Most Bestest Books of 2016. Most Bestest English.

2016 Best.png

Hello Guys!

You know what the new years means? I’ll be looking back to memorable things from 2016. I know it was a crappy year and I hope 2017 will be better BUT there were some highlights most of which are bookish, that’s what I’m doing here, highlighting my favorite books of the year,some of which have made it to my favorites of ever. I NEED YOU TO READ THEM ALL. Some of them are popular, some are underrated and most should be required reading. So, without further rambling, let’s list them. Also, I’m not ranking them. I CAN’T. I WON’T. I REFUSE.

Book cover = Goodreads page.

best-3

yaa-gyasi-homegoing

  • This is required reading number one.
  • The History of slavery in Ghana over 3 centuries + amazing relationships + raw emotions
  • It tackles 61583021 issues without being overwhelming with information.
  • Although, it is emotionally overwhelming. But trust me, you want to read it.

My Review

best-1

 

  • When I think about how  I was set on not reading these books my heart hurts.
  • THE CHARACTERS ARE ALL SO AMAZING AND DIVERSE AND THREE DIMENSIONAL
  • I can’t choose a favorite, it always changes. For now, it’s Nina Zenik. Her love for food is me.
  • The plot is mind-blowingly good and I still can’t get over how intense it is.

My Review for SoC

My Review for CK

best-6

Stephanie Perkins - (#3) Isla and the Happily Ever After

  • The romance in this is the cutest thing ever and I need me a Josh of my own. Thank you.
  • This is 100% recommended if you’re in need of a dose of fluff. I know I need me some from time to time.
  • The opening scene in the book is one of the funniest and most awkward I’ve ever read.
  • I related to Isla so much and it felt so good.

My Review

best-2

 

  • Alternate Historical fiction set in a post-WWII in which Hitler won. Need I say more?
  • Okay fine, if you need more, it has one of the most badass MCs I ever read. SHE ROCKS.
  • Oh, she’s also a skinshifter and the whole world depends on her.
  • It’s impredictable and it will have your heart racing. It’ll break it eventually. Multiple times.

My Review for WbW

My Review for BfB

best-4

anna-marie-mclemore-when-the-moon-was-ours

  • Required reading number two.
  • This is hands down the most gorgeous book I read this year, probably ever.
  • The writing is so beautiful, vivid and emotional, you don’t want to miss out on it.
  • The friendship/love in this book is so pure and innocent, I just want more from Sam and Miel.

My Review

best-7

 

  • Before we start, please applaud my brilliant puning abilities. Feels and hangover is the new series name.
  • Lila is my queen and the other most badass main character of all times.
  • The plot is fantastic and worldbuilding brilliant, it blows my mind.
  • Also, very diverse cast as well, an A+ villain and characters to make your heart sing.

My Review for ADSOM

My Review for AGOS

best-8

adam-silvera-more-happy-than-not-2

  • Most realistically heart-breaking book I’ve read in my life and I adored it.
  • The MC is amazing and incredibly brave even though he has shit friends.
  • The ability to erase memories is such an incredibly clever piece of the story.
  • I sobbed through the last 1/3 of the book non-stop even though I don’t cry easily.

My Review

best-9Markus Suzak - I Am the Messenger

  • The premise of the book is very intriguing and it’ll keep you sucked in.
  • The MC is the most normal character I’ve ever read about in my life and I loved him.
  • He was completely and utterly lost in his life and that’s the story of figuring himself out.
  • It explores family (a shitty one), friendship, meeting new people, etc… pretty routinal day to day life, but still NOT boring.

My Review

best-5

Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You the Sun

  • Required reading number three and my favorite contemporary of all times.
  • The way it’s formatted is absolutely unique and the writing style is full of imagery.
  • It has a set of twins as main characters and sibling stories are my favorites.
  • It has such a bright happy ending that I just found myself crying because I was overwhelmed.

My Review


Thatโ€™s it until next time.

What are your favorite books of 2016? What Genre is predominant?

Have you read any of my favorite books? If so rant/rave with me in the comments!

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

33 thoughts on “Most Bestest Books of 2016. Most Bestest English.

