Winter – The Happily Ever After to our Futuristic Fairytales

Winter.png

Publication date : November 10th, 2015goodreads

Publisher :  Feiwel and Friends

Genre : Young Adult | Science Fiction – Fantasy

Page Count: 832

Synopsis : Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.
Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.
Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.
 
(From Goodreads)

Rating:  4 stars

Winter.png(No Spoilers)

Well, I’ve FINALLY had the time to finish the series and it was SO SO good, the perfect wrap-up after all the build-up and the crazy adventures BUT here’s the thing, as much as I loved reading it, I was in a funky mood and didn’t enjoy is much as I expected. I was set on giving it a 5 stars but then as I started reading, something didn’t feel right and I nelt more towards 3.5 stars THEN came the ending and it made me so happy that I decided on a 4 stars.

The book starts slow and lets the tension climb up slowly  but once it picks up, HOLY MOTHER OF MACARONY, it was so so good, everything was happening so fast and when something went right another thing went wrong to make everything all the more difficult for them to get Luna back and THAT, I really appreciated, because as much as this is a fairytale retelling, we can’t make it too easy on our protagonists, can we?

Alright, I’m having a LOT of difficuties reviewing this book, because in other circumstances I would be raving all over the place and now I’m not??? Like I have nothing bad to say but then again all the good things are numbed by this freaking mood I am in. Anyway, this book read fast, life real fast for how long it is, it didn’t feel like 800+ pages at all, I would have finished in half the time I did if I didn’t have to study *sigh* because the action in it was such a page turner that I couldn’t get enough of it and I just needed more. Speaking of which, I LOVED how that final battle scene was handled, as much as it was kick-ass and full of hope, it was also desperate and violent and just GREAT.

Though, one thing that was really peculiar is reading  from Winter‘s POV, it wasn’t bad, I actually really liked it, it was just different from all the others, having the condition that she had, we could witness her drifting between reality and her hallucinations in an instant, and even though she was conscious that those weren’t real she still couldn’t extract herself from them and in those moments even the tone of her narration changed, if that makes any sense. I loved her so so much, she has this wise, calm aura about her that was soothing and graceful. She’s also very innocent and and loveable.

Moving on to my other beloved characters, I LOVED how they all had each other’s back and fought for one another. Iko is still my favorite out of the bunch, she is so hilarious and brave, and I loved seeing her experiencing these new human feelings and relationships and how she delt with them. Scarlet is SO kick-ass, I knew she was from book 2, but here there was this new strength about her, she shone through as a leader. Cress surprised me, she had great character development and grew more confident and mature than she was before, I particularly loved the moment when she confronted Thorne, I just kept screaming YES and flailing. I obviously cannot talk about all of them one by one but these are the ones that stuck with me.

Also, the ships, ALL OF THEM!! Wolf and Scarlet’s reunion scene GAVE.ME.LIFE. Kai and Cinder are KaiandCinder and they deserve to be happy and I love them so much. Winter and Jacin were the cutest because their relationship felt so innocent. As for Cress and Thorne, CRESS AND THORNE, I LOVED how awkward and nervous, confident cocky Thorne got around Cress.

That ending was a true fairytale ending and it made me feel so warm and fuzzy inside which kind of helped with the funky mood, even if it didn’t cure it completely, and to me the 3rd book “Cress” will always be the best. May I add that I feel like Winter’s Arc is the one that stayed the truest to the original Snow White fairytale? It had almost all the elements (if not all).


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Winter? If so, what did you think?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

 

9 thoughts on “Winter – The Happily Ever After to our Futuristic Fairytales

  1. Yes yes, I am SO happy you liked this sequel, too bad you were not feeling it to put the whole 5 stars, but I’m so happy you loved it. I ennjoyed Cress’evolution so, so much in this, and Winter’s POV was so different and interesting to read! Are you going to read Stars Above ? 🙂

    Like

  2. True to the original nature of the stories, it was expected for the books to have happy endings. Which made TLC such a difficult series to review. So much love for the characters and the plots were so well-crafted.

    Like

  3. I totally agree with you, with all need a little fluff sometimes, and there’s nothing wrong with books that aren’t hard-hitting or don’t tackle big issues. Sometimes you just want something light and fun to read as an escape from the everday!

    Like

  4. Pingback: To Sum-up: January 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

