TAG #29: This time Next Year

This time next year.png

Hello guys!

I’m not one to usually make new year’s resolutions or anything, because I never stick to them and that just puts additional pressure on yours truely. And I DON’T LIKE THAT. It has been years since I last done that (seriously, I was like 14 or something). But this tag seemed like the perfect way to write down what are some things I wish to achieve by the end of next year without the added pressure because… well because at the end of the day this is a tag. And also the goals I’m setting are very achievable and things I’m actually very excited about. Anyway, Kendra @ Reads and Treats tagged all December babies so it was calling out my name. So, thank you!

The Rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Write your goals for next year.
  • Write how you’re going to achieve your goals.
  • Tag at least 5 of your blogger friends to share their goals.
  • Then if you wish in 365 days write a post for everyone to see if you have been successful or not!

next-year-1

The way I calculated this number is that I generally read 6 books a month and I want to make at least half of that diverse, which makes it 3 and if I remember anything in maths 3x 12 months = 36. Actually, I’m pretty sure I’ll surpass that number because I reach naturally for these books more now than ever and I have a MASSIVE diverse TBR. So besides some series I really want to get to (which I don’t really know if they are diverse or not) most of my reads will hopefully be diverse.

next-year-2

What I’m talking about here is maybe feminism in books, Muslim representation in books, maybe the correlation between the two, share some of my experiences, etc… And it’s not that I don’t know anything about these things now, I can write these posts, but I just feel like I have a lot to learn, to avoid making certain mistakes, to write more elaborate and more detailed discussions. Don’t worry I’ll still be silly me most of the time, it’s just that some things are important to me and I want to share them with you.

next-year-3

I’ve been naughty. I worked out non-stop for the last 3 years, I was disciplined and passionate about it but since this uni year started, I slacked A LOT until I just stopped going and canceled my gym membership altogether. Now, 80% of that is because I was trying to figure out a way to fit in everything I want and have to do and this including studying, my intership, reading, blogging, drawing, AND working out… and I had to give up something just until I figure it my schedule. The other 20% is because I didn’t like what I was doing anymore. So next year, I plan on going back to doing martial arts and yoga and if the first proves difficult I’ll take up running.

next-year-4

The way I’ll do this is simply by not missing a week or if I do, make up for it by posting twice some other week. And I think that if I start having too many reviews on hold, I’ll start posting them more than once a week. Now, I already have a month worth of reviews, all from my November reads so if that keeps accumulating and it gets worse ahah, I’ll do that.

next-year-5

This is something I am dying to start doing but I’m waiting for the actual journal to get here. I’ve always wanted to write down my thoughts but never knew how to format them. A few week back I stumbled upon some journaling videos on YouTube and I realized that THAT would work for me and that I could do it however I wanted and I don’t have to do it everyday. So yep, as soon as it gets here, I shall start and I’ll make it all artsy and pretty (I hope).

Well, I think those are more than enough haha. I will most definitely write a post in a year to see how everything goes (hopefully, I’ll remember!), how I grow and how some things might change in that time period. Anyway, wish me luck!


I Tag:


That’s it until next time.

Do you make New Year’s resolutions? What are some you have for 2017? Do we have any in common?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

48 thoughts on “TAG #29: This time Next Year

  1. Great tag! Like you, I don’t like resolutions, and if I must make some, why should I wait the new year?! There’s so much pressure going with setting goals for a year that hasn’t started yet! I’ve only set my Goodreads challenge according to how I did this year and a couple of low-key challenges to keep things interesting. I’ll also have a personal life goals list but filled with lots of easy things to do so it makes you feel good when you check them off the list 🙂 I’ve stopped doing yoga because my teacher left but I miss it so much I should add it to my list, just like you! Let’s get motivated!! Good luck with those goals!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exaclty! I make “resolutions” as I need them throughout the year.
      I’m still looking for challenges to do, I have a couple on my radar but I’m still looking around. Which ones are you doing?
      I’ve never joined a proper yoga class, I mostly do it at home which makes it easier to do I think.
      Yes yes yes!! Let’s do this 😄 Good luck to you too!

