Most Anticipated Books of 2017. A LOT of Books.

2017-anticipated

Hello guys!

First of all, HAPPY NEW YEAR ! ❤ And I hope this year is awesome for all of you and you get to achieve your goals and experience amazing things. As we all know, new year means NEW BOOKS TO LOOK OUT FOR, and you cannot imagine how excited I am for this list I’ve gathered. I must admit I have a LOT of anticipated books, these here are not even all of them and they’re mostly for the first half of 2017, because further releases haven’t been announced yet -not ones that interest me anyway. Most of these are diverse (as well as Own Voices) *pat on the back* which means I’m on the right track to achieve one of my goals for this year. Plus, they all sound SO amazing and I. JUST. CANNOT. WAIT.

anticipated-1

  • Roseblood by A. G. Howard is a Phantom of the Opera retelling and though I have minimal knowledge about it, the hype got to me and I can’t wait to read it.
  • A List of Cages by Robin Roe is so intriguing, the blurb has got me impatiently waiting for the  release, plus I’ve been meaning to read books with aneurotypical characters and this seems like the perfect place to start.
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard is a book I heard only great things about, the premise is amazing and the portrayals are said to be accurate, so WE SHALL SEE.
  • History is All you Left me by Adam Silvera is one of my most anticipated books because ADAM KNOWS HOW TO BREAK ME, and I can’t wait to read what he has cooking up. FOREVER.
  • The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles sounds like nothing I’ve read before, a girl saved by a mysterious bounty hunter? Yes please!
  • Who doesn’t know about Caraval by Stephanie Garber by  now? this is another book that gets A LOT of hype and I’m curious to see if it lives up to it.

anticipated-2

  • Empress of a Thousand Sky by Rhoda Belleza is a book I know almost nothing about, I just know from the synopsis that it’ll be epic.
  • American Street by Ibi Zoboi sounds like a story about the not-so-ideal American Dream and the navigation of a teenage Haitian immigrant through her new life in the US. Very promising.
  • The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera sounds like such a treat. Maybe a coming-of-age story? I don’t know, we’ll see.
  • AAAAAH!! A conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab is my most anticipated book of the year, possibly OF EVER. Because I’m not okay after how AGOS left things.
  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas was inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement which sets it to be very real, very important and possibly very heartbreaking.

anticipated-3

 

  • You’re welcome universe by Whitney Gardner is a book I’m sooo excited about, it also has illustrations in it, what more could I possibly want?
  • The Inexplicable Logic of my Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz sounds like it’s going to be another coming-of-age story from this author, and he knows how to write them. I admitedly wasn’t won over by Ari and Dante but I liked it nonetheless.
  • Amina’s Voice by Hena Khan sounds very cute but I feel like it will tackle important topics as well. I normally don’t read Middle Grade but this one peaked my interest.
  • Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde. I don’t even know what to say other than the fact that I KNOW it’s going to be awesome and possibly very swoon worthy.
  • Forget Me Not by Ellie Terry is yet another MG, here again I’m making another exception because the MC has Tourette Syndrome and I don’t know of any other book like that.
  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. Again. Hype got to me but it really sounds so interesting. The synopsis doesn’t give out much but enough to have me on my toes.

anticipated-4

  • I have a confession. I haven’t read Simon Vs. yet BUT that doesn’t mean I can’t be excited about the Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. Because I am. VERY. It just sounds so cute and I need cuteness.

anticipated-5

  • Girl out of Water by Laura Silverman is one of my most anticipated books this year because the author is SO cool, oh, and the story sounds pretty awesome too. I was lucky enough to get an eArc so I’m diving into this bad boy next month.
  • It’s Not like it’s a Secret by Misa Sugiura seems to have a lot of friendship and maybe, probably, definitely a cutesy romance. GIMME.**
  • The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich caught my interest with “What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.” which means that they’ll probably fall for each other instead of the girl they’re supposed to pursue. YAS!!
  • When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon is the perfect take on arranged marriage from what I gather. The parents are playing cupid and it sounds so interesting and very swoony.

** It was brought to my attention on Twitter that this book is racist towards Mexicans by perpetuating harmful stereotypes and I’ve seen quite a few people getting hurt and for that I am very sorry. That being said, the book is still in the editing process (Sensitvity reading included) and the author said she’s working on that. So FOR NOW, I’m keeping it here until all of that is done and I hope and pray that this time around those things will be gone.

anticipated-6

  • Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee was recommended to me by a fellow blogger and when I asked on Twitter about recommendations for books with an asexual MC. And I’m VERY excited for it.

Anticipated 7.png

  • The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana drew me in because 1/ It has Library in the title and 2/ LOOK AT THAT COVER. And once I read the synopsis I knew I was in for one heck of an adventure. I hope it lives up to that.

anticipated-8

  • Fall Boys and Dizzy in Paradise by Jandy Nelson is a book I need in my life YESTERDAY and… we don’t know anything about it?! Like, I need a cover or something to hold on to, pretty please?
  • Invictus by Ryan Graudin. The author made a Twitter thread about it a short while after she announced it and it sounds EPIC and funny and sassy. AMAGAD GIVE ME IT.

