Six of Crows – The crew of Misfits I didn’t know I needed in my Life

Leigh Bardugo - Six of Crows #1

Title : Six of Crows

Author : Leigh Bardugo

Publication date : September 29th, 2015

Publisher : Henry Holte and Company

Genre :  Young Adult | Fantasy

Synopsis : Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…
A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes
Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.
(From Goodreads)

Rating: 5 stars

Six of Crows.png

“Many boys will bring you flowers. But someday you’ll meet a boy who will learn your favorite flower, your favorite song, your favorite sweet. And even if he is too poor to give you any of them, it won’t matter because he will have taken the time to know you as no one else does. Only that boy earns your heart.”

(No Spoilers)

Holy mother of crows and thieves. WHAT IS THIS BOOK? I am absolutely and completely in love with Six of Crows, the characters, the world, the action… Just EVERYTHING. This was my first -of many, I hope- buddy-read with Kat @ Life and Other Disasters (Side note: I don’t know why it took us this long to buddy-read?!) and let me tell you, we flailed A LOT, and shipped A LOT. I can go on and on about how much we loved this but that wouldn’t make for a good review, would it? Not a coherent one at least, so I’m going to dive straight in. Take a sit, because WOW! I have a lot of things to tell you.

The book is written from a gazillion of perspectives, okay I’m exagerating here but we have 6 misfits as ours MCs which means we have 6 POVs as well, and I was really scared at first that I would get mixed up and lose sense of who was telling what. But I didn’t, which is amazing. Each characters has their own voice, very distinct from the other ones, with its own quirks, I never went “Who’s talking now? Maybe, it’s Kaz? No, no, that’s Nina” plus, I got to know my babies really well, so it would be a shame to not recognize them. One thing all the voices have in common is that they’re really funny, even without wanting to be (read: Matthias)

Another thing that’s brilliantly done in this book is the back and forth between the past and the present. I’m not even kidding, this is the best book I’ve ever read in terms of transitions between flashbacks and the actual story, they are so smooth and perfectly placed that they never stick out or feel out of place, the story just flows through them if that makes any sense. Also, Leigh Bardugo is so freaking skilled, the woman doesn’t bite down on her words. The scenes are very graphics and I just… Enjoyed it?! I really really did!

The story is set in a very intricate world. SO intricate, that I got really confused, but once I went back to the maps (GORGEOUS MAPS!!) and with Kat’s help, things got organized in my mind and I started getting my head in the actual plot. Luckily, that only lasted for 2 chapters or so. It would be WAY too complicated to explain it here but it is a mix of magic and politics and I adored that, I’m finding myself loving books involving some kind of politics more and more and this just made that even stronger.

There’s no such thing as a “slow” moment in this book. The pace picks up from the very first pages and doesn’t go back down, not even after the last one. Six of Crows is so action packed, with our MCs jumping all over the place, doing kick-ass dangerous things, toying with death more times than I could count. All I could do is hold my breath (my brain is probably oxygen-deprived at the moment) and hope for the best because MY BABIES CAN’T GET HURT.

This is not your typical good guys vs. bad guys story. In fact there are no good guys! There are obvious bad guys, but with the MCs that line is blurred and you won’t know what they are anymore. They’re the definitions of morally-gray characters. But here’s the thing.. I’ve come to adore each one of them like A CHILD (okay maybe not Kaz, Kaz is bae). Their relationships are so well thought and their backgrounds so well detailed that I felt like I’ve known them my whole life. They all have a traumatic past. ALL. OF. THEM. And I guess that’s what really brought them together. Aside from the money obviously.

Especially Kaz. Oh my little vicious Kaz! He’s ruthless and cruel at times, rude 99% of the time but with that past of his I’d give him a free pass card to do anything he wants because WOW. I don’t think anyone could survive that. He’s also kick-ass and cocky because of that. He has some feelings as well but they’re shoved so deep down that it is really hard to tell from the outside. If I didn’t have chapters from his POV I would’ve hated his guts, but things are otherwise and I love him. Inej, otherly known as The Wraith is the person he trusts the most (The only person he trusts ?!) and I loved her, she’s a unique twist on your female bad-ass. She is tough and skilled but not because she enjoys it, it’s because she has no other choice, she does whatever she can to survive.

