My Dream Bookish Panel: Authors & Characters

Hello guys !

Well, most -if not all- of you know that I’m an international bookworm (or dragon or whatever, depends on the day) and that means that my panel attendance consists exclusively of the ones in my dreams because, living where I live I can’t even dream of authors making it here and well.. me going to them is slightly complicated because you know, flights and hotels and tickets and all that are things that my bank account can’t afford. BUT THAT IS OKAY. Because there will be a day when I meet  ALL my favorite authors and get to fangirl shamelessly . For now, I’ll be content with making this post.

Dream panel.png

I thought it would be fun, since this is all fictitious to include my top 5 authors I want to meet as well as a question that I’m really itching to ask. Not only that but also my 5 favorite characters from their novels, just to spice things up.

Ryan Graudin

Author of Wolf by Wolf otherly known as the duology I will most likely never get over because it crushed me and I can’t deal. And since I finished Blood by Blood not so long ago I want to know: WHY SO CRUEL? No. That’s not my question that’s just my existential pondering since I put the book down. In all seriousness, Ryan Graudin is one of my favorite authors that have ever been born, her writing is so striking and she manages to write an alternate history fiction with such brilliance that everything feels real, way too real and horrifying. Because wolves are such a big part of this book and they’re also my favorite animal:

What made you choose the wolf as THE emblematic animal for the series?

The Character: I debated for over 10 minutes between Yael and Luka but then eeeuh…. let’s just leave it at the fact that Yael is one of my two top favorite badass main characters of all times (the other being Lila Bard) -there’s no other reason. Obviously. She is so strong and wise, I think she’d even help explaining the wolves a bit.

Jandy Nelson

She is basically my favorite Contemporary author. Ever. I read both books of hers that are released and absolutely adored them. I’ll give you the sun was my favorite contemporary read this year and possibly of all times as well. Her writing is just so gorgeous and her prose is beautiful, full of metaphors and imageries, it just makes her stories more vivid and unique. I need more of her. Asap. Or maybe yesterday. Now, I know she has a book called “Fall Boys and Dizzy in Paradise” coming in 2017 but we don’t have a cover and all we know about it is that it’s about a trio of siblings, so:

Can you give us specifics on this trio of characters?

The Character: Noah is my baby, okay? He’s just such a lovable character. Definitely flawed but that just made him all the more human to me. He’d probably bring some artsy kick to the panel. Maybe draw Yael and her wolf? Or Lila. Omg!! This is such a brilliant idea –thanks brain.

V.E. Schwab

QUEEN. Queen of fantasy, I tell you. And badassery, well crafted worlds and characters with depths like the earth’s. Basically, queen of everything that makes for a magnificent fantasy. Now, of all her books, I only read one series –Shades of Magic– that is a favorites as well (shocker) but I’m hoping to get to the others very soon. She just keeps on coming with books (she has 3 projects for 2017 alone), too fast for me to catch up, I’m not complaining though. And I WILL read all her books. This being said, I have a question related to the Shades of Magic Trilogy:

What inspired these 4 specific kinds of London?

The character: Lila obviously. Her wits would just make me laugh to no ends, making funny comments about everyone and everything, loosening up the atmosphere a bit, those kinds of things, you know. Also, I think she and Yael can become best friends. Or worst ennemies. Could go either way.

Markus Zusak

Author of the infamous The Book Thief but also the less known, equally loved by me The Messenger. He has this way of making his stories quiet beauties that just grasp you by the feelings and never intend to let go of you. Amazing, must read books that I recommend to everyone. But the thing is, he hasn’t released anything since the Book Thief and him being a favorite of mine, I’d REALLY like to read more of the stories he has to offer. So:

Are you working on something at the moment?

The character: Death. Eeeh! This would be something, but you know, death can give us some one hour long lecture on… well, on death haha! Wouldn’t it be fun? No. The answer is no. But it can definitely be interesting.

