Crooked Kingdom – I… I don’t know what Words are anymore

Crooked Kingdom.png

Publication date : September 27th, 2016goodreads

Publisher : Orion Children’s Books

Genre : Young Adult | Fantasy

Page Count: 536

Synopsis : Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world. (From Goodreads)

Rating : 5 stars

Crooked Kingdom.png

(All Spoilers are hidden)

Well, after the way Six of Crows left me hanging, my eyes practically out of their sockets, I just had to pick up this one right away. Which I did and it blew my mind even more than the first… I just don’t know what to say. Like, really! You should see my review notes, they’re so short it’s a joke. But I’ll try. I promise I’ll do my best to make you see THE AWESOMENESS THAT THIS BOOK IS OMG! You need it in your life and let me tell you why.

Writing wise, Crooked Kingdom follows the same structure as its predecessor. It has all 6 POVS plus the first one from a nobody and the last from Pekka Rollins. It also has those flashbacks whenever they’re relevant, what I loved about that is that no matter how good we get to know the characters (aka MY PRECIOUS BABIES) there is still more to know and ways for them to surprise us. And lest no forget, holy shit! The action scenes in this book are the best I’ve read in a while, they made me feel the tension and danger as if I were living it.

So, the stories picks up around a week after (If I remember correctly) the end of SoC with the crew in more danger than ever with the whole world wanting them caught or death. It was literally them against the world and I was scared. Nina even brought it up at one point, how there was no one rooting for them, worried about them and it broke my heart a bit, all I wanted to do is scream “BUT I AM. PLEASE DON’T BE SAD!!!!”

The only problem I had at one point is that the pace slowed down drastically as the characters were cornered and didn’t know what to do, and that’s what made me doubt whether this book would be as good as the precedent one. BUT I WAS WRONG! I should never have doubted Bardugo’s genius because after that she made a huge mess of things that I couldn’t see how it would resolve itself with all of them being safe and sound <Spoiler> But I guess they weren’t all safe and sound, WERE THEY? WHY? WHY? WHYYY? Why did my precious Matthias Helvar have to die? That just didn’t make sense to me -or anyone else for that matter- HE COULD’VE LIVED! HE COULD’VE HAD GORGEOUS BABIES WITH NINA!!!! But NO. Bardugo had to go ahead and break my heart. <End of Spoiler>

Also, the last couple of chapters gave me life. <Spoiler> KAZ AND INEJ ACTUALLY HELD HANDS! THEY HELD HANDS FOR GOD’S SAKE AND HE WAS NERVOUS ABOUT MEETING HER PARENTS!!! And what she did to Pekka was hilarious, he almost pooped his pants and I was sitting here cackling like a crazy person because of how much he had if coming.<End of Spoiler>

My precious evil -and not so evil- babies go through so much development throughout the book, they grow separately -each finding a real purpose to fight for- as well as in their relationships with each other. AND OMG THE FRIENDSHIPS! I adored the group dynamic and the silly banter that could go on forever between them.

Kaz is more ruthless than ever, with each decision he makes being more cruel than the last. But at the same time, he was getting more vulnerable?!! It’s like the more he felt things the more he fought it by being worse. Add to that the fact that his scheming was beyond me, I couldn’t help gapping in awe of how pull things off so greatly. If you ask me, Nina was the most interesting character to follow in this book, the changes in her and how she held ot together through it all, still being strong, devoted and SASSY. I loved how she teased Matthias and how he responded to that, and starting to loosen up after a while, he became such a sweetheart. Another noteable character being Wylan and how he adjusted to everything, finding his marks while still seeing the best in people and in the world. Inej and Jesper I loved as much as before.

AND THE SHIPS HAVE SAAAAILED !!!!! This is all I’m going to say!! My heart was happy about how all the romantic relationships were handled.

To wrap it up, what I appreciated the most is how diverse Bardugo made her cast of characters. I know that that’s easy to implement into fantasy but we don’t see it a lot and here she was including POC, M/M romance, characters suffering from PTSD. And this made me love the book all the more.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Crooked Kingdom? If so, what did you think?