Nina is me with food. Like, REALLY! She adores food more than any character I’ve ever encountered and that was so relatable to me. I started off thinking she was dull and didn’t see what purpose she served, but as the story progressed she started making sense to me. She’s the “girly” girl of the group but don’t be fooled, she’s as bad-ass as any other, she’s so so so brave and caring. Matthias was the hardest to love but also the one with the most character development. I hated him at first for his backward thinking but that was essentially because of his upbringing in some sort of extremist-religious/military base but as he opened his eyes to what the world really was that started to change and it was REALLY hard for him, he had some hardcore internal battle between what he always believed and how that needed to change.

Jesper is the the most precious, hilarious thing ever. I couldn’t get enough of him, he’s so funny and flirty, his witty retorts are also the best which means that he brings a jovial vibe to the crew, otherwise they would be just sad and violent potatoes.To be honest, at first, I thought Wylan was the stupidest character out of the bunch (The Mark comment, anyone?!) but he’s really a genius, he just had that innocence about him that felt really out of place and he needed time to adjust to the new environment. He’s curiouser and curiouser, and that helped him learn and adapt really fast to the crew.

One thing that was really notable about the characters is how old they all felt. I had to keep reminding myself that they all are between 16 and 18 years old because they felt 30. And people around underestimated them just because of that. And for that reason, they got what they deserved.

Oh Gosh! ALL THE SHIPS! I ship everything and everyone and I just need them to get together right now (I know, Kat! Patience little Grasshopper), I just don’t have the patience for this to be dragging. But at the same time I loved how the romances didn’t overtake the plot, there were just slight hints of it and all of them are slow burn and I’m grateful for that.

Anyway with that ending, I would’ve been hyperventilating while writing this review if I wasn’t in the middle of Crooked Kingdom already. BUT HOLY SHIT! Make sure you have both books before you dive into this one because I don’t think anyone can handle that ending for long.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Six of Crows? If so, what did you think of it?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

Follow me on social media :

–                     logo_b       twitter-social-network-icon-vector_652139        l

 

 

 

 

 

51 thoughts on “Six of Crows – The crew of Misfits I didn’t know I needed in my Life

  1. Pingback: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Book Review) « Life and Other Disasters
  2. Technically we even had 8 POVs – what is this madness? hahaha I LOVED your review, so very well done! You really gave each character the attention they deserved and I cannot wait to flail with you about CK, even though I won’t really get to it until next week I am afraid :/ ANYHOW, loved our buddy read and am so up for doing that again 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review for this book Fadwa. The Six of Crows duology is one of my all-time favourites and even after reading Crooked Kingdom I am not over the series or any of the characters. I definitely agree you need both books before reading this, I had to wait for Crooked Kingdom to be released and it was horribly long and torturous waiting to find out what happened next.
    I was a little worried when I saw there were so many POVs but I shouldn’t have been because Leigh Bardugo is an amazing author and she gave all her character such detailed development and backgrounds that they all had such unique voices. I was definitely in awe of Kaz and some of the things he pulled off in the first book. His plans were just unbeatable! 🙂
    I hope you enjoy Crooked Kingdom. It’s even better in my opinion so I can’t wait to see your review for that one! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I’m so happy you think so 😊
      I think it’s quickly becoming one of my all time favorites as well!
      Oh that must have been awful haha! Kind of like the agonizing wait we’re dealing with now for ACOL 😭
      Like seriously, the guy is a genius, eveytime I think that that’s the best he can do he comes up with something better!!
      I’m almost done with it now and loving it! It is definitely better than SoC, but just by a tiny bit 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right, although now I’ve finished Crooked Kingdom I want more from that world. More of Kaz and Inej and the other characters and their world.
        Yeah, well I’m never really great at waiting for new books, I think when I get ACOL it’s going to be a drop everything and start immediately kind of book.
        He gets even better in Crooked Kingdom, honestly half the time I was in series awe that he could see that far ahead when he makes his plans.
        Six of Crows was a hard book to live up to but I think Crooked Kingdom manages it. I can’t wait to see your review!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ohh yay, I’m so glad you loved this book, and I am sorry but if I’d warned you about the heartbreak you would have been expecting it and it wouldn’t have come across as such a shock. I kind of feel saying things like that is too close to spoilers for my taste. But I just couldn’t believe it when it happened I needed everyone to have their happy ending!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Someone told me there was going to be something like that but didn’t say which character. I swear I was in denial 😂😂 I was still shell shocked when it happened (You are right about it being kind of a spoiler, I was just being dramatic haha)
        Me too! And it just felt… unnecessary ?! Or maybe it’s just me refusing that it happened.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I would have hated it if someone told me that something heartbreaking happened. I mean part of me expected it just because of the book itself, but I was still in denial when it actually happened. For a second I thought it missed, when he walked out again, but nope!
        I feel the same way but then again that could still be me refusing to believe it happened!