Anna-Marie McLemore

A 2016 discovery of mine -like most authors. Oups.- that everyone should definitely look out for. She’s the reason I’m considering reading more Magical Realism because the way she wrote When the Moon was Ours is just magnificent. She truely does magic with her words, I don’t know what’s more magical, them or the actual story. The magic is so well weaved in that I struggled remembering where the real stopped and the fictitious began. Yes, it is that good. So go read it. My question is:

Where did the idea for the roses come from ?

The character: Miel & Sam. Don’t ask me to choose, they’re inseperable. In the story as well as in my mind. They come as a package deal and nothing could change that about them. I quite frankly want them to be on the panel just so that I can see their interactions live. They’re beyond amazing.

Well, folks! That’s it for this post. And can someone make this imaginary panel of mine a thing? No? What if I say please? No? Anyway. This post was a collaboration with Evenbrite which is the largest self-service ticketing platform in the world that helps people find and plan events. You can basically find events near you, bookish and non-bookish. They can also help you organize, plan and find conferences in your local area by using this software right here.


That’s it until next time.

What Authors and Characters would be on YOUR Dream Pannel? And where would that take place?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

18 thoughts on “My Dream Bookish Panel: Authors & Characters

  1. I love Victoria Schwab! She’s seriously one of the most amazing authors out there now. Every year she’s getting better and better!
    As for the panel, I’d die if I could see Gillian Glynn and Sarah J.Maas. Those two are mind-blowing masterminds for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow this would pretty much be my dream bookish panel as well. Well add Leigh Bardugo and Marissa Meyer it would be! πŸ™‚
    I LOVED Ryan Graudin’s Wolf by Wolf duology so there are honestly so many questions I would ask her about those books; first being why she felt the need to rip out my heart like that and stomp all over it.
    And V.E. Schwab has to be one of my favourite authors of all-time. Everything she’s ever written I’ve read and loved so she would be number one if I created a dream bookish panel like this. I was actually lucky enough to meet her at YALC earlier this year but I’d love a chance to see her again and ask her some of the many questions I have about all her books! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love Leigh Bardugo and Marissa Meyer too, so that’d be fantastic as well!
      YES! I thought about asking that question but then again I’ll just start ugly crying and we don’t want that haha!
      Oh!!! I’m so happy for you and also a little bit jealous 😍 I seriously need to read her other books ASAP but I always have them in mind when reading something else and seem to forget when I’m making my monthly TBR!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Part of me wants to say a panel with every author I have read and loved, and hey if it’s a dream bookish panel why not?
        Just sobbing through the question right? I feel based on the way it ended she’d probably understand the question you’re trying to get across! πŸ˜€
        All her books are amazing! When you do get around to them, a monthly TBR is a good idea too, I think you’ll really enjoy them! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. AWW THIS IS FUN! πŸ˜€ I feel you as an international bookworm!! But there was the time when Sarah J Maas did a talk show on my country and I missed that?? I guess author panel is just not my thing hahaha I still have yet to read Wolf by Wolf! I know, I know I should get to it immediately but I’m on a contemporary binge and don’t want to break the streak hahaha plus I got tons books on my immediate TBR πŸ˜› and YES to V.E. Schwab and Jandy Nelson and I’d also love for Leigh Bardugo and Rick Riordan to be there. As for characters… I’m thinking of Kaz, but probably not because he’s probably gonna rob my wallet. But Lila might do that as well. OMG why are my favorite characters all criminal?? :’) great post Fadwa! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES PLEASE READ IT 😭 You have no excuse now because I KNOW that you got it haha so I’m watching you!!
      I get that! Sometimes when I’m in the mood for one specific genre, I just can’t break that streak, though that rarely happens because I get bored easily πŸ˜‚ *sigh*
      Yes, Leigh Bardugo is a new one to me (I just discovered her works last week as you know) but I’ll definitely add her to the panel. Rick Riordan, I still have to pick up something of his and I do have the first percy jackson so I know I will!
      Mine too πŸ˜‚ like the whole SoC crew are favs of mine and so is Lila !!
      Thank you ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award – How Useful It Is
  5. Pingback: Little Peek #11: November 2016 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