Well that’s it. 26 books. 26 FREAKING BOOKS that I’m dying to read and I hope I got you some new books to add to you TBR *evil laugh* because seriously, you need to be on the look-out for ALL of these.


That’s it until next time.

What is your most anticipated read of the year? What other books are you highly anticipating?

Are any of the books on my lists on your too?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

48 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Books of 2017. A LOT of Books.

  1. More than half of these books are on my TBR 🙂 I am so freaking excited for History is All you left me and Caraval ❤ That cover looks so pretty.

    Like

  2. These are all amazing picks Fadwa, and so many of these are books I’m really excited for as well. I can’t wait to get my hands on A Conjuring of Light, Strange the Dreamer and The Love Interest because they are all highly anticipated releases of mine. I need to pick up Adam Silvera’s books too because I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about both of them. I only hope I enjoy them as much as everyone else seems to!
    Some of these others I’ll be checking out because the covers have definitely caught my eye.
    Great post, and happy new year as well Fadwa! 😀 ❤

    Like

  3. Happy New Year!! I hope you have a wonderful one and that you manage to achieve everything you plan! ❤ 🙂 I'm seriously exited about Caraval coming out. I hope my expectations of it will be met! I'm currently reading A Darker Shade of Magi and I own the second book in that series as well. Sooo I hope to be exited about A Conjuring of Light soon as well. 😉

    Like

  4. Yesss I’m looking forward to a bunch of these too!! I’m also looking forward to The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember (a bisexual retelling of the little mermaid) and C.B. Lee’s Not Your Villain (trans mc)!!

    Like

  5. Ahhhhhh, there’s so many books I’m excited for here 😍 I especially can’t wait for The Love Interest, The Upside of Unrequited, Queens of Geek, The Hate U Give and Strange The Dreamer. Caraval and A Quite Kind of Thunder were both amazing and I really hope you enjoy them!! Also, Simon Vs. is the most adorable book I’ve ever read?? And I defs recommend it!!!

    Like

  6. So many books that sound like they’re going to be fantastic! Several are books I’m really excited for as well and I even just discovered a few more to add to my TBR, so thanks for the recs. I especially can’t wait for Caraval, History Is All You Left Me, The Inexplicable Logic of My Life, and Jandy Nelson’s book. See, I didn’t know her book was supposed to be released this year. Hopefully we hear more about it soon! Also, I can’t wait to see your thoughts on RoseBlood because I recently finished and loved it. Great list, Fadwa! Looks like you’re going to have a great reading year this year. 😊♥

    Like

  7. I heard about Invictus and I was like FIREFLY AND DOCTOR WHO!?!?!?! WHERE DO I SIGN UP????
    That was a great list. I have some in common with you and others I would add, like Goodbye Days, The Ship Beyond Time, Our Dark Duet, We Are Okay, Norse Mythology and Unfiltered.

    Like

    • Hahahaha! I KNOOOW !!
      All of those i’m highly anticipating as well but if I put all of them, this list would be never ending. Seriously, THERE ARE SO MANY! Though I must admit that I yet have to read the Girl from Everywhere and This Savage Song. Oups.

      Like

      • Nothing, not even my love for Red Rising, could top my love for August from This Savage Song last year hahaha He will forever be my little cinnamon roll that needs protecting.

        Like

  8. Honestly after Simon I will autobuy anything Becky Albertalli writes. That The Upside of Unrequited sounds freaking adorable is just an added bonus.

    I’m really interested to read A List of Cages. I didn’t know about that one. Generally speaking, I feel like disability, especially as it relates to people who aren’t NT is pretty badly done and ridden with stereotypes (my brother is on the autistic spectrum so I am super critical of such books), but every time a new one comes out I have refreshed hope. I have my fingers crossed for this one 🙂

    Like

  9. I love this post and specially what you wrote about It’s Not Like It’s a Secret, that’s where my thoughts are right now. I really really hope the book improves. I’m anticipating most of the books you are which is not a surprise at all because you’re so awesome!

    Like

  10. All of the books in your post are now on my list!! That is to say, I added six books after you’re reading your blog post haha. Also omg you have got to read Simon VS!!! It is so so amazing. Also yay for diverse book releases this year haha. I think my most anticipated read of the year might be You’re Welcome Universe but it’s hard to decide because there are so many good books publishing this year!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I would seriously like to know who ISNT anticipating Caraval? I am anticipating Caraval, The Hate You Give, Norse Mythology, and The Bear and the Nightingale (which releases tomorrow and a fellow blogger friend is actually sending me her ARC copy). 2017 is looking like a promising year 🙂

    Like

  12. You have a great, diverse list!!!!! I have started Roseblood, and I am really loving it. The writing style is beautiful AF!!!

    I am going to add Tash Hearts Tolstoy to my to read list.

    Like

  13. Pingback: To Sum-up: January 2017 | Word Wonders
  14. Pingback: You’re Welcome, Universe – Graffiti, Friendship and an Angsty Teenager | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