        Like

  4. Okay so after reading your review, I really, really NEED to get to that book as soon as possible, haha, your fangirling IS contagious my twinnie. I’m not a huge fan of TONS of POV in stories, but the fact that you seemed to love it so much, well… I feel like I could, too. And I’ll make sure to have both books whenevre I finally start this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved the love you show for this book. Amazing review! I know I was drooling at its awesomeness while writing my review for this a very long time ago. This was definitely the best YA novel I’ve ever read (I don’t read many of them though, but stillz!). I haven’t read the sequel yet, but I just can’t get myself to FINISH the duology. That’s too much for me to take. Hope you enjoy it as much as the first!!

    – Lashaan

    Like

  6. I NEED TO READ THIS ALREADY. I normally would have started it already, but I feel like The Book Thief is a book you need to give your full attention too. As soon as I finish that though I’m planning on starting this. It sounds amazing!! And I love books with multi-POVs!! So glad you loved this, Fadwa. Brilliant review ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Favorite Book of the year ❤❤ I just love it so much 😊 Omg and all the ships……I have to read Crooked Kingdom very soon

    Like

  8. OMG I’m about 80 pages from the end and even though I’m loving it SO SO much I’m so scared of the ending and what’s going to happen to my babies. I love them all so much and just want to hug them and keep them from harm because their pasts are awful! Your review is so relatable and fangirly I love it!!

    Like

  9. YAYYYYY OMG I’M SO HAPPY YOU LOVE THIS BOOK! 😀 I agree that each character has distict but equally incredible personality and that’s the multiple POV here is a huge success! I love how all the characters are morally-gray (except maybe Inej because she believes in Gods and destiny and all that) but the others are so selfish (but in a good way). They do things because they know it would benefit them, not because of some noble causes to save the world. It’s so refreshing 😛 I love both Nina and Matthias and obviously Kaz! He gets meaner every time but I love ❤ unlike you, I had a hard time connecting with Jasper's POV but omgggg his character development (esp in Crooked Kingdom) is the best! He started to grow on me 😛 Can't wait to hear what you think of Crooked Kingdom!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I read this back in December…and…ahem…I MAYBE DIDN’T DIE OVER IT OK I’M SORRY. I thought it was perfectly satisfying read, actually!! But then there was SO MUCH HYPE so I expected SO VERY MUCH and then I cried because it was not all that I wanted. But the more I recollect on it…it’s was actually not bad at all?? It was pretty good?? It had amazing elements?? So I feel I was just in a moody funk at the time. Maybe I’ll re-read it and feel ALL THE LOVE 😁
    Either way, DELIGHTFULLY DARLING REVIEW 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG REALLYYYY? That is so baaaad!!! I was afraid the hype would kill it for me too but I luckily was safe. Ugh! I’m sorry it wasn’t as good as you expected it to be ❤ haha! Maybe that could be it, so a re-read isn't that bad of an idea!
      THANK YOU ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  11. THIS REVIEW! All of this was literally me while reading Six of Crows! I’m so glad that you ended up enjoying it. I was definitely worried about the POVs myself but it worked out so well and I have a feeling I wouldn’t have loved it as much as I did without all of the POVs. And all of the things you loved about the characters I did too. I’m currently reading Crooked Kingdom myself and have loved it so far. I can’t wait to see what you end up thinking of it. Great review as always! 💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’m only just half way through the book, Chapter 17 🙈. School has been infringing on my reading time lately. I’m going to try to finish it this weekend though! Ahhhh I’m scared because I’ve heard it brought a lot of people to tears. I need to prepare my tissues because I am definitely a crier haha. I can’t wait to read your review for it! I’ll be sure to check it out as soon as I’m finished with the book.
        You’re welcome!! 😊💕

        Liked by 1 person

  12. I couldn’t tell, did you enjoy this book? lol This is my #1 priority TBR in December and I CANT wait. I have been holding off on this one because I wanted to save it for the end of the year to go out with a bang. I hope I enjoy it half as much as you did.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Little Peek #11: November 2016 | Word Wonders
  14. Pingback: November 2016 Wrap-Up « Life and Other Disasters
  15. Pingback: Crooked Kingdom – I… I don’t know what Words are anymore | Word Wonders
  16. Pingback: Most Bestest Books of 2016. Most Bestest English. | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