  1. Some great books there. I love these end of year lists because they are great sources for book recs. Fantasy dominated my list n Station Eleven n The Night Circus were the reigning champs for 2016.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the great recommendations! I just ordered Wolf by Wolf and More Happy Than Not. They were both in my TBR lists but they seem to get buried there if I don’t have a physical book. Based on your post, they’re too good to let them get lost in the shuffle…

    Like

  3. AHH, I need to get my hands on Homegoing and When The Moon Was Ours! And you’re so right about I Am the Messenger – it’s also one of my favorite books of all time, and definitely so underrated. 2016 seems like it was a great reading year for you!

    Like

    • Yes, they’re both brilliant books and I can’t wait to see what you think of them ๐Ÿ˜€
      Right? I need more people to read it because no one seems to know it exists. It was the best actually, I hope yours was great as well โค

      Like

  4. These are all amazing picks Fadwa, and so many of these are favourites of mine from 2016 as well. Crooked Kingdom was actually my favourite read of 2016 overall, and When the Moon Was Ours was definitely my top magical realism book from last year as well. I’d already fallen in love with the genre but When the Moon Was Ours reminded me exactly what I loved about it.
    The Shades of Magic series is my all-time favourite at the moment so it’s great to see it on your list, and I really need to get around to picking up Adam Silvera’s books because I’ve heard so many amazing things about them!
    Seems like you had an amazing reading year for 2016, hopefully you’ll have the same for 2017 as well! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  5. First of all, that’s some stellar English there my friend hahahahaha JK
    Anyway, I’m glad I can see your favorites list! I really need to read SoC&CK, but I don’t want to until I read Grisha because I’m anal like that haha
    A Darker Shade of Hangover and A Gathering of Feels IS THE BEST LINE IN THIS WHOLE POST! YOU ARE A PUN MASTER. IT WAS HILARIOUS (maybe I’m exaggerating but it really was good!)
    I promise I’ll try to read Anna-Marie McLemore soon, just for you

    Like

    • hahahah why thank you, friend! I should be a writer or something!
      YES YOU DO OMG HOW HAVEN’T YOU READ THEM YET? AND HOW ARE WE FRIENDS AND I HAVEN’T PUSHED YOU TO READ THEM?
      hahaha I really wanted to do that as well but I buddy read it with Kat and she was going to start so I didn’t have time to read the Grisha first.
      hahahah THANK YOU I THINK SO TOO!
      yaaaay โค

      Liked by 1 person

  6. YAY, More Happy Than Not! That was my favourite book of… 2015?! (Feels so far away now…)
    I really really need to read When The Moon Was Ours, so *salutes* I will do the required reading! I have it sitting on my shelf because I borrowed it from the library, and I’m really excited to see why everyone loves it.
    I haven’t read Crooked Kingdom! That’s sitting on my shelf too, so I’ll read it… eventually! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Hmmm as you probably know because I’m screaming about it all the time — my favourite book was Not Your Sidekick! I can’t wait to read more diverse books this year. I have a good feeling about 2017. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • I didn’t even know it existed in 2015 haha, in fact most books I read in 2016 I didn’t know existed in 2015 :p
      Yes, I will be watching and making sure you do all the required reading!!
      COME ONE CW!! hahaha, you’ll love both of them I’m sure.
      Well yes I know that haha and i’m going to be reading it soon because of you. Same, I think 2017 will be a brilliant book year. โค

      Liked by 1 person

  7. So many books to flail about, I love this list! The Six of Crows duology and the first two books in the Shades of Magic trilogy were among some of my favorites this year too! More Happy Than Not broke me a little, but was also so amazing! I’m just now reading I’ll Give You The Sun and I’m only one chapter in, but I can already see why it’s a favorite โค The others are still on my TBR but I hope to get to them soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. I read 5 books/series of those and loved them too! Maybe not all in 2016, but generally I did … like in my life. I think The Messenger is really underappreciated too, although I do feel like it still won’t ever be able to top The Book Thief.

    Like

  9. Six of Crows and A Darker Shade of Magic were both favorites of mine in 2016 as well… BUT I have yet to read their sequels!!! The shame!

    Homegoing is on my TBR! I hope to get to it in the next few weeks.

    I keep seeing so many good things about the Wolf by Wolf series… I never had any desire to read them before, but you are the second trusted blogger friend who has recommended them… Maybe I will give them a go after all.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: 1/9 – 1/15/17 | Cover2CoverMom
  11. Pingback: Word Wonders’ Reading and Blogging Round up | Word Wonders
  12. Pingback: To Sum-up: January 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