      Like

    • Thank you 😘 eeh! I don’t put myself on a strict diet, which helps a lot because it takes all the pressure off and I don’t feel guilty and discouraged after eating burgers and all, though I mostly eat pretty healthy 😊

      Like

  2. I love this tag so much, and it’s so great to hear about your resolutions. I’m not one to make resolutions because I know, looking back at these, this time next year, I’ll be mad at myself hahaha. Anyway, I will try so thank you for the tag my twinnie 😀
    I can’t WAIT to see all of your reviews on the blog. I have the same problem, but I read too quickly compared to how I post – and write my reviews. I can’t write them faster though, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great tag, and these are all amazing resolutions as well Fadwa! 😀 I want to try and read more diversely as well so that should definitely be a resolution on my list for 2017 as well.
    I always try and make resolutions but I rarely manage to stick to them for the whole year. Some I’ve managed to keep, my reading ones most of all, but most have been broken before January has come to an end. Maybe 2017 will be a better year for me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay! Thanks for the tag! Got to admit that resolutions are a pain to respect throughout a whole year since life is just always filled with the unexpected. Although, I do love all the resolutions you’d come up with! They’re definitely great life habits + awesome reading practices to integrate in your life!

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I usually don’t make New Year’s Resolutions but I like what you are planning for the next year. I am not sure I could form such precise statements, but your are great. I don’t journal regularly, except when I am away. I’ve written it my journals every single day when I was in the US or in Wales. It’s so much fun to reread after a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yaay thanks 😊🙈
      I’m pretty sure you’re underestimating yourself because you are awesome!
      I don’t either, and I think I’ll start doing it whenever I want to remember something, because daily is too much of a pressure.
      Ooh! That’s awesome, I bet it is.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great resolutions Fadwa! In terms of reading, I have so many resolutions too. Like I want to finish all the series I read, read all the diverse books, and read more about topics I care about, especially about mental health. My goal is to read books dealing with all mental illness and I’ve started making list of the disorders and the books that represented them 🙂 I love journaling too! What kind of journaling are you gonna try? And are you still waiting for that SoC notebook or has it arrived already? 😛 I hope all the resolution would come true and we all have a wonderful and better year ahead! ❤

    P.S. Thank you for tagging me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you ❤
      Series is another big one for me, I don’t start a lot of series at the same (usually just 2 or 3) time which means I am VERY behind on series and I hope to remedy that this year.
      Those are great goals you have as well 😄
      I think I’ll try a bit of mix between writing and creative, like just whatever I feel inspired to do really haha. IT STILL ISN’T HERE AND I’M SO SCARE IT GOT LOST, it was supposed to be here on the 12th but since it was mawlid the post office was closed so I don’t know I’m still hoping it turns up 😭 oh and what kind of journaling do you do?
      Yes I hope so too ❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. These are some great goals! 🙂 I’ve been journaling every day for the past three years and I love it. It’s also a great way to record things that you have to remember or want to remember. Plus it’s always fun to go back and read older entries ha!

    Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! 🙂 Yeah I think writing every day is challenging. Some days I hate doing it because it almost feels like a chore, but to me I know that if I miss a day I will regret it later. If I’m being honest I’ve been journaling for 12 years on and off, and I really wish I had never stopped because I would love to read what my 18 year old self was doing, and I regret the holes. Then again I have an obsession with documenting everything because I fear I’ll lose or forget something.

        Like

  8. Those are great and inspiring resolutions. I’m looking forward to next year, when we your devoted readers will reap the benefits of your progress (so many reviews! so much diversity! so many important things to learn from you as you learn more about those important topics!). Here’s to successful New Year’s resolutions-keeping. =)

    And thank you for the tag, of course; this’ll be fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I really loved your goals for 2017! I have complete faith that you will kill it in 2017.

    Some of my 2017 goals are:
    1) Continue to read more diversely
    2) More discussion posts
    3) Blog re-design
    4) Reach 80% feedback ratio on NetGalley
    5) Complete a triathlon

    Like

  10. Pingback: Suntag: This Time Next Year | Chocolatenwaffles' Blog
  11. Pingback: This Time Next Year Tag | Drizzle & Hurricane Books
  12. Pingback: This Time Next Year Tag – freadom library
  13. Pingback: To sum-up: December 2016 | Word Wonders
  14. Pingback: My 2017 Resolutions + I’m Introducing My Novel! | Sparkling Letters
  15. Pingback: Most Anticipated Books of 2017. A LOT of Books. | Word Wonders
  16. Pingback: To Sum-up: January 2017 | Word Wonders
  17. Pingback: TAG #33: Seasons of Book blogging | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