Who was your favorite character? What did you think of the certain Something that happened towards the end?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

29 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom – I… I don’t know what Words are anymore

  1. Such an amazing book!! And a great review!! Though I feel like the only person who saw *first spoiler* coming from about halfway through the book. At least, it was 1 of 2 people that I figured it would happen to in my mind. (man, being vague to avoid spoilers for any comment readers who haven’t read the book yet is hard lol I hope you can understand what I’m trying to say!!)

    Oh man, the love in this book. So so sweet. So wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, that quote. 😭😭💔 I’m still not over that book and the ending (especially what happened to Mathias 😩😩). Bardugo was not playing games when she wrote this book. This duology was literally everything and it even dethroned The Wrath and the Dawn as my favorite duology.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay, my honest response to this review is prolonged excited squeeing and mild despair because I don’t have time to actually read the book yet. I’m so, so glad you loved this book, and I can’t wait to join you in fangirling over it! Excellent review, of course.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your review for this book, and I loved this book so so much as well. I completely agree with you about the thing you hid in the first spoiler section. I couldn’t believe it actually happened, especially because for a moment after it looked like it didn’t, and I was so relieved but then it was just false emotion because it happened in the end. (I really hope you can understand this, I don’t want to risk spoilers I can’t hide for people reading the comments who haven’t read the books yet).
    But I was in serious shipping mode with this book, I can’t decide which relationship was my favourite because they were all amazing, though some of the scenes with Jesper and Wylan, and Kuwei as well, really made me laugh!
    Honestly I can’t believe this series has ended, yes it was a brilliant ending but I’m not ready to let any of these characters go. I want another ten books from Leigh about these characters and their lives before and after this duology! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 😘
      Hahaha I totally understand! And SAME, or I thought it had happened but it wasn’t that bad. My heart sank, resurfaced and then it was just crushed 😭😭
      I can’t either!! I love all of them equally. That scenes was seriously the highlight of the book hahahaha I need more of them too, I just can’t imagine not reading about thel anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right! 😀
        I know, and then it was like ‘how could Leigh Bardugo do this to us, and the character who was left behind as well!’ God I so wanted there to be another explanation for what happened.
        I guess that’s the point, give us so many amazing character we just can’t choose who we like the best! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Great review! Ahhh that quote! ❤
    I'm soooo glad to see that you loved this book. It's definitely one of my all time favourites! Leigh Bardugo has outdone herself with this duology. I couldn't believe Spoiler #1!! I'm still not over it and I don't think I'll ever be. And YEESSSSS to Spoiler #2!!
    I think my favourite part of this book are the relationships. Both the romantic ones and the friendship as well. I just LOVE all of them!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. IT’S FINALLY UP!!! Ohhh I LOVE the quote you put up there, gives me chill 😛 it was indeed suuuuper intense! Like I too was on edge all the time hahaha and yes we could never predict what Bardugo had in mind, you and me both sister. It was kind of funny to see Kaz gets even meaner haha but I think it’s because he was separated from Inej? Like he was in a rush to save Inej and that’s that 😛 My favorite characters are Kaz and Nina and you knew how I feel about what happened to that certain someone hahaha great review Fadwa! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • YEEES !! That’s my favorite quote in the book, it’s so intense anf romantic 😍😍
      Glad I wasn’t the only one traumatized by how things went down ahahaha!
      Yeah I thought so too but even when he got her back he was STILL getting meaner, I think it’s because his feelings for her were getting out of control. Mine are Nina, Kaz and Inej (I can’t separate the two 😂)
      Thank you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great review! This book really was amazing and I can’t stop raving about it! That quote is pure amazingness and just reading it makes me want to drop everything and re-read the entire book. OMG, these precious characters, I love them so much! I can’t choose a favorite, because my favorites pretty much changed every chapter. The ships, they were handled so perfectly! And that spoiler? I did NOT see that coming. At all. It felt very unexpected and it broke my heart…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: To sum-up: December 2016 | Word Wonders
  9. Pingback: December 2016 Wrap-Up « Life and Other Disasters
  10. Pingback: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (Book Review) « Life and Other Disasters
  11. Pingback: Most Bestest Books of 2016. Most Bestest English. | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

