturally reaching out for a wider variety of books which I’m thrilled about. Next month will probably be on the same track as this one though I hope to post a new #FMTM post if I find enough time because those posts take FOREVER to write up but at the same time it’s been a while and I miss them. That being said, no promises.


That’s it until next time.

What books did you read in October ? And what have been the Highlights of your month ?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

26 thoughts on “Little Peek #10: October 2016

      • You’re very welcome, I find it so refreshing when people love their job! I am a proofreader for a food flyer, not the greatest job, but I get to somewhat”read” every day. I’m working up my experience so that I can proofread in a publishing house some day!
        My October flew! I can’t believe we only have 2 months left of the year!

        Like

  1. Looks like you’ve had an awesome reading month! I read More Happy Than Not months ago and enjoyed it, as well! Also YAY on scrubbing in!! I already congratulated you on Twitter but there’s never too many 😉 Good luck for November!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Blogging is so much fun, but I know the struggle of being extremely busy 🙈 But it seems like you had a great month with loads of great books 😊 and being able to scrub in and help with stitches, that just sounds so amazingly awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad to hear that everything is going well and that you are enjoying what you are doing! (Even if you are extremely busy.) 🙂
    I am a big fan of Greek mythology as well and I seriously want to read The Song of Achilles! I have heard nothing but amazing things about it and I can’t wait to see what I’m going to think of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel like I’ve been seeing Homecoming by Yaa Gyasi everywhere! Gotta make that a part of my to-read list sometime this year. I’m also keen on getting The Song of Achilles eventually. 🙂

    And yeah, I’m not that into short stories as well. They just feel too quick for me, like they’re over before I’m REALLY aware that they’ve started. The only exception I make is with fanfiction – I already know the characters and am already emotionally invested, so short stories work well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So happy for you with regards to getting the opportunity to scrub in on a surgery! The thought of blood makes me queasy, so obviously not my thing, but I’m sure it was a memorable experience for you lol

    I can’t beleieve you even find time to read and blog at all! Kuddos to you!

    You haven’t written your review for Homegoing yet have you? I just wanted to make sure I didn’t miss it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahh congrats about scrubbing in, Fadwa!! I admire you so much for doing what you do. There is no way I could ever. And despite being so busy you had such a great reading month!! I really need to read More Happy Than Not and Song of Achilles. I’m so glad you loved Homegoing. Forever grateful I read that book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

